We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed in yet”
Review of Backpackers HQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers HQ
Ranked #58 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 11 November 2013

While it does cost a bit more than other hostels, you can get weekly deals and it is definitely worth it. You get free breakfast until 9.30 (toast, cereal and fruit) and free wifi all over the hostel. Furthermore the hostel is very clean and modern, and there's great communal areas making it nice and sociable.

There's a 24hr tv room (with foxtel and sport channels), outdoor smoking/BBQ area, modern kitchen, and a 24hr kitchen for when the main one closes. There isn't too many people staying here either so all the areas are very useable, although you may have to wait a bit to use the kitchen at peak meal times.

The room I've stayed in (21) is very spacious, has a sink and two big mirrors for 8 people. I also stayed in room 2, a 10 bed room with less space but had an ensuite. Both were regularly cleaned, had fans for when it's hot, had comfy beds and pillows, and everyone had a big locker each.

It's also in a great location, less than a min from the Victoria st entrance to kings cross station, which is perfect for going out. Takes about 10 minutes to get to the cbd by train, or 2 to get to the clubs by walking. Although it's in the cross, it's not a hostel where people constantly party, people do occasionally go out during the week, but it's mostly on the weekends. It's also just far enough away from the clubs so you don't hear them at night.

Vicky, who works at reception, is so nice and will do loads to help. Some of the staff are hired travellers, they're all pretty nice too. The only negative thing I have to say is that there are a lot of rules, eg kitchen/outdoors closes at 10, no smoking on front steps, etc, but they are there for a reason eg so that you/other guests can sleep at night, and most of the staff are easy and polite about enforcing them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here for three months and there is no denying it, this hostel is full of long term stayers however this is something you will find in all hostels around Sydney. When I first came it was a bit hard to get to know people but it’s to be expected with most groups of people who have been together for a while. It didn’t take long before I knew almost everyone in the hostel and I’ve made some very good friends and great memories since. The hostel has a good mix of long and short term stayers so you are always meeting new people but can call the place home if you’re looking to be around for a while.

The hostel is very clean and well kept, has half decent free Wi-Fi and offers a free breakfast. It also has some of the most comfortable beds and blankets I’ve come across on my travels, good shower and toilet facilities and has an amazing TV room with Foxtel.

The hostel is based in the center of Kings Cross one of the most unique and qwerky areas in Sydney, there is no shortage of clubs, pubs and placed to eat in the area and on the weekend the streets are full of characters and likeminded people wanting to go out and party. The Cross is truly crazy but not unsafe, during my time there I never experienced any problems.

The hostel has a ban on being in the courtyard after 10pm so everyone has to move to the TV room to continue being social. This keeps noise to a minimum so everyone in the near by rooms can have a half decent nigh sleep. The hostel does have a lot of rules and sometimes the staff can be quick to jump the gun but this only benefits the hostel and the people staying in it, as long as you behave yourself and don’t do anything silly you don’t have anything to worry about.

I would definitely recommend staying here, it’s got a real homely feel and run like a well oiled machine by the staff. This hostel is perfect for anyone looking to have a good balance between going out and partying but also looking for a decent place to call home through the week.

Room Tip: Check out Room Four.... its all about Room Four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I had a 4 dorms ensuite. The bed are very confortable and new. The place was renovated and it is very clean. The free breakfast is very good with fresh fruits and cereal. They always refresh it so they have food for everyone. Thanks HQ team. Matt

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattgoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in a 6 bed dorm. I have to say the staff are so friendly and helpful, we asked an elderly man working there for directions to an internet cafe and he ended up giving is the best advice on how to spend our day on Sydney! Common area is very nice as is the tv room. Do be aware that there is a $40 deposit per person when you check in. My only real complaint is the noise in the courtyard at night. I didn't have a good nights sleep any of the nights I was there but possibly if you request a room away from the courtyard you'd be fine!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahLyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for a week. Although it is a nice hostel with good facilities the long stayers really give this hostel a bad feel.
Right from the get go they make you feel unwelcome kind of like you are in their way!. Mostly the staff are great apart from the night staff as you get the feeling they are also long stayers so seems like they find it difficult to tell them to be quiet or clean up after themselves. Hostel is quite clean although they could Hoover under the beds once in a while.

All in all the facilities are ok and the hostel is nice well organised free breakfast a plus. It's good if you are happy keeping yourself to yourself as there is no interaction with others here. Oh and you don't mind being kept up with loud noise coming from the courtyard area even though the signs are plentiful telling you that you can't be in there after 10pm it seems the long stayers can do what they want when they want!.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in room 10 for the first few nights. It is a 6 bed mix dorm. Generally it is clean but the room is too small for 6 people. It makes packing of the luggage very difficult. There is water leaking in the room but I believe the leak has been repaired.

We went on to room 20 for the last night. It is a 4 bed dorm and I am surprised that the room is a lot more spacious than room 10. I am not sure about the difference in price as I pay the same amount for all the nights.

The hostel is less than 100m from the Kings Cross station. Kitchen is available for use and there is free breakfast in the hostel. WIFI tends to be laggy. Remember to bring padlocks as lockers are provided.

Overall, the hostel is well-organized and definitely a place to rest your feet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XinYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

It's a perfect location -- even though Kings Cross has a crazy nightlife, this felt like a little oasis. The metro station is practically next door so I used it daily to get everywhere. The rooms are clean, there are lots of power points and lockers for everyone. They close off the main courtyard at 10pm and then everything is nice and quiet. The free breakfast is a plus. The front desk staff is SO helpful and kind. FREE WIFI is my favorite thing! And one tip -- Joe's Coffee is right next door and it's delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.1 mi away
Jackaroo Hostel
Jackaroo Hostel
#29 of 145 in Sydney
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#34 of 145 in Sydney
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer House Backpackers
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 145 in Sydney
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sydney Star Backpackers
Sydney Star Backpackers
#83 of 145 in Sydney
79 reviews
1.2 mi away
790 on George
790 on George
#56 of 145 in Sydney
207 reviews
0 mi away
Zing Backpackers
Zing Backpackers
#35 of 145 in Sydney
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers HQ

Address: 174 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £21 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers HQ 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers HQ is a friendly, clean and safe oasis in the heart of Kings Cross. We have just undergone a major renovation to modernise this beautiful building. Our friendly staff will make you feel welcome with FREE Breakfast daily, FREE Internet, FREE airport shuttle pick-up (conditions apply), FREE entry and FREE drinks in local bars and clubs. Our rooms are spacious, clean and secure with beautifully polished wooden floor boards or tiles. Many rooms have en-suites and fridges. All have security locker storage. Relax in our new TV lounge area or out the back in the timber decked courtyard. A great place to make new friends. Our friendly and helpful staff can help you find a job, buy a car, show you Sydney like us locals know it or tell you where to party every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Backpackers HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing