We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Sydney”
Review of Backpackers HQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers HQ
Ranked #62 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
2 reviews
“Best hostel in Sydney”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I had a great time at this hostel. This is the best hostel in Sydney if I compare it to the other hostels where I stayed at. The breakfast is great and the rooms are clean. If you sleep in a room at the street side, than you have noice from outside, but you'll have that in every other hostel in that street. So it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benootellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    30
    22
    8
    22
See reviews for
Families
0
19
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

The biggest issue with this place is the dictatorship owners. I personally never got fined but to fine a cash strapped backpacker $1 for every minute late after check out and $50 for not washing dishes seems overly harsh. They have CCTV and they scan through it with $ signs in their eyes. We also over heard them seeking to fine the dirtiest room they could find. The tonne of French people who flock to this place were pretty rude most of the time to us. Just got really bad vibes from this place. Showers seemed constantly filthy too. Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manicipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oldham, Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hostel is really easy to find especially from the airport. It's right next to the train station. Though it is unfortunately the red light district of Sydney. It was lots of bars and clubs for backpackers but we never let a girl walk home solo as it just wasn't safe. I stayed in the 8bed mixed dorm and although it was really sociable and the rooms were ok in size. The ensuite was manageable but needed somewhere to put your clothes. One of the major issues I had was that there was no plug next to the bed or on the wall. There were strip plugs under the bottom bunk which was useless if you were on the top and needed to charge your phone but set an alarm to get up.
There were also no singular lights for each bed and just a main light for each half of the room.
The wifi was poor at best, it only tended to work well in non peak times when not everyone was trying to connect which is a shame.
The kitchen and the breakfast was good, the staff were friendly and helpful. The outside area was clean and tidy.
The cleaner does come in your room really early in the morning at 7.30am and proceeds to clear every bottle away. (Our own fault for drinking so many some would say)
The beds were extremely squeaky and the slightest movement woke the whole room.
The majority of my room were living there and you were entering a ready made group of friends. For me this was a first because every dorm I'd been in previously people were just visiting short term. It worked out well in the end and I did enjoy myself. I'd probably go back if the plug situation was sorted.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hostel is a bit pricy, but the standard is much better than other hostels. It's generally clean and the silent hours are respected, contrary to many other hostels in Australia. The location is good, with a 3 minute walk to the subway and 5 minute walk to the nearest super market. Walking into the city takes about 20 minutes, and 30 minutes to the harbour.

Few power outlets, poor Wi-Fi in the second floor and the beds were a bit squeaky.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hempster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I'm glad I only booked 2 nights here to check it out before staying longer. The 4 Dorm room was dirty and smelled of BO. They don't clean the floors daily, and the floor was full of dirt and trash from previous occupants. I saw a cockroach in the shower. At night, you can hear everything from the courtyard, and people were loud and drunk and jumping on the floors on the 2nd level. I thought the floor was going to crash in. In all, a horrible experience there, and I tried to stay out as late as possible to not go back into the smelly Dorm room. For the same price, get a bed at Wake Up Hostel in Central instead. They have much cleaner rooms and nice big shower stalls with shelves and hooks to hang your stuff. King's Cross is also the Redlight district at night so not the best place for a solo female traveler.

Room Tip: Go to Wake Up Hostel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina_claw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for two weeks as a solo traveller. Loved this place. It's clean, friendly, quiet, location is slightly dodgy at night but wont really affect your stay, breakfast is free and there's a large choice to eat and most of all the backpackers here are diverse and friendly. The two owners were also very helpful with any information they could give. One of the best in Sydney I would say.

The only negative point would be that the dorms were pretty hot and I was craving an AC on many occasions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I spent 6 nights at HQ in a 4 bed mixed dorm. Luckily it was away from the social area and this allowed for a good night sleep. HQ is located in the Kings Cross area of Sydney, I actually love this area as it's alive with trendy bars, weird and wonderful people and great places to eat. It's also about a 30min walk into the CBD, Botanical gardens and the harbor front. The Botanical gardens are amazing to walk around and offer great views of the opera house, make sure you head there with a picnic, enjoy the wildlife (lots of birds) and a few beers.

Right back to the hostel, it's located 2min walk from the train station. Has pretty good security.

Room: Each bed in the 4 bed dorm has it's own locker, not the biggest, but can fit a small bag and all your valuables (locks are not provided, but you can buy one at the reception OR at the Chines shop, located next to the grocery store 5min walk away from the hostel) my room had it's own shower/toilet and that's perfect for 4 people.

Kitchen: has everything you need to cook, but try cooking around 6pm to 8pm and I wish you all the best of luck. It's a nightmare! So many people, not enough equipment! Buy all your food at the grocery store that's located in the basement of the main Kings Cross shopping center, food needs to be bagged with YOUR name and room on it and placed in one of the many fridges!

Breakfast: Surprisingly this was pretty nice, if you get there early enough you get FREE fruit! The standard bread / toast with lots of spreads and tea coffee. I enjoy eating healthy and bought some nuts, fruit etc from a health shop (again located at the shopping center on the same floor as the Chines shop)

People: Seems to have a lot of 'long term' guest and they walk around as if they own the place. Didn't really bother me, as I was in the city visiting some friends and didn't need to make new friends. Although I don't think its the best hostel for meeting new people!

Staff: I arrived at just past midnight, I called in advance so was let in and dealt with easily. The owner is usually at the reception during the day and keeps a good eye over everything, great for the hostel and making sure everything ticks over.

Night life: You are in Kinds Cross, so every night of the week you will find something going on. Weekends get super busy and it's easy to jump from bar to bar. Although cover charges at some places are ridicules!! The crowds are mixed with local an tourist, giving it a nice atmosphere.

Overall a good hostel and probably one of the best in the area. I did have a nosy into a few others and they are all pretty much the same, property is so expensive in Sydney now that they make sure they fill up every-little-space and none will ever compare to other hostels in other countries, so for Sydney HQ is a good hostel and one I'd consider going back to, but not one I'd rush back to in an instant!

p.s for SUBWAY is only 5min away from the hostel and it's dirt cheap! Enjoy x

Room Tip: Try to get a room AWAY from the main social area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#35 of 139 in Sydney
120 reviews
Kings Cross
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross Backpackers
#37 of 139 in Sydney
120 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 139 in Sydney
276 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#18 of 139 in Sydney
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers HQ

Property: Backpackers HQ
Address: 174 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers HQ 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers HQ is a friendly, clean and safe oasis in the heart of Kings Cross. We have just undergone a major renovation to modernise this beautiful building. Our friendly staff will make you feel welcome with FREE Breakfast daily, FREE Internet, FREE airport shuttle pick-up (conditions apply), FREE entry and FREE drinks in local bars and clubs. Our rooms are spacious, clean and secure with beautifully polished wooden floor boards or tiles. Many rooms have en-suites and fridges. All have security locker storage. Relax in our new TV lounge area or out the back in the timber decked courtyard. A great place to make new friends. Our friendly and helpful staff can help you find a job, buy a car, show you Sydney like us locals know it or tell you where to party every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Backpackers HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing