We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highfield Private Hotel
Ranked #137 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I cant think of a positive thing to say, sure it was only $95 for the night but i have stayed at backpackers for a quarter of that price and everything about them was better.

The bathrooms were terrible and dirty. No fan or aircon so you're forced to have the windows open on a hot night and let the bass beats of the near by clubs/bars soothe you while you try to sleep on the rock hard mattress, on that note a noticed quite a few bites on me the next day so the place probably has bed bugs too.

If you're looking for a place on a budget i would recommend you're nearest park bench over this place, you'd save your self some cash too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ryan314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Highfield Private Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Without question this is the worst 'hotel' in NSW.
* Reception was either closed or unattended during prescribed hours;
* The room wasn't remotely clean;
* The television did not work properly;
* The showers are small squalid and reeking of chemicals (how can amenities stink from overuse of cleaning agents and yet still be unclean?)
All up, a disgrace that is not to be experienced. A park bench would be safer and more opulent.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billye4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Too small a room to start with. Just a feet of space other than the bed. The namesake breakfast that they had was a loaf of bread and a bottle of terrible and unhygienic jam. When it says free Wi-Fi, they forgot to mention that it is limited to 500 MBs for 24 hours which I recon is not enough. I could have excused all of it but here comes the worst part. The Asian girl who was at the reception in the evening was the rudest Receptionist i have ever come across in the globe. Upright rude with no remorse or respect whatsoever. Although HATE is a very strong word to use but this place deserves it.

Room Tip: Biggest tip I can give is do not book at this hotel. Not at least until that Asian girl is working t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhruv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel whilst on a budget travel break with a friend in australia, after the airbed at another friend's house kept going flat, and the poor sleep was driving us mad.The location was great, it was in walking distance to the botanical gardens, and even the opera house. the hotel is not a hotel though, it has very poor shared facilities, no kitchen equipment to speak of, and the 'included breakfast' consisted of a slice of toast if you were lucky enough to be there when the guy got back from spar with a loaf of bread, and had the patience to wait for 20 other people to use the toaster. there was one pan, that a stupid girl burnt her porridge in, setting off the fire alarm and rendering the kitchen unusable for the day. the receptionist really was horrifically rude, until the third day she had a change of tune and was really nice to us after we bonded with her over a domestic violence incident we overheard and got involved in on the floor below us. The windows didn't open, and it resembled prison in many ways, including the creepy shower blocks and the crying and screaming noises at night, but the beds were comfy, the tv worked, and we survived to tell the tale. My advice? Stay here if you're not too fussy and on a budget. You'll live.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Perhaps I've become acclimatised to a less fancy mode of living (having travelled quite a bit throughout the Middle East and Eastern Europe), so take my review with a grain of salt.

While far from luxurious, the Highield is certainly basic, from the functional (if visually disinteresting) rooms to the hotel decor and layout. "Functional" is a good word overall: everything works and is more than adequate, but if you expect anything more than that (as I suspect most domesic Australians do), you will find it lacking.

Perhaps "hotel" is a misleading descriptor; think "private hostel" and you're closer to the reality. Mine was a private room with a double bed, TV, fridge and sink. Shared facilities were down the hall (clean but intimate). Room was secure and not uncomfortably small. Noise was a problem (the walls are thin and the neighbourhood loud), so bring the earplugs. Breakfast is a non-affair, so don't count on it; there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

I picked up my room for $40 through the hotel website (it's cheaper to book through them than on a discounted site), and I wouldn't want to pay much more than that. But, for a single night's accommodation, the convenience, price, and location won me over. Temper your expectations accordingly and you'll find it fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat_Avalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

It's not hotel not even hostel but its like jail, too rude and harsh customer service.

Thank God! I was just there for a night and also got my friends. Otherwise you will  feel like hell. You may also get beaten up by receptionist lady. She was so rude and harsh. She spoils your trip. She controls you like warden... "go to your room".. If you stay little bit around the reception counter.

Room, its not what you see on the web. Wall of the rooms got  crack and smelling very bad. Toilets r located far away from room. Eg, if you stay in level 1 and if you are female, than you need to climb level 3 for toilet n bathroom, there is no lift...you have to climb the stairs

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ringde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The place is very near to the city area and is minutes walk from a train station. There is also plenty of choices for cafes and all kinds of food that opens till late.
For the price we paid, we expected an average dorm-ish room... our expectations were exceeded in terms of the room, there was a fridge and a flat-screen TV. :)
We didn't get very good sleep as there was noise till late night (which was ok because we are late night people) but there was some kind of construction that starts wee early in the mornings (which was bad coz we are not morning people).
However, the shared bathroom/toilets could be better kept as they were not always in the cleanest condition. The service was also not up to expectations as they forgot to book our airport transfer and gave the excuse that we did not remind them after booking it way ahead of time. As a service provider, these things should have been noted down and not rely on customers to remind them of.
There are plenty of backpackers places in Sydney and I doubt I will go back to this one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karynn-YH-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
506 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#126 of 178 in Sydney
144 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#131 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#123 of 178 in Sydney
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Private Hotel

Address: 166 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £43 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Highfield Private Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield Hotel offers budget 2 star accommodation. Please note that we have both Private En Suite rooms and shared bathroom facilities. Conveniently, Highfield Hotel is located in the heart of the city, close to transport and all attractions. Located in Potts Point, Highfield Hotel is well situated to meet the many needs of tourists. Highfield Hotel has 32 rooms comfortably furnished, spacious and famous for its cleanliness. We ensure you can enjoy a restful night's sleep. On request, we provide you with hair dryer, iron and ironing board and crockery/cutlery. There is a common room which includes tea and coffee making facilities, toaster, fridge, internet access, microwave, remote control colour TV. Our receptionist will be glad to assist with advising on how to get around Sydney and where to find local attractions. Our friendly staff will be able to assist you with tour bookings. There is a guest laundry facility within 50m from the Hotel with a coin operated washing machine. Rooms range from double, twin, single, family and large family rooms. An extra bed is available at a small additional charge. All rooms are non smoking rooms. All rooms have Colour Television for your convenience. Check In time is 12:00PMCheck Out time is : 10:00 AMA self-served breakfasts are available daily from 8:00am to 10.00am. Takeaway meals can be delivered to your hotel room. Please ask Reception for a variety of menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing