We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Private Hotel
Ranked #137 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I regularly stay at the Highfield Hotel. It's a few doors down from Kings Cross Station and a short, enjoyable walk into the city (e.g., down the McHelone Stairs at the end of Victoria Street). Granted, the hotel is pretty basic with shared unisex bathrooms. But it is clean, comfortable and safe (i.e., with 2 x security gates to negotiate after hours). If you intend spending your time in your room, this place isn't for you. If you want to save some money and explore Sydney, then you won't find better for the price so close to the city. It is very cheap. And, to top it off, the staff are really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are easier to access if you have a bit of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here on 2 separate occasions. The first time we had bunkbeds when we booked a double room and the bed was broken. We had a sink which was good and a fridge too. The bathrooms are terrible. We had heavy bags and had to carry them up several flights of stairs. Second time we stayed we checked in at 11pm. We told management we would be arriving late and even had a few phone calls to discuss arrival times. We arrived a little early but waited an hourto check in. Then we were charged $10 late check in fee! On the plus we had a proper double bed this time. Downside we had no sink, the kitchen was closed and we had no cups in the room to have a drink. Had to drink out of the bathroom taps....yuck. $10 late check in was refunded after complaint was made which was good. Staff were ok but not overly helpful. Overall inconsistant service. We also found a reallynice hotel 5minutes away which was almost the same pricebut a milliontimes better.

Room Tip: No private bathrooms and no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sg882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We paid 70 dollars for a "hotel". It's a hostel.. Shared bathroom, small rooms. After we had settled in our room for about an hour we were asked to move to a smaller one.. Don't stay here, a hostel would be better. And there are actually hotels for the same price

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank skydeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The two male owners seemed very friendly and helpful when we arrived.

The rooms were basic but our double bed room was a double bed with an extra bunk on top, a sink, a TV, and a fridge. Not much room for anything else but if your looking for a place to crash plus the convenience of a sink this is good.

The bathrooms are old and could do with a clean but I know the place is being renovated currently. Good location but don't have high standards for the Highfield Hotel :)... Yet

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jethro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia_waxberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoPoloMotorInn, Front Office Manager at Highfield Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Marine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 無料wifiは通信量制限あり
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimao1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
524 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#128 of 182 in Sydney
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#114 of 182 in Sydney
697 reviews
DeVere Hotel
#154 of 182 in Sydney
533 reviews
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#129 of 182 in Sydney
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Private Hotel

Address: 166 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £40 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Highfield Private Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield Hotel offers budget 2 star accommodation. Please note that we have both Private En Suite rooms and shared bathroom facilities. Conveniently, Highfield Hotel is located in the heart of the city, close to transport and all attractions. Located in Potts Point, Highfield Hotel is well situated to meet the many needs of tourists. Highfield Hotel has 32 rooms comfortably furnished, spacious and famous for its cleanliness. We ensure you can enjoy a restful night's sleep. On request, we provide you with hair dryer, iron and ironing board and crockery/cutlery. There is a common room which includes tea and coffee making facilities, toaster, fridge, internet access, microwave, remote control colour TV. Our receptionist will be glad to assist with advising on how to get around Sydney and where to find local attractions. Our friendly staff will be able to assist you with tour bookings. There is a guest laundry facility within 50m from the Hotel with a coin operated washing machine. Rooms range from double, twin, single, family and large family rooms. An extra bed is available at a small additional charge. All rooms are non smoking rooms. All rooms have Colour Television for your convenience. Check In time is 12:00PMCheck Out time is : 10:00 AMA self-served breakfasts are available daily from 8:00am to 10.00am. Takeaway meals can be delivered to your hotel room. Please ask Reception for a variety of menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing