We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“backpackerhostel where you need to be grateful” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highfield Private Hotel
Ranked #129 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“backpackerhostel where you need to be grateful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

booked single got a 3bed 'cabinet' with no further room to move for AUD 100 per night.had a Fridge and TVin room as well as a sink and a fan. 'window' to 50 cm away-neighbourhouse wall.
When arrived at 4 pm room not ready but on check out day 15minutes extension to 10:15 am where something that alomost needed fighting and than was given with a lot of mercy. Hairdryer could be requested, but when wishing for anything at the reception it could happen that you wait 5-10 min until a (private?) phone call was finished.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    25
    18
    23
    39
See reviews for
17
33
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

This Backpackers hostal/halfway house is the pits and should be struck off any website, better off knocked down! No Nightporter at night times, had to make my own bed, bars on windows, communal shared bathrooms and toilets, I asked for a takeaway sandwich for breakfast (flight 6am to Melbourne) and the lady said "no". No staff interest whatsover - lacking social skills and customer service. The only good thing is the location, but it is in a dodgy red light district to be fair as I saw some police action which involved drunks...believe me, it would ruin your holiday if you stayed here!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JetsetZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Gosford, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

The staff are absolutely rude and the rooms very discusting one room we opened the door and it hit into one of the beds we were told if we made any noise we would be thrown out so i demanded my money back...NEVER STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johna1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

I don't think any word's in the English dictionary could be used to show how much i hate this place. $200 dollars for a room for the night. i would be happy with that usually! not in this case. The room was seriously screwed, i felt embarrassed being in there. i wanted to go down and spit in the lady's face who was running the crack hole. some stupid Asian scrag that couldn't even speak English. First thing she said to us was keep quiet there's a baby sleeping on your floor. besides all the hate i got these guys back. i turned on all the electricity in the room. turned the tap on hot water and let that run for 24hrs, urinated in the room and urinated all over the floor in the bathroom. i at least done $200 damage. so i guess where even highfield :D

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Harrison_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

I booked this hotel for 6 nights as I wanted to stay somewhere that didn't have a dorm but wouldn't cost too much. I left after one night. The bed and room had hairs all over it. The fridge was rusty inside and outside and froze anything you put in it. The tv was very old and sat on top of the fridge. It only got 3 tv stations. The room around the bed was only 2 feet across and I had a single bed bunk on top of the double. The dining room kitchen could only accomodate 4 people at a time. I booked through a third party they refunded my money. When I left the hotel and returned my key the lady at the desk yelled at me and refused to give me my key money back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank californiagirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

On our return from our world trip I am adding reviews to the places we stayed along the way.

Book in advance!!! Is our advice, we arrived in Sydney with no reservation and the place was CHOCABLOCK! We could not find a decent room at a decent price for love nor money! Out of desperation we stayed at the Highfield Hotel. It was ropey, strange, lacklustre, old, dated and not 100% clean. But we grinned and beared it and used the free wifi, and got ourselves booked the following day at a hostel down the road. Not an awful experience, but certainly nothing to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortugalExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

On booking this "hotel" we didn't realise it was a hostel. The windows were paper thin, as were the walls, and there was constant building work going on next door. You could have kept the window open and it would be the same. There were two bathrooms in the whole hostel, a gents bathroom on the first floor and ladies on second. I cried for hours when we arrived, but as we were booked in for almost two weeks we could not afford to go elsewhere. A horrific start to our holidays. At night time there is no security there so it is worse than a zoo. Don't expect to get a nights sleep. Groups come at the week-ends and roar and shout all night long. One guy put his hand through the window above us after hours of drinking and fighting all night and there were people constantly screaming, ambulances called, etc. Then when we finally got to sleep on the Saturday morning, management were replacing the broken window and the steam set off the fire alarm, so we were all evacuated. Another night, I went to the bathroom in the middle of the night, and there was a guy asleep almost naked in the girls shower with the door open. It is dirty, with plaster coming off the walls, a horrible, horrible place. Should be knocked down, or at least investigated by health and safety and shut down. People should be allowed to stay for free.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lola2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Y Hotel City South
#117 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#122 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#124 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Private Hotel

Property: Highfield Private Hotel
Address: 166 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Highfield Private Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield Hotel offers budget 2 star accommodation. Please note that we have both Private En Suite rooms and shared bathroom facilities. Conveniently, Highfield Hotel is located in the heart of the city, close to transport and all attractions. Located in Potts Point, Highfield Hotel is well situated to meet the many needs of tourists. Highfield Hotel has 32 rooms comfortably furnished, spacious and famous for its cleanliness. We ensure you can enjoy a restful night's sleep. On request, we provide you with hair dryer, iron and ironing board and crockery/cutlery. There is a common room which includes tea and coffee making facilities, toaster, fridge, internet access, microwave, remote control colour TV. Our receptionist will be glad to assist with advising on how to get around Sydney and where to find local attractions. Our friendly staff will be able to assist you with tour bookings. There is a guest laundry facility within 50m from the Hotel with a coin operated washing machine. Rooms range from double, twin, single, family and large family rooms. An extra bed is available at a small additional charge. All rooms are non smoking rooms. All rooms have Colour Television for your convenience. Check In time is 12:00PMCheck Out time is : 10:00 AMA self-served breakfasts are available daily from 8:00am to 10.00am. Takeaway meals can be delivered to your hotel room. Please ask Reception for a variety of menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Highfield Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing