We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good quality hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Hostel
Ranked #9 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a good quality hostel”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed in a 4 people mix dorm for 5 nights, and it seems no one will clean the floor of the dorm, the only thing they do is take out the rubbish in the rubbish bin. So, we felt our dorm is never being clean.
AC was always not working, and the window design in this hostel is bad, you can't open it, so the room was quite stuffy every night when 4 people all back to the dorm. Kitchen is not clean, can saw cockroaches. Share bathroom was pretty clean. Wi-Fi only available for 1st floor guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosimom236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellenshouse, Manager at Big Hostel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi, i just wanted to respond to this - unfortunately nearly all hotels and hostels do not have opening windows due to legislation not permitting this for safety- (built after 1998)
we are a hostel and not a hotel so housekeeping inside rooms on a 5 night stay is minimal($34 per person rates with free breaKfast and wifi) will not bring the same services as a hotel unfortunately.
Wifi is FREE in communal areas ONLY (usually $4 per hour in hotels and hostels) it is designed to only work on our ground floor.
we are an air-conditioned building.we take note of your concerns and will address any issues we can, thankyou for your feedback.

regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    183
    58
    20
    4
See reviews for
47
91
119
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindau, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed in the 4bed ensuite dorm, $34/night, yep, Sydney isn't cheap. The room was quite small, the bunk beds were made of metal and had seen better days, made squeaking sound even when somebody just walked past them without actually touching it. The mattresses were covered in plastic, anti-bedbugs but very annoying to sleep on. There were lockers but not too sturdy, forcing a little you could open them.
The wifi worked only at times (impossible to connect between 7 and 11pm), 1 free computer always occupied.
The bathroom was clean and the location is great, free breakfast is also very good, staff quite nice. Overall it is not a bad value considering it is right next to the Central station, but it is nothing special either

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a mixed ensuite dorm for 4 persons, two sets of bunk beds. The room and bath were very clean, had a window that opened, and great A/C that could be adjusted according to preference. There was small side table between bunks, metal cabinet with 4 storage areas that could be locked, portable "closet" with hangers for hanging clothes up, and 4-tiered shelf for other belongings. Bed was comfortable, sheets nicely ironed and crisp, pillow ok, and 3-piece bathroom: toilet, sink, shower, all spotless. No reading lights for each bed!
Kitchen was large, fully equipped. Breakfast, 4-5 kinds of dry cereals and white/wholewheat
breads for toast. Milk, peanut butter, assorted jams, and margarine provided. Staff was fantastic! So helpful, so knowledgeable, so friendly. The best I've encountered in a hostel.
Large libary of paperbacks for swap, selection of movies, large flat-screen TV, picnic tables
for eating, well-worn couches for lounging. Laundry for $3 to wash and $3 to dry, plus $1 for
soap. Luggage storage area. Elevator. First floor common areas could use new paint in brighter colors...quite drab as it is. Definitely would stay again when in Sydney. Fantastic value for the money!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just-Ask-Me1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Hostel was nothing too special. If you're merely looking for a bed for the night then this is a good spot as it's very close to central station and there is a bus station across the street where you can catch a free bus that loops around the city. Beds were comfortable and the room was generally clean, no copmlaints there.

Only thing I thought I'd mention is I was in a room with 2 girls who thought they were in a female only dorms, so I'd re-confirm that with the hostel if you are really adamant about it. I (obviously) didn't mind and they were pretty cool with the surprise arrangement, but not everyone is open minded.

The staff is nice and are willign to help you find your way around town and suggest things to do. The atmosphere was not that exciting as everyone was mostly sitting in the common room watching TV. Who travels around the world to watch TV?!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supermario86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I was impressed by this place! I was sorry we didn't stay here when we first arrived in Sydney.

It is in a good location, a mere 5 minute stumble from Central station and across the road from the bus stop where the 555 free bus runs. It's right beside a 7/11 and a 5 minute walk to Hyde Park and a 20 minute walk from Circular Quay (but you can get the free bus to there).

The room cost $36 for a 4-bed mixed dorm, en suite, which was cheaper than a lot of the other hostels i researched. The room was absolutely fine. It even had a tv! There were lockers in the room and all bed linen is provided. It also had good air-con which you were allowed to use all day free of charge.

The common room was great and very big with loads of seating both couches and bench tables to eat on. The kitchen was big with loads of fridges and it looked out onto the common room. There was even a little fish tank to add a bit of character. The wifi was free (but could only be used in the common room, not the bedrooms) but i found it a bit temperamental. Free use of their stationary computer but only for 10 minutes at a time. There was a social, communal feel to the common room too.

Character was lacking a little bit although they did have some kooky funny posters scattered about the place and a few cute Banksy art works scattered through the stairwell.

The only thing i didn't like was the elevator was broken for nearly the whole time we were there and we were on the third floor which was quite a hike and when the elevator was actually working it was quite sporadic in it's loyalties - Sometimes it would decide to take you to floor 1 instead of 3! The lockers were quite small also. Oh, and the view from our dorm room window was of a (very close) wall. We found this quite amusing!

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Location is quite good, It is very near to Central Railway Station, and the direction given on the hostel's website is quite accurate. Very near to China town as well. The staffs are helpful and amiable. The breakfast is adequate. The atmosphere is lively. I always see some people at the common area as well as the rooftop. It is also very near to some pizza shops, restaurants and a bar. We stayed at a Double Private Room and the view is quite good too. We can see the clock tower from the Central Station. There are some body lotion and sun screen at the reception and the guests can use them for free.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Shwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Hi Everyone!!!

I stayed there 5 days it was very good, and very well located! Even if they were some cockcruhes on the ground floor!

Expect that everything was very cool!

So I recommand you this AMAZING PLACE
Enjoy

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
2,180 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
2,845 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
1,299 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 137 in Sydney
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel

Property: Big Hostel
Address: 212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hostel in a great location.clean,budget and open age friendlywifi is only FREE in our communal areasplease remember we are a hostel and not a hotel- no turndown services or beds made daily sorry.happy to assist with job hunting, apartment hunting,tours and all information needed for exploring Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing