We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sydney CBD self catered”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #73 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sydney CBD self catered”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Mantra on Kent is an excellent venue for those wanting accommodation in the centre of Sydney's CBD. This accommodation is fully equipped with in-room kitchen and laundry facilities. A full buffet breakfast is available and (very good) room service for other meals is provided. The premises are large, clean and comfortable. All staff were energised and willingly assisted when there were needs.

Room Tip: Look for online specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Kevin M,
Thank you for your positive review of the hotel and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on Kent on your next trip to Sydney.
Kind regards,
Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    554
    216
    59
    33
See reviews for
312
386
52
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

My partner and I both stayed here on the way home from Launceston just before Australia Day. When we checked in we were informed we were on the 23rd floor. What a great room they gave us! It must of been one of the few rooms that you could actually see Darling Harbour. The room amenities were really good too. It was nice to be able to cook your own breakfast etc, and have a washing machine and dryer so all our clothes were washed and ready to go and there was no laundry to do when we got back home after our trip.
The hotel was nice and central too. Close walking distance to Darling Harbour and not too far to all the sights like the opera house and bridge. It's just a shame the monorail won't be around anymore.
All up we had a pleasant stay and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definately stay here again when going back to Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear farfromhere,
Thank you for your 5 star review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and convenient. About 50% of our rooms have a Darling Harbour views, which is great when the fireworks are on at night.
We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel to Sydney.
Sincerely, Daniel Russell Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was a one night stay to use a credit from another Hotel ahead of further travels. Didn't realise was an apartment, but size was good. Appreciated the quick walk to to Darling Harbour & restaurants.
However, requested complimentary late checkout of 11am only to be woken at 7am by knock on door, someone entering room & turning lights on. This was NOT appreciated

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear TooGee,
Thank you for your review.
Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay overall.
In regards to your wake up call, I am unable to find a log of that being mentioned to the front desk.
We take our guests security very seriously and would appreciate if you could contact me on 02 9284 2300 so that I can identify what room you were staying in and follow this up for you.
Please accept my apologies and I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Sincerely, Daniel Russell Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed at Mantra for 2 weeks, on the day of departure I thought I lost my USB drives in the apartment after I checked out of the hotel and rang them from the airport, the front desk staff was very friendly and took down my contact info, promised they will have a thorough check of the room and would replied via email. Later I found out it was tucked in my own luggage after I returned home ;-P When I open up my email inbox and I got a reply email from the staff and explained the process of checking the room with nothing found, I wrote back and thank them and they replied again! I feel that they do value customer's voice and walk the talk, staff are friendly and clean environment, very close and convenient to CBD, definitely a place of accommodation I would recommend to my friends when visit next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeJayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear leeJace,
Thank you for your recent review.
I am glad that the team were able to assist you with your enquiry and would recommend the hotel to your friends.
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely, Daniel Russell Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Good, Large apartment with 10/15 minutes of the harbour. Clean, friendly staff. The apartment was open plan and the apartment was cleaned and re-stocked every day. Whilst its in the CBD there are plenty of bars etc and most attractions can be reached on foot.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianunitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear ianunitt,
Thank you for your recent review of the property. Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincrerely, Daniel Russell Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

If your goal is to be pampered this probably isn't the hotel for you. If you want a bit of room to move around, need a laundry or kitchen facilities, then it probably is.

I stayed for one night in a one bedroom apartment on a business trip and I have no complaints, other than lousy lighting in the bedroom that made it difficult to read in bed. But that makes the Mantra on Kent like most other places I've stayed at.

The apartment was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had all the usual toiletries except body lotion. The shower was above the spa bath, so would be challenging to use if you have any mobility issues.

The location is handy to Darling Harbour, the business district and stations. The hotel is situated on a one way street and I was unable to to hail a cab from out the front so I'd suggest booking one if you need to meet a deadline.

I'd stay here again for a longer stay (ie more than a couple of nights) or if I was travelling with family members and needed a bit of space.

The Mantra offers a buffet breakfast on site - this was nicely presented and of acceptable quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear MelbourneKaz,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to wlcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely, Daniel Russell Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Was very impressed with my 5 night stay in a 1 bedroom apartment.....it felt comfortableand the apartment was impeccable cleaned everyday with allthe necessary items replenished....friendly and attentive service fromthe front deskstaff - in particular Roz.....I will recommend this hotel.anytime.Welldone tothe management team and alsothe Housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: My roomon the 23rd floor was quiet and had limited views to Darling Harbour and the CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Denis582,
Thank you for your review.
Its pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and made a special mention of Roz. I have passed on your feedback to her and the housekeeping team.
We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely, Daniel Russell Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#71 of 178 in Sydney
2,239 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 178 in Sydney
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing