We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #71 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Howick, South Africa.
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Found Mantra on the internet and booked an apartment with a view of the Harbour. Came to Sydney from South Africa on holiday and was delighted with our accommodation. Everything was spotless and we had a lovely view of the Harbour from our 22nd floor apartment. Mantra is a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport and very conveniently situated to Darling Harbour and also to the Hop-on Hop-off bus rides. The staff on reception were wonderful and most helpful. The breakfast is a buffet and, when we were there, was looked after by two delightful ladies who were extremely pleasant and obliging. The food is very good and there is ample to choose from. Very good value for money and would definitely stay there again when in Sydney.

Room Tip: The higher up the more chance of a view of Darling Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear John S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay with us in November.

The feedback on our team, breakfast and service is wonderful and most certainly will be shared with them with thanks for a job well done.

Great to hear you found the location convenient and enjoyed the views of Darling Harbour from your room.

We do hope to see you back one day soon.

Regards,

Paul Seaman (General Manager) and the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    533
    210
    56
    30
See reviews for
292
376
51
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very comfortable. Nice room and a comfortable bed.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The manager even set up a breakfast table near the window and moved us there when it became free. Poached eggs cooked on request and perfect. The breakfast was a really good way to start the day and was a good price.

Very handy location for shopping in the CBD and dining at Darling Harbour. An easy walk to both.

We will certainly stay here again

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Dianne M,

We appreciate you taking the time to pass on the feedback from your recent stay at Mantra on Kent - really pleased to hear that you found the location just right for dining and shopping! Our location in the heart of the CBD certainly does put all that Sydney has to offer right on our doorstep.

Great to hear the team in the restaurant looked after you well and we got your eggs just right!

Once again, thanks for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Paul Seaman (General Manager) and the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

great location near darling harbour not far from town hall. On arrival we were greeted immediately and upgraded which was a bonus. We had prepaid with breaky but was told it wasnt included when i showed my booking confirmation it was immediately fixed no problem. Our room had a view of darling harbour overlooking maritime museum etc. Wilson parking was right next door and cost us $23 which was pretty good for the city as the next car park was charging $59. The room was spotless and extremely quiet. King size bed was very comfortable and had a range of different pillows, firm, soft, etc. Buffet breaky was exactly what you'd expect bacon, sausages, french toast, cereals, fruit etc and service was exceptional. As soon as you finished your plate it was removed. A gentleman was looking at coffee machine and straight away waitress came over to help him. I have stayed at many different mantras and found service here the best

Room Tip: stayed on 22nd floor room 2205 and was very quiet and didnt hear a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Sue b,

Really appreciate you taking the time to pass on your review of Mantra on Kent. It was great to hear you found our location perfect for your needs in the centre of the CBD.

Our breakfast service and offering is something we are very proud of so to receive such positive feedback is a fabulous lift to the team.

Once again, thanks for the feedback and we hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Paul Seaman (General Manager) and the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Came to Sydney for a conference and was thrilled when work booked me into the Mantra on Kent. Not only was it close to the conference, it is centrally located to the CBD and Darling Harbour as well a very short walk to Town Hall train station. I've stayed here a number of times and each time my room has been spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet, I also seem to get a room with views of Darling Harbour, which is great. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Sarah G,

Appreciate you taking the time to post a review for Mantra on Kent. We were very pleased to read you found the location perfect for business travel.

I will be certain to pass on the comments regarding the friendliness of the team and our housekeeping department with my thanks for a job well done.

Once again thanks for the review and I do hope you have reason to travel again soon and stay at Mantra on Kent.

Paul Seaman (General Manager) and the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

For our yearly girls' getaway trip to Sydney we always stay at the Mantra on Kent. The staff are consistently friendly, helpful and efficient; indeed nothing is too much trouble. On the day we checked in there was a 'welcome back' note and bottle of wine in our room; a lovely treat. We chose to self-cater and the supermarket was five minutes walk away right by Town Hall station.

Our bathroom was a bit 'tired' but there was plenty of hot water. If we could make one suggestion it would be to get a good hair dryer for the bathroom. We would rather be out and about in Sydney instead of taking up time trying to dry our hair! We'll definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks Darling Harbour because there is always something interesting to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Kate M,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay at Mantra on Kent. Really pleased to hear the hotel works well for you as your annual weekend away and you once again enjoyed the time in Sydney.

I understand how frustrating those small hairdyers can be in hotels and we are currently working through a program to replace these to something with a liltle more power!

Once again thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Regards,

Paul Seaman & the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel in July. Location can't be beaten - it's in the middle of everything in the city centre.

The apartment is nice and modern, bed comfy and shower great! We had a corner room with a view towards Darling harbour!

The only thing I could say honestly that I didn't like is the windows couldn't be open at all, so it gets a bit claustrophobic if you need fresh air. I think it's done for safety reasons but they could have put small windows at the top.

Parking not an issue, there were a lot of spaces next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daizysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear daizysmith,

Thank you for this great feedback from your stay back in July.

Pleased you find the location, views and faciclities to be perfect for your needs.

You are correct in saying that the windows cannot be opened, perhaps request one of our balcony rooms on your next stay with us. The aspect of these rooms is slighlty different but they do provide access to the great outdoors.

Once again we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you,

Paul Seaman (General Manager) & the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have stayed in several Mantras and this one is the stand out one for me in Sydney. It is a bit more personal than the others and the staff are friendlier. The rooms are big and comfortable and importantly they are quiet. The beds are firm but the pillows are good quality and the bathrooms are clean and well maintained.
This is a great location with a lot of restaurants, shops and transport in easy walking distance. Hotel staff arrange cabs and check in and out is streamlined.

A good place to choose.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Rosalind L,

It is great to hear that we are the stand out Mantra property for you. Thank you for this wonderful compliment.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the spacious apartment, friendly service from all of the team and our housekeeping team will be recognised for a job well done

We hope to welcome you back soon to Mantra on Kent

Regards,

Paul Seaman (General Manager) & the Mantra on Kent Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 178 in Sydney
2,118 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
1,017 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing