We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“city disappiontment”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #77 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 8 February 2014

disappointed with first room towels dirty bed creaking and saying that had a sleepless night. after being told we could not be refunded for the following night we were offered a new room which we took this room was a up grade to the one we booked. again the room left a lot to be desired the toilet hardly flushed, one of the blinds did not shut and the shower had mold and hair around door . the staff were friendly and helpful but unable to rescue our get away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear dragonswin,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
Here at Mantra our goal is to exceed all of our guests’ expectations. We better ourselves by reacting to our guests’ criticisms. We take your comments on board and hope you will give us a chance to serve you better next time.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,

Elena Prytkova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just recently stayed in Mantra on Kent for one night. Great location within walking distance to Darling Harbour (Great choice of restaurant) Staff was friendly and helpful. We asked in advance for apartment with balcony and there was no problem when we checked inn. If you like to be in a center of the city this place is OK.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophoros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Christophoros57,
Thank you for your feedback and positive review.
I am pleased to read that your room allocation was as requested. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you found the balcony room to be spacious and airy. It’s nice to know you took advantage nearby venues.
We hope to see you again at Mantra on Kent.

Kind Regards,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is very well located in the centre of Sydney and is only a short walk from Darling Harbour (Cockle Bay Wharf). Breakfasts are good - self service and very tasty. Staff are very helpful. Rooms come with cooking facilities and there are washing machines and tumble driers in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDEvolutionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear JDEvolutionist,
Thank you for your review. It is great you enjoyed your stay. Our Mantra on Kent team and chefs will be especially delighted to hear your kind comments on service and food.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We just had a quick stopover in the City and picked the Manta on Kent purely because it was a Mantra and we have stayed with them quite a few times.. We were not disappointed. Not the best scenic location but it is very close to Darling Harbour, Chinatown and the CBD. Rooms were very roomy and clean. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear 22Hugo,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Mantra on Kent while staying in Sydney. It is great you found the hotel up to Mantra standard and had wonderful stay. A selection of our deluxe apartments have Darling Harbour view , please give us a call when you next in Sydney and we make sure you have a lovely room with a view.

We looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Gorgeous corner room, clean an comfortable and self contained with windows on both sides almost on the bridge. It was really close to Darling Harbour so could go back and forth. Staff friendly. Can book shuttle to the airport from there children's half price too. Fantastic to have a good washing machine and dryer. Used the sofa bed for 3 people. :)

Room Tip: Great if u have little children..not far to Townhall station and Darling Harbour...costly for car ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebrakeyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Zebrakeyz ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback on your recent stay.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that room facilities met your expectations. All our apartments are spacious and have necessary facilities to comfortably accommodate families with kids. We’re pleased you found central location and closeness to all main attractions and public transport useful. I am particularly pleased you found our staff friendly and approachable.

We strive to make guests stay memorable ,thank you again for you kind feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Firstly, I would like to give a shout-out to the assistant mgr, Jin. I've travelled a lot and have never met anyone so helpful and empathetic. I had problems with a booking at a another place and came here very last minute to book this place. She was very empathetic and helped me to book/check in. HUGE kudos to you, Jin! You sure saved me from hell.

Stayed here in January for 2 weeks and we really enjoyed our stay. There were 3 of us adults and we had booked a 1 bedroom but were upgraded to a 1 bedroom deluxe. Room had 1 bedroom that had sliding partition doors which opened up to the lounge and kitchen area. All the king beds are essentially 2 double beds put together. The couch was converted into a sleeper. Room had stovetop, microwave, fridge, oven, and cooking utensils. In the bathroom was the washer & dryer which looked like they could use an upgrade, but still, it was functional and they did provide laundry detergent!

The place looked like it was renovated. There's 25 floors of rooms with 5 rooms on each floor. Overall, we enjoyed stay - it was clean & modern. We were on a high floor and had a lovely view of the Darling Harbour. It's a great location: on a quiet street and within walking distance (5-10 min walk to Darling Harbour) and 5 min walk to the train & bus stations, QVB bldg., Westfield Mall, Pitt St Mall, & Chinatown. Everything is really close by, including quickmarts, cafes, and restaurants - overall, an excellent location! The place offered morning brekkies but we didn't eat there. They also provided room service which we didn't use but the food smelled and looked good. Self-parking is provided next door but at a cost. Wifi is available, but also at a cost.

My only complaint was that we couldn't open any windows to get fresh air but that was the only trade-off for the great view and comfortable room. Housekeeping was a hit-n-miss. Had to ask for our linen to be changed because they missed a change and forgot to remove the rubbish one day. The pillows could use an upgrade - we had 3 different pillows and they looked like they've seen better days. Nevertheless, I highly RECOMMEND this place - we had a comfortable stay in this central location with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maverickgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear maverickgirl,

Thank you for your review. It was great to hear Jin was very helpful and made your experience stress-free. I will surely pass on your feedback and let her know what a great impact she had on your stay. Our team strive to make guests stay memorable by learning what matters to them the most.

I am glad to see you found our location very convenient and apartment facilities comfortable for a long stay. It is pity you did not try our buffet breakfast or room service, our chef offers a great daily selection with different tasty specials, I hope next time you have a chance to try it.
All apartments have air conditioning and we do offer an option to have a balcony apartment with doors you can open to get fresh air.

I am sorry to hear that housekeeping service was not consistent, rest assured we have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping team to prevent the issues you've experienced in the future.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and thank you again for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Upon arriving on New Years day, we were upgraded to a 1 BR instead of the studio that we initially booked for. The decor was modern and sophisticated whilst still feeling like a home away from home. Central great location for tourists and down the road from direct public transport to the airport. It was a little on the pricey side but since it was New Year's day and we booked this last minute it was semi expected. We only stayed for a night to have some alone time from the family so cannot really comment on the service much although the two lobby staff was very professional and nice when we checked in and checked out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleAHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear PurpleAHan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am glad you found the hotel location exceptional and room decor and facilities modern and comfortable. The team appreciate your kind comments.

Sydney can be expensive around New Years Eve, however when you next visit Sydney please do not hesitate to send me an email at elena.prytkova@mantra.com.au, so we can ensure you are well looked after.

Thank you for choosing Mantra on Kent for your New Year’s stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards,

Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
1,095 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#75 of 179 in Sydney
2,355 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
#69 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £105 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent, in the heart of Sydney's CBD, and on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour, is close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC, Star City Casino, Cockle Bay, King Street Wharfs, bars and nightclubs. Offering guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Offering services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing