We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to city and darling harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #64 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Close to city and darling harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights over Xmas and chose for the location and apartment style suited us better than hotel. The location was great and we could walk to the city centre, darling harbour also the Rocks if you like a longer stroll. Rooms were good. We had 1 bedroom deluxe which was big enough for 3 adults.small balcony with slight water glimpse of darling harbour, but we didn't choose for the view. I would stay again as it was well located and well priced if you prefer the extra space of an apartment style

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear lexyAustralia,

Thank you for choosing Mantra on Kent for your Christmas get away. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back. Thank you for your positive feedback.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service ,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    499
    187
    51
    27
See reviews for
274
345
50
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom deluxe apartment

Pros:
Fantastic location - literally next to Darling Harbour
Walking distance to Victoria Station, Westfield, Hyde Park
Spacious room with water views

Cons:
Room smelled of BO when we checked in
Crockery wasn't clean

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyofleisure_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear ladyofleisure_TA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel location and views from your room.
The issues you mentioned have been brought up with our housekeeping team and will be addressed duly. Apologies for inconvenience caused.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.
At your service ,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

nice, clean & modern room with sufficient space.

Comfortable king-size bed

Kitchen was fully equipped with two cooking tops, microwave and oven, but only limited kitchen utensils were available (only two pots (a very small one and a standard size), no sharp knife, etc.). Good for basic cooking, but not for something more fancy. Our fridge broke during our stay and was replaced within 24h.

Bathroom was of a bit lower standard compared to the rest of the apartment. The exhaust fan could not be switched off and was very powerful, creating a cold current unpleasant when showering/bathing.

Locations was great, only a 15-20 min walk to the opera house, so all other main tourist sights were even closer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgian_trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Belgian_trotters,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you you had an enjoyable stay and maintenance issues were efficiently dealt with. It is great you explored Sydney attractions and found the hotel location convenient.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service ,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here recently for work for a number of weeks. On arrival I had a nice room, but no way to get fresh air (none of the windows opened) so I was moved to another room with a balcony door.

It was OK, but there were a number of smokers staying in the rooms below so a lot of cigarette smoke was constantly blowing through the door. They'd do well to take a leaf out of Adina apartments down the road and ban smoking in the building altogether.

Most of the pots and pans in the apartment were dirty and a few plastic storage containers for guests staying longer wouldn't go astray. The airconditioner in my room wasn't working, and while they offered a room switch I was working 14-hour days by that point, and just didn't have the time. It obviously wasn't just my room either, as I heard reception on the ph twice with other guests asking them to check if they'd left the aircon on long enough for it to heat up!

My real issue was when housekeeping spilt bleach all over one of my tops I'd had out drying after washing. While I was reimbursed, it was pretty annoying. Housekeeping also left bags of garbage on my coffee table once after cleaning the room.

Then, after checking out there were a whole lot of snacks added to my room bill that I never ate. Again, they were reimbursed, but it was really too little, too late, by that point. I won't be rushing to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Tara G,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and will use it to make improvements to our services.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inadvertent damage to your blouse from our cleaning chemicals. I’m pleased you were satisfied with the reimbursement of the full cost of the garment, and trust you enjoyed the amenity provided by the team as an apology for any inconvenience.

We do all that we can to make sure that Mantra on Kent is a smoke free environment and manage this consideration with both comfort and privacy in mind for our guests.
The issues you’ve raised about the facilities in the room will be addressed with our housekeeping team and the room will be added to our progressive spring cleaning program as required.

We are currently undertaking an annual audit of all our in room heating and cooling systems. In general during this seasonal Sydney weather change a little extra heating time as air cons switch from cooling to heating usually does the trick in keeping the rooms warn.

If we can be of any further assistance or if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, our General Manager would appreciate the opportunity to help and can be contacted via paul.seaman@mantra.com.au.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed for 6 nights, and was very impressed with the hotel. I had a one bedroom suite which was fab and very well equipped, and especially thankful for the washing machine and dryer in the bathroom which I made full use of as I was staying for a week. Location was great, easy walk to the QVB, and Darling Harbour, and only a 25 minute walk from the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, loads of choice, and hot, very tasty. My only gripe was no mattress protector on the mattress, and the sheets were a bit short so they kept wrinkling down, and I ended up lying directly on the mattress, other than that it was a great hotel, and I would definately recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Bec T,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and fully used your room facilities. We took your comments on board and address them with our housekeeping team.
We appreciate your kind words about the team and service and hope you got the most of your week in Sydney

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay in the deluxe 1br with a view of Darling Harbour.
The apartment was fully equipped with even a washing machine and dryer.
Service at the desk was excellent.
The location was great for shopping(QVB and westfields walking distance) and plenty of great cafes and restaurants.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAFYOUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear HAFYOUN,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with Trip Advisor community. Your wonderful stay means a lot to us and we cannot wait to see you again.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great location near Darling Harbour and the shops. Friendly staff. Nice modern apartment with laundry.Had everything you'd need for a short or longer stay. Would stay here again but I might take my own pillow, as ours were rock hard!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Oz1Sydney,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad you had a memorable stay and would love to come back. We do offer different pillows and will gladly provide a more comfortable one on your next visit.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing