We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like having your own apartment”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #78 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for a single night in May 2014, but hotel is probably better suited for an extended stay. Room more like an apartment, with a separate sleeping and living area, large kitchenette, and washer/dryer in the bathroom! More functional than luxury for sure, but comfortable enough. Good location, 1 1/2 blocks from Town Hall train station and 2 blocks from Pitt Street retail area. Room was a little dated but clean and everything worked.

Room Tip: Nice views from the upper floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear PlannerGeek,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. We constantly improve our room facilities and hope next time you stay with us you’ll be pleasantly surprised. I hope our team contributed to making your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is the place our company tries to book us into for work trips now as it's a great central location and the prices are good. I stayed here for the first time (have previously been put in a bunch of other hotels) and was pleasantly surprised. it's an unassuming hotel from the entrance, but the rooms are quite spacious and very comfortable. They have a great little mobile phone charging station in the room which is very handy if you forget your charger as it covers most phones. Neat, clean, comfortable and central - can't ask for much more than that. Am going up again in a few days and am happy to be booked in here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the higher floors and facing the rear of the hotel and had a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Douglas S,
It is excellent you are coming back soon. I am glad you made use of your room facilities and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for you feedback.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights over Xmas and chose for the location and apartment style suited us better than hotel. The location was great and we could walk to the city centre, darling harbour also the Rocks if you like a longer stroll. Rooms were good. We had 1 bedroom deluxe which was big enough for 3 adults.small balcony with slight water glimpse of darling harbour, but we didn't choose for the view. I would stay again as it was well located and well priced if you prefer the extra space of an apartment style

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear lexyAustralia,

Thank you for choosing Mantra on Kent for your Christmas get away. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back. Thank you for your positive feedback.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service ,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom deluxe apartment

Pros:
Fantastic location - literally next to Darling Harbour
Walking distance to Victoria Station, Westfield, Hyde Park
Spacious room with water views

Cons:
Room smelled of BO when we checked in
Crockery wasn't clean

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyofleisure_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear ladyofleisure_TA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel location and views from your room.
The issues you mentioned have been brought up with our housekeeping team and will be addressed duly. Apologies for inconvenience caused.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.
At your service ,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

nice, clean & modern room with sufficient space.

Comfortable king-size bed

Kitchen was fully equipped with two cooking tops, microwave and oven, but only limited kitchen utensils were available (only two pots (a very small one and a standard size), no sharp knife, etc.). Good for basic cooking, but not for something more fancy. Our fridge broke during our stay and was replaced within 24h.

Bathroom was of a bit lower standard compared to the rest of the apartment. The exhaust fan could not be switched off and was very powerful, creating a cold current unpleasant when showering/bathing.

Locations was great, only a 15-20 min walk to the opera house, so all other main tourist sights were even closer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgian_trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Belgian_trotters,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you you had an enjoyable stay and maintenance issues were efficiently dealt with. It is great you explored Sydney attractions and found the hotel location convenient.

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service ,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here recently for work for a number of weeks. On arrival I had a nice room, but no way to get fresh air (none of the windows opened) so I was moved to another room with a balcony door.

It was OK, but there were a number of smokers staying in the rooms below so a lot of cigarette smoke was constantly blowing through the door. They'd do well to take a leaf out of Adina apartments down the road and ban smoking in the building altogether.

Most of the pots and pans in the apartment were dirty and a few plastic storage containers for guests staying longer wouldn't go astray. The airconditioner in my room wasn't working, and while they offered a room switch I was working 14-hour days by that point, and just didn't have the time. It obviously wasn't just my room either, as I heard reception on the ph twice with other guests asking them to check if they'd left the aircon on long enough for it to heat up!

My real issue was when housekeeping spilt bleach all over one of my tops I'd had out drying after washing. While I was reimbursed, it was pretty annoying. Housekeeping also left bags of garbage on my coffee table once after cleaning the room.

Then, after checking out there were a whole lot of snacks added to my room bill that I never ate. Again, they were reimbursed, but it was really too little, too late, by that point. I won't be rushing to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Tara G,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and will use it to make improvements to our services.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inadvertent damage to your blouse from our cleaning chemicals. I’m pleased you were satisfied with the reimbursement of the full cost of the garment, and trust you enjoyed the amenity provided by the team as an apology for any inconvenience.

We do all that we can to make sure that Mantra on Kent is a smoke free environment and manage this consideration with both comfort and privacy in mind for our guests.
The issues you’ve raised about the facilities in the room will be addressed with our housekeeping team and the room will be added to our progressive spring cleaning program as required.

We are currently undertaking an annual audit of all our in room heating and cooling systems. In general during this seasonal Sydney weather change a little extra heating time as air cons switch from cooling to heating usually does the trick in keeping the rooms warn.

If we can be of any further assistance or if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, our General Manager would appreciate the opportunity to help and can be contacted via paul.seaman@mantra.com.au.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed for 6 nights, and was very impressed with the hotel. I had a one bedroom suite which was fab and very well equipped, and especially thankful for the washing machine and dryer in the bathroom which I made full use of as I was staying for a week. Location was great, easy walk to the QVB, and Darling Harbour, and only a 25 minute walk from the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, loads of choice, and hot, very tasty. My only gripe was no mattress protector on the mattress, and the sheets were a bit short so they kept wrinkling down, and I ended up lying directly on the mattress, other than that it was a great hotel, and I would definately recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Bec T,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and fully used your room facilities. We took your comments on board and address them with our housekeeping team.
We appreciate your kind words about the team and service and hope you got the most of your week in Sydney

We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#75 of 179 in Sydney
2,425 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
6,133 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
#70 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £101 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent, in the heart of Sydney's CBD, and on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour, is close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC, Star City Casino, Cockle Bay, King Street Wharfs, bars and nightclubs. Offering guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Offering services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing