We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #64 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed and the Mantra on Kent for one night June 2014 after coming off a cruise and before flying home.
We arrived very early at 10am. We were planning on leaving our bags with reception while we did some shopping and got lunch.
Reception was very helpful and checked if anything was available at that time. There were no rooms available but she told us to come back at 12.30 and a room would be ready for us.
We left our bags with them and came back at 12.30 and our room was ready.

Room was lovely. We stayed in room 1905.
Very big and spacious for the two of us. We booked a 1 Bedroom Deluxe as it came with buffet breakfast included.
Room was clean and tidy and well presented. With a very comfortable bed and couch.
Bathroom was a good size with a massive shower but was looking a bit tired. Although still fully functional and clean and tidy!
Bathroom also had a washer and dryer (with liquid provided for 1 wash) which was really helpful after coming off a cruise.

Cascades buffet breakfast was really yum! Plenty to choose from.

Hotel is just a quick walk to darling harbour and Westfield for shopping.
Very good location.

Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear NC0llins,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Nothing could be more exhausting in the morning than waiting for the room to be ready and I am glad to hear we managed to get it sooner for you. It is wonderful you tried our breakfast offerings and enjoyed the selection and food quality.
I hope next time you can stay with us longer.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    499
    187
    51
    27
See reviews for
274
345
50
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The beds were comfortable, I stayed in a studio apartment on the 27th floor and the view was good. Breakfast in the morning at the hotel was great also.
Location is close to Darling Harbour, and parking is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephcrosato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Stephcrosato,
Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to learn your stay was enjoyable.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with 2 girlfriends. We had a 1 bedroom and studio apartments which connected which worked really well with 1 person on a double fold out couch in the living room. So close to Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Westfield and other amazing shops, we could walk everywhere
We were on the 12th floor with a good view of Darling Harbour. It was very quiet, cosy and just perfect for a mid-priced hotel in town. Good amenities, including a washing machine and dryer but could have used a dishwasher and while the room was serviced everyday our dishes were not done for us - so that was a bit disappointing. We did not have breakfast in the hotel but did have room service one night - had a reasonably nice pizza and salad but very average desert - however the staff were so nice when we complained and sent desert back that totally made up for it. All in all, a great inner city location, pleasant staff and very clean - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juzzyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear juzzyhall,
Thank you for choosing Mantra on Kent for your girls’ weekend away and your feedback. Our apartments are very quiet and I am glad you had a pleasant stay and had a good rest between your shopping trips.
I am sorry to learn that the dessert was not up to your liking and hope next time we can offer something else you would enjoy.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great stay at the Mantra on Kent - really happy with the location as very close to QVB, Myer, David Jones and Westfield! Great for Darling Harbour too. We were 3 adults staying in a 2 bed apartment which is 2 rooms interconnecting with sofa beds. The main room has sliding doors to divide the bedroom with the lounge where the sofa bed is so you still feel a sense of privacy. The shower was amazing - brilliant water pressure and the bathroom was a good size and had the laundry facilities in it. Great apartments and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Kari101,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is lovely to know you enjoyed your stay and room facilities. Mantra on Kent is just few steps away from Darling Harbour and its restaurants, I hope you had time to have a nice lunch near the water.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location just round the corner to darling harbour wildlife zoo and aquarium,massive childrens playground at darling quarter and can even catch a ferry to Taronga zoo perfect for the family who does not have a car can walk to everything.
Loved the self-contained room.
Breakfast was great such a variety to choose from and the service was excellent.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcconnon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear mcconnon2014,
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and had fun exploring Sydney.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for the fifth or sixth time last night. We were in Sydney to see a concert at the State Theatre; about a 400m walk.

Reception staff were delightful, the building well maintained and our room was very clean.

The room was very well equipped with up to date appliances etc. The washing machine and dryer in the bathroom could come in very handy for those staying longer. Furniture was quite new and the bed was extremely comfortable. Partner took its name and address for future purchase dreams.

The kitchen has a double hotplate, microwave, toaster, jug and fridge. Good for survival cookery, maybe not a slap up meal.

Subsidised parking is available next door.

We had breakfast there today and it was as good as any buffet breakfast I have enjoyed. Well worth a look!

Not sure I should share, but we really like the food at the Belvedere Hotel - just down the street - quality meals served quickly by pleasant staff in a great venue. Tick, tick, tick, tick! ("tick" is Oz for "check"!)

If you have time, the National Maritime Museum is a short stroll away and offers the opportunity to climb all over all sorts of vessels.

It would be an ideal place to stay if you plan on sailing on the tallship "James Craig" (1874) sometime. This old iron beauty was visible from our room (Rm 2003).

Mantra on Kent comes with my highest recommendation for those visiting Sydney CBD, Darling Harbour, Opera House etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Dave R,
Thank you your lovely feedback and for choosing Mantra on Kent for your visits to Sydney. It is wonderful to learn we meet your expectations across many levels and your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had outstanding service from the staff. We had a one bedroom apartment for ourselves and grandson. Fold out bed in the living area was a double bed and very comfortable. The apartment was well set up, comfortable and quite spacious but not glamorous. Buffet breakfasts were very good - food was freshly prepared and worth having - good value for Sydney!
Location was excellent - midway between Darling Harbour and Queen Victoria Building which has access to Town Hall Station with 2 stops to Circular Quay, although it is an easy 15-20 min walk. Could catch the Airport Express Train in only 5 - 10 min walk from Town Hall Station. There is a big Woolworths Supermarket with access from Town Hall Station for self catering.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena_Prytkova, Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear CarolineAdelaide,
Thank you for your great feedback and kind words about the team. It was our pleasure to be of service. We are glad you had a wonderful stay.
We will be thrilled to accommodate you again in the future.

At your service,
Elena Prytkova
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing