We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back, relaxed, friendly and unique.”
Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medusa
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Laid back, relaxed, friendly and unique.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a courtyard room (203) with french doors that open on to patio with water feature. It's loud and our friendly host shut it off around 9ish, but if it's the sort of thing that bugs you I got the feeling he would have switched off early for us, no probs. Personally I loved it - he could have left on all night. Amenities were lovely, with lots of style and character. Bathroom had plenty of hot water and a luxurious shower head, which is always a winner in my books. The location is great, walking distance to lots of restaurants, shops, Paddington markets, and the SCG. No parking onsite, but we had no trouble finding something in a side street on a weekend. Can't wait to go back soon!

Room Tip: Courtyard room 203 was excellent. Overlooked the water feature from the side, so we could leave doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    51
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
81
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Although I didn't have my dog with me the times I've stayed, I'm loving the fact that he is welcome.
The room we were given was at the back of the property and I'm glad it was - it felt like we had privacy (normally hotels make us feel like anyone is about to walk in). The bathroom was on the smaller side but the shower was fantastic! Bed was HUGE and amenities were all there.
I have recommended this hotel to others and have even organised for my work colleagues to stay while travelling to Sydney on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed for two nights, in a courtyard room. Homely and comfortable but with class and elegance. Rooms comfortable and secure, could open louvres for natural light and open the window - as a lover of fresh air that's a bonus. Despite being across from a hotel it was reasonably quiet - slept like a log both nights. Surrounded by great places to eat and handy to transport. It's a quiet oasis in a bustling and trendy neighbourhood with lots of excellent food choices within a few minutes walk. Loved the little touches like the abundance of pillows, bowl of apples, the coffee plunger and the Aesop shampoo. Front desk staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, ready to offer advice re eating places and transport and found their advice on the mark! Daughter also stayed there, but would be very comfortable for solo travellers.

Would happily make this my regular Sydney haunt,

Room Tip: I liked the courtyard because I like being able to step outside easily, lots of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed one night in a deluxe room. I knew this would be basic, but I hadn't realised just how samll the room would be. Basically, bed sized. Built into an extension next to a patio, these rooms have louvred doors that don't feel quite secure. The patio has a noisy water feature which mercifully shuts off at 9pm, but the noise is intrusive before then. The funky lights in the patio come through the louvres and make the room glow even when the lights are off. On the other side of the room, windows open out onto what is a narrow alley used as a car yard.

The room, despite its size, packs in a lot of features. The bathroom has a full sized bath with a central plug (good for sharing); the amenities are in good supply; the wifi works (and they waived the charge for me); and the bolster on the bed can be replaced with the pillows in the wardrobe (which doesn't come down to the floor, allowing under-wardrobe storage). The light switches were set into the bed frame and the lighting was good. The electricity sockets were hard to get to, being in the narrow space between bed and wall.

There was some noise from traffic (the Hotel is located in a central area) and the walk from Kings Cross station does need a fairly broad mind.

The staff were super friendly and helpful. The hotel room was basically sound, comfortable but small. The only gripe is the price. For that money, I would ordinarily get a bigger room, possibly with a view and possibly with a kitchenette, depending on how lucky I was on web consolidating sites. For all its charm, the Medusa Hotel is just too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

stayed for 1N in a courtyard room. housed in what looks like it once was a residential building, medusa has a very nice small hotel atmosphere. it's situated in a nice neighborhoor, not too "hip(ster)" in a positive sense! there are nice cafes and pubs and the place is just a couple of mins away from kings cross. wifi, heating, and hot shower all worked fine. through i arrived super early the helpful gentleman at the front desk was able to get me a room.

all the good things said above don't make up for the fact that the hotel is ridiculously expensive for what it is. the room was very small and dark and everything in this place, except for the exterior and the front desk space, seemed a bit worn out. i couldn't help thinking this establishment seen better days. that was quite a disappointment, since the website still promises a high-quality boutique hotel. most definitely there was a mismatch between the website and reality. it is priced like a boutique hotel, which it undoubtedly once was, but now one can get nicer rooms a stone's throw away from Medusa in the direction of Kings Cross for much less.

i had none of the noise problems mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank urmsu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at a boutique hotel for a very affordable price. The room was perfect and clean. Very big in size with excellent service. Overall it was a very good experience staying at there. Everything that you need is at your feet and it is in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackmorej23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Medusa this weekend. The front office manager was very helpful - we had noticed the review about difficult car parking on the website, but I was quickly informed about the $35 valet parking at the Star carwash less than 100 metres down the road - it pays to ask obviously! We asked for a recommendation for a restaurant and had a wonderful meal at Fish Face (about 100 metres in the other direction from the car park). The room was fun - I loved the chaise longue and as well as being modern and colourful it was fabulously comfy for the short while we watched the TV. We enjoyed exploring the close neighbourhood which is filled with small cafes and bars and eclectic 2nd hand goods stores - every type of cuisine seems to be represented.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YnotJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#100 of 178 in Sydney
41 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#142 of 178 in Sydney
176 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Old Clare Hotel
#21 of 178 in Sydney
304 reviews
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#98 of 178 in Sydney
363 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 178 in Sydney
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Property: Medusa
Address: 267 Darlinghurst Rd | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing