We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new Sydney hotel”
Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Medusa
Ranked #95 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at Medusa on the recommendation of some friends and were very pleased with the suggestion.
Medusa is a lovely little boutique hotel with service that has certainly made it our new favourite hotel in Sydney.
The manager; Luke could not have been more friendly or helpful, he is extremely knowledgable on the area and gave us some excellent suggestions on where to go and things to do.

The rooms are comfortable, tastefully furnished and include great touches like lindt chocolates and Aesop products.

We booked well in advance and got a very reasonable rate for the area.

Thanks so much Medusa!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DSOhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a comfy hotel in a great location - if you don't mind a bit of walking, relatively close (20 minute walk) to town, the Botanical Gardens and Paddington. Simply but tastefully furnished. The room we stayed in was very compact but had a good sized bathroom with bath/shower arrangement and beautiful luxurious Aesop products. The towels were large and soft. While the room was small, it had a lovely outlook onto a courtyard with a fountain, and shutter windows which when open, gave a nice feeling of space and light. The fountain is thoughtfully turned off at night and we had a very quiet restful sleep each night. For something special, we'll be keen to stay in one of their larger rooms next time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you want to stay in the heart of Darlinghurst, but want a bit of peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Hotel rooms are tidy, clean and well appointed but very small. Staff are good, and the hotel pricing is very reasonable for the quality and location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This great little boutique hotel is everything you could possibly want for urban digs. Best location possible, close to all the hot restaurants and nightspots, and super friendly, staff who know the area well and can share 'local's secrets'.

Great renovation and funky fit out.
The hotel was built in the 1900's, with thick brick walls between the rooms, so even though it's right near all the action, it's lovely and quiet.
I thoroughly recommend Medusa for it's character, charm, convenience, comfort, stylishness, service and good value! 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyBronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Rooms are small with paper thin walls, it's incredibly noisy. The night reception guy wasn't particularly helpful. I wouldn't recommend this place. The building itself is lovely but I wouldn't call it a boutique hotel. The day manager was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ollielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I've stayed at Medusa a couple of times now and cant think of anywhere else around Darlinghurst or Potts Point I'd rather be.
The character of Medusa is genuine; not the over the top manufactured type (like QT). It comes from the beauty and charm of the building and the warm smiles of the staff.
Speaking of the staff, in my every encounter with them they have been sweeter than the gelato from Messina just down the road(which you gotta try!).
Guys, you are the Dulce de Leche of the hotel biz! Like, BIG scoops!

The room I had on my first stay was quite large, very comfy, and a spacious bathroom.
Last time I took my partner and the room and bathroom were much smaller but still plenty of character, although in the case of the bathroom in a rather compact way.
Both times I asked for a quiet room and was not disappointed. In fact on my last visit we slept right through checkout time!
If you want a McHotel, this aint it.
If you want to spend and evening in a charming old building in a great location looked after by lovely people who know their business....
Medusa! Soak up its charm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Badwolf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a courtyard room (203) with french doors that open on to patio with water feature. It's loud and our friendly host shut it off around 9ish, but if it's the sort of thing that bugs you I got the feeling he would have switched off early for us, no probs. Personally I loved it - he could have left on all night. Amenities were lovely, with lots of style and character. Bathroom had plenty of hot water and a luxurious shower head, which is always a winner in my books. The location is great, walking distance to lots of restaurants, shops, Paddington markets, and the SCG. No parking onsite, but we had no trouble finding something in a side street on a weekend. Can't wait to go back soon!

Room Tip: Courtyard room 203 was excellent. Overlooked the water feature from the side, so we could leave doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#89 of 182 in Sydney
72 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#140 of 182 in Sydney
199 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
Establishment Hotel
Establishment Hotel
#92 of 182 in Sydney
454 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#6 of 182 in Sydney
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Address: 267 Darlinghurst Rd | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £123 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing