We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Unique Eclectic Boutique Hotel, friendly helpful Staff, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medusa
Ranked #85 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Unique Eclectic Boutique Hotel, friendly helpful Staff, great location”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in this Hotel for the second time and could not fault the exceptional service provided and we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to one of the beautiful suites in the 'older' section along with private balcony. The suite was huge and very gorgeous and it was lovely to chill out on our private balcony with a glass of wine :) The suite was exceptionally clean (as with our previous experience) and I have found this to be one of the cleanest hotels ever stayed in along with beautiful AESOP bathroom products, lovely quality plush towels & bedding. Classical music playing upon our arrival into the suite, just gorgeous! Staff are all fabulous, very helpful and provide an exceptional service. Complimentary french pastries provided to guests along with a diverse and plentiful minibar selection. We will definitely be staying at the Medusa on our next trip to Sydney, we love the eclectic vibe and uniqueness of this boutique hotel experience and the surrounding neighbourhood is great; lots of quaint & quirky coffee shops, shops, restaurants and pubs. Thanks again to lovely Luke and to the lovely Medusa staff for making us feel so welcome and for a great stay; we will be back :) :) :)

Room Tip: Highly recommend the older front section of the hotel; in particular the upstairs suite (which is hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    49
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
76
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here one night on business and really enjoyed my stay at this quirky little boutique hotel in Darlinghurst.

The room was very small but serviceable and I loved that there was a bath and the Aesop toiletries just topped it off!

I got great advice from the front desk about where to eat (lovely restaurants in Victoria St - just one street across) and where to go for a walk. Staff were charming and obliging and little touches like bottled water in the foyer just added to the friendliness of this place.

As a person who is not partial to the big name CBD hotels with no soul, I would definitely stay at this lovely little property again.

Only complaint (and it's small) - several of the tv stations were not working on the tv in my room. But clearly I survived!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravellers264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Illawarra, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Four of us stayed for two nights whilst in Sydney for the Ashes cricket. Luke and Jesse were particlarly helpful and gracious hosts. The provided great advice on dining and entertainment venues. The rooms are excellent with huge flat screen televisions. The courtyard and pool area are a great haven to relax and have a quiet drink. The location is a huge advantage in that it is within walking distance of the SCG, Kings Cross, Woolloomooloo, and Stanely St restaurant strip. Parking was available 50m down the road for $30/ day. We look forward to our next stay. Thanks to Luke and Jesse for an awesome weekend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy71_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

From the warmest welcome (thanks Luke :)) to the excellent location, there is so very much to like about this hotel. The hotel itself has much to recommend it: lovely rooms, super comfortable beds, great bathrooms with complementary Aesop toiletries to name just a few of the things we found to be so great. And the location is superb - so many fantastic little cafés and restaurants within a five minute walk of its doors. Moreover a very easy walk into town and really accessible for some of the other areas to explore, eg Paddington. We really can't recommend it highly enough and would certainly stay here again next time we are in Sydney (hopefully very soon).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wanstead78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at Medusa on the recommendation of some friends and were very pleased with the suggestion.
Medusa is a lovely little boutique hotel with service that has certainly made it our new favourite hotel in Sydney.
The manager; Luke could not have been more friendly or helpful, he is extremely knowledgable on the area and gave us some excellent suggestions on where to go and things to do.

The rooms are comfortable, tastefully furnished and include great touches like lindt chocolates and Aesop products.

We booked well in advance and got a very reasonable rate for the area.

Thanks so much Medusa!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DSOhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a comfy hotel in a great location - if you don't mind a bit of walking, relatively close (20 minute walk) to town, the Botanical Gardens and Paddington. Simply but tastefully furnished. The room we stayed in was very compact but had a good sized bathroom with bath/shower arrangement and beautiful luxurious Aesop products. The towels were large and soft. While the room was small, it had a lovely outlook onto a courtyard with a fountain, and shutter windows which when open, gave a nice feeling of space and light. The fountain is thoughtfully turned off at night and we had a very quiet restful sleep each night. For something special, we'll be keen to stay in one of their larger rooms next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you want to stay in the heart of Darlinghurst, but want a bit of peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Hotel rooms are tidy, clean and well appointed but very small. Staff are good, and the hotel pricing is very reasonable for the quality and location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#138 of 174 in Sydney
157 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Old Clare Hotel
#31 of 174 in Sydney
252 reviews
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#93 of 174 in Sydney
354 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Property: Medusa
Address: 267 Darlinghurst Road | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing