We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and close to everything ”
Review of O'Malley's Hotel

O'Malley's Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
O'Malley's Hotel
Ranked #133 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I spent 2 nights here. The room very clean but it is small with 2 single beds, cupboard, and tv.
We couldn't figure out the tv. The bathrooms are private but across the hall.
The beds are super comfy but only have one pillow, the showers are amazing. Great water pressure and super hot.
The only single downside to this hotel is the 1001 stairs. After spending a day out exploring or a night out partying, the last thing anyone wants to do is walk up soo many stairs. If they had a lift they would get a 5/5 from me. I'd recommend this hotel to people.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Middle of winter, biting wind, freezing cold, heater not working, aircon zip, and a window that would not close, leaving a 3.5 inch gap for the wind to get in. No-one to ring to fix anything so I suffered until 3:00 am when I left and got a room at the holiday inn around the corner. Dropped my key back next morning and told them what happened..... not even an apology, let alone any thing else. Not even a thank you for the report of the maintenance needed... NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Your typical pub accommodation,an awesome place to stay.O'Malleys has character and is good value for money.This is my third visit to this hotel and won't be my last.Well located in the cross and easy walking distance to the train station.Can get abit noisy from the pub below but that's what you get from staying at a pub,not a big issue really.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruralman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Meeting up with a few female friends to see Simon Kennedy (aka Denis Crocker) at the Happy Endings Comedy Club, we gathered in O'Malley's Hotel, just across the road. The pub offers a selection of pizzas and Thai food, both provided by restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The young woman at the bar was really helpful, assuring us that the food would arrive in 15 minutes' time. We ordered Thai and for the $10 we each paid - all vegetarian, two different curries and a fried rice - we received generous servings of truly delicious dishes. With the cheeky little sauvignon blanc served by O'Malley's at $5 a glass, we figured that the venue was worth consideration as a very convenient stop-over en route to a good night out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at O'Malley's located in the King's Cross area of Sydney. Despite the obvious drawbacks I would strongly recommend O'Malley's to the budget conscious traveler. The Hotel O'Malley's is located above the lively Irish bar also named O'Malley's and consequently there was a great deal of noise into the wee hours of the morning. The King's Cross location certainly has more than its share of weirdos but that added to the charm. Huge plus was the subway station conveniently located near O'Malley's. During our stay the hot water heater was broken so the showers were ice cold but our rate was reduced as compensation. We took two side trips (Katoomba and Tasmania) and left the majority of our luggage which was stored safely for us. Our room key was available to us from the bar when we returned late from Tasmania. Major plus was the convenient subway location from which we could reach all areas of Sydney. No restaurants I would recommend nearby!

Room Tip: Strictly a budget hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPL33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

this looks like a friendly, cheeky chappy type of place, but if they deem you to have had one glass of wine more than sober then the door staff will take it upon themselves to slap women round the face. one realised this had gone too far but the others stocked up and settled in, unrepentant. classy and professional. friendly irish it is not.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank vicgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Small,older, in need of updating. We stayed in 2 differemt rooms for 5 days and the air comditioner didn't work in either of them. Because we had to open the windows, the noise from the pub was very noticable. (Pub is open until 5am!) We didn't notice any problems with Kings Cross location and the train was very convenient. Fast food, shops, free internet cafe all near by. Rooms were serviced every day and Jess and her staff were helpful and pleasant! Breakfast was minimal, no elevator, not for families.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shetangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
517 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 181 in Sydney
4,637 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#36 of 181 in Sydney
6,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Malley's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Malley's Hotel

Address: 228 William St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated, O’Malley’s Hotel is an oasis in the heart of Kings Cross – Australia’s world famous playground on the edge of Sydney’s central business district.Built in 1907, O’Malley’s accommodation has been faithfully restored in keeping with its boutique heritage creating a stylish ‘bed and breakfast’ retreat that will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o Malleys Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing