We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget accommodation, clean and great central location”
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #11 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great budget accommodation, clean and great central location”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Had a lovely stay. Room was small but had everything I needed including private ensuite. Friendly staff, clean, excellent location & great value for money. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Hi Laura,

We are so glad to hear you had a pleasant experience at Springfield Lodge. Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    371
    141
    33
    33
See reviews for
68
306
137
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My second visit to Springfield Lodge, this time by myself instead of with my beau. Stayed in a room close to the back of the lodge on the ground floor. MUCH quieter than having a window facing to the street. Convenient location and soooo affordable! I'll be back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painted_duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thanks for your comments. It's so important that our guests let us know when we are doing a good job to keep continually improving the Springfield Lodge experience.

We're very happy to hear your enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. We hope you picked up one of our 'Guests with Benefits' cards on your way out so you can get 5% off your next stay with us, as well as late check-out and free WiFi. Contact us if you didn't and we'll get one out to you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for two weeks. The room wasn't ready that we booked so they gave us weeks free Internet and upgraded us. There was maintenance going on at the lodge and three different mornings was hammering and drilling noises at 8 in the morning. But apart first that it was very good.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domohalligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for your comments.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed our fabulous customer service and the great location of Springfield Lodge.

At Sydney Lodges we have a very strict maintenance policy that work is only to start from 9:30am onwards. I have investigated the noise issues and it appears it may have been from the building next door. None the less, I apologise that we did not get 'on' this earlier and have it stopped.

We look forward to seeing you again at Springfield Lodge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here alone for 2 nights and it was a clean, snug room. The location was perfect (2 minute walk from King's Cross Station and a 15 minute walk to the city! Around the hotel were lounges, restaurants and clubs).

However: the bed was WAY too soft (I almost fell off while sleeping!) and the en-suite bathroom was extremely small.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here as I've seen way worse. Despite the small bathroom and soft bed, I would still recommend this hotel because its clean, the staff is friendly, the hotel cafe with a terrace is great and the location is practical.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We take it very seriously and continually use feedback to improve the customer experience at Springfield Lodge.

We're very happy to hear you enjoyed the convenient location, it really is a very central spot to stay while in Sydney. I'm also glad you enjoyed the vibrant local area, there are so many great spots to have a meal or a drink, it sounds like you found a few of them.

Beds in a hotel are really hard to get 'right', because of course everybody has a different preference of the firmness of a bed. I'm sorry you did not enjoy our Sealy beds, they are very high quality and seem to please most people. If you do choose to stay with us again, I might suggest a King Room as it has a king-size bed. While the firmness of the mattress won't change, the larger bed may be more suited to you. Springfield Lodge is a heritage style building, so yes the bathrooms are not as spacious as newer modern day developments. I hope it was still comfortable for you none the less.

Thank you again for your feedback and kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The king rooms are perfect, including a wonderful view.
Great stay and value for money - as always.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusybeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words about Springfield Lodge. We're glad you enjoyed our King Rooms, these are by far the best value rooms in the building and do provide plenty of space, as well as being very light and airy.

We look forward to seeing you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The hotel was beautiful and in such a great central location. Only a short walk from the train station which is handy when your carrying lugagge! Our room was exactly as described. Was a bit weird not having a view out the window but for a one night stopover didnt bother me at all. Great value for money, will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalikaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Hi Malika,

Thanks for your kind comments about Springfield Lodge. We're very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Even though you mentioned you didn't mind the lack of view, I can't help but mention to you that we do have King Rooms that look out the back of the building which have a view of a tree lined street and are very light and airy. If you do choose to stay with us again I would thoroughly recommend booking a King Room, they really are great value and will give you an outlook from the window.

Thank you again for your kind feedback. We hope to see you again some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Me and my bf stayed here for 4 nights during our trip to Sydney and the weather was just cooling and sunny. The hotel location may be along the red distrinct area whereby we were quite afraid at the first place but it was really save to walk along the area and no issues at all, and it's just 2 minutes walking distance to King Cross train station.

Hotel staff are quite helpful. I love the room and the king size bed & pillows were comfortable too. Washroom is clean but was abit small but i dont really mind as i'm not spending my time in it and shower is pretty strong. There are complimentary toiletries and towels are provided. Though located in the red light distrinct, you cant really hear any noise from the hotel and we had a good sleep every night. There are also decent restaurants nearby and a supermarket just in front of the hotel. It was overall a very good stay =)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melodyjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thanks for your comments.

It's always great to hear when a guest really enjoyed everything Springfield Lodge has to offer. At Sydney Lodges we are very proud of our high standard of customer service, we're glad you experienced this, it really sets us apart from other hotels in the area.

We look forward to seeing you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#44 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#45 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Property: Springfield Lodge
Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well. With modern facilities such as Free wireless broadband internet access. Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price. A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing