We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #9 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Hotel is located in a very good position to the Cross, with an excellent room, comfy. I had stayed there previously.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel is located in Kings Cross, this isn't the most family friendly place in Sydney, but I didn't care, I wasn't with a family! It's very much like Soho, seedy clubs, sex shops, amongst some nice bars etc..

The hotel was awesome, I arrived 4 hours before my check in was officially allowed but they were able to check me in to a room, after I had been on a very long flight! The bed was very very comfortable, nice big comfy pillows, friendly staff!

A very cute building just off of the main road, wasn't noisy!

Only negative was that I was on the 3rd floor, but you could only get a lift to the second floor and then you would have to use the stairs!

The irish receptionist was lovely!

Shower was amazing!

Room Tip: Walk to Oxford Street, it only takes 10 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stvhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

It'll be pretty difficult to find a place for under $100 in Sydney. Since this place was one of the least expensive in Sydney, expectations were pretty low. The place is very clean even though it's a bit tiny. But the 2 of us were comfortable. Service was okay and its location in Kings Cross is great as it is within walking distance of most of the sights.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at Springfield lodge as it was close to our family who we were visiting. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. We had a room on the second floor, it was at the end of the corridor so had minimum noise from people coming and going. The room was spotless, and the bedding could not be faulted. The outlook from the window was into the adjoinging buildings, but we were aware of that, being the cheapest room, and were happy we could at least open the window. The decore of the room was fresh and had polished floor boards, though not noise absorbing, looked good. The bathroom was small particularly the shower. The advantages of having china and cultlery in the room and use of the kitchen, would be a big plus for the budget traveller. Unfortunatly as we were staying at Christmas the cafe/bar out front were not open, but they are a very attractive addition.Overall I would recommend Springfield Lodge to any travellers to Sydney, great value.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room, and was placed at the end of the corridor, so not many people coming and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

It is hard to find a decent hotel in Sydney for less than AUD100 if you don't want to stay in a backpacker but Springfield lodge one of them. We were told that the rooms in the basement were noisy so we took one on the first floor. The room was quiet with tea/ coffee facilities and clean. It was also small (less than 10 square meters) and the carpet had stains but for the price we paid it was very good value for money.
There is a very nice cafe at the reception and the hotel is located less than 100m from Kings Cross station which is very convenient.

Room Tip: higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandine_Filip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Springfield was the first place we stayed when we arrived in Sydney at 7 am and thankfully it was a warm, welcoming place literally a five minute walk from Kings Cross station. The staff were friendly and accomodating especially when we wanted to leave our bags in their care for a couple of hours after check out. The twin ensuite we got on the first level was not big but comfortable and fairly clean. The toilet was small though and the toy-like sink was quite a challenge to use without splashing water all over the floor. The ground floor rooms open out to a long, main corridor though, and not everyone staying there realised how far their voices could carry. Not good for sleeping in a little later. All in all a good location in a fairly colourful neighbourhood. We never felt insecure although we got a lot of uncomfortable stares as 2 asian female travellers. But we got that throughout our trip in Australia, so it was not unusual.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank whisker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The rooms are not worth what you pay. The rooms were small and our bathroom had a fowl smell. The walls are paper thin and we got woken up every morning to the loud sound of rubbish trucks, cleaners and people moving around upstairs. The rooms are only "cleaned" once every second day and that consisted of the bed being tucked in. No rubbish was taken and the sheets weren't changed. You had to go to reception for new towels and toilet paper daily. The staff at reception were generally unhelpful and rude which was annoying as we're not from Australia. The location is perfect but your better off paying a bit more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alecsiacope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, and would recommend that others do not stay with us. Usually our reviews are so positive, I'm surprised and concerned to read your review and instructions to further travellers. We have only days ago recently implemented a more frequent room servicing schedule for Springfield Lodge. We've had a significant number of guest requests for this increased service so we are implementing this over the next week.

I do apologise if there was a maintenance issue with your en suite bathroom. I have passed these points on to the maintenance manager to address immediately.

We take customer service very seriously and pride ourselves on always putting the customer first. Unfortunately it seems we have fallen short of our usual standards with your experience, I do apologise for this and will be following the matter up with the hotel manager.

Thank you again for your comments. Unfortunately, because of the frequent intoxication of you and your guests we were unable to address these issues for you during your stay. We do hope you'll give us a chance to redeem ourselves on your next visit to Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#49 of 179 in Sydney
727 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 179 in Sydney
1,063 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 179 in Sydney
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
871 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £64 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well. With modern facilities such as Free wireless broadband internet access. Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price. A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing