We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What amazing staff - Springfield Lodge is a little Gem!”
Review of Springfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Springfield Lodge
Ranked #11 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What amazing staff - Springfield Lodge is a little Gem!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Bargain of the Century - booked this incredibly cheap accommodation in a very lively, but a little notorious area with some trepidation, due to being a family, with Pre-teen/ Teen kids! Area was an education for them but no need for any worries at all and have just spend the best 4 days in Sydney.
Two Rooms were beautifully clean - very well equipped and furnished - have stayed in 5 star accommodation before, that were left shamefully lacking by this little gem! Rooms on third floor - 311 faced the front and was a tad noisy at times, with passing 'human traffic' late at night ,being the heart of backpackers land but only to be expected in such a vibrant area, and wouldn't let this put anyone of using this accommodation!- Room 312, whilst a little smaller, was peaceful and perfect to chill after busy tourist days!
Have to say the staff are amazing, in particular the Manager, Marousa - nothing was too much trouble, gave guests time and information, specific to the guests needs - Marousa saved us a fortune with our travel plans and was kind enough to help us with departure arrangements - beyond the call of duty - Thank you so much!
Would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone wanting to visit Sydney for a budget trip.

Room Tip: Furnised to a high standard for cost - Front rooms are noisier from Petrol Restaurant and late night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahrah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    372
    141
    32
    33
See reviews for
68
307
137
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Springfield Lodge in August 2013 and found the hotel to be nicely located. The hotel staff were quite nice and helpful. I had a few issues with my room and the staff promptly responded to my concerns. Overall the hotel is a great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Precious01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is close to King's Cross station. The room is nice and comfortable. It's clean and spacious. The staff is very helpful. It's very comfortable and quiet even though the street is busy and noisy. There was a stain in my bedsheet though on the first room that I stayed in. It was just small but everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evi3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Hotels in Sydney City that are close to transport and good restaurants are usually very expensive, but this place is excellent value About 300 metres from the railway station, right in the heart of kings Cross with many restaurants and bars within a one or two minute walk.
It is a 1830 terrace building with high ornate ceilings, spotlessly clean and well managed. Not all rooms have windows being a terrace building, but we were lucky to score room 101 which is at the rear with two windows overlooking a laneway with trees. We have a king size bed, ensuite, wide screen TV , refrigerator and tea making facilities all for $88.00 per night.
there is no parking for the car, but we were directed to a parking station 5 minutes walk away which charges $30 per night, but you pay the hotel $20 on checkout and they issue you with a paid exit card for the car park which would have to be the cheapest secure parking in Sydney.
As we visit Sydney frequently, we are delighted to have discovered Springfield Lodge. Excellent value, we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room to get a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 983brianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, Lancashire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here in August 2013, The reception staff were all lovely and very pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the back of the hotel with a very large and comfortable bed. People complain about the size of the en suite why I don't know you have a shower and brush your teeth in their and its plenty big enough for that. The room was very clean and tidy and although it said there was no housekeeping we got clean towels the 3 days we were there and the bed was tidied and remade.
We were that happy with it we booked to go back again at the beginning of September for our 2 last nights in Sydney after doing some travelling around. Room again was on the back of the hotel with an even bigger more comfortable bed. Same en suite absolutely no problem. Staff still as friendly and helpful and pleasant. Extremely clean and tidy. We had a breakfast in the little cafe outside and that was really good. I would say maybe the Kings Cross area could put you off booking this hotel as it is a little rough, but honestly it was lovely its just off the main road, and to be fair we ate in the pub on the corner and never saw any bother whatsoever. Kings Cross is not as bad as its made out to be. A really enjoyable stay and if I ever get back to Sydney I would have no hesitation on re-booking with the Springfield Lodge, Thanks to the staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Only stayed at the back of the hotel both times room 301 and then 303 and both were good can't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Centralg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Staff were delightful and extremely helpful. Location is perfect. Room was small, but that's what I paid for. I did however get bed bug bites on my stomach and shoulder. Ew. Was disappointed due to that, which is a shame because everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skatec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Springfield Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Springfield Lodge.

We're surprised to see your comments about an issue you had with your room. The reason for our delay in reply is that we wanted to have the room professionally checked.

As a precaution we shut the room down after seeing your review, which was the first we heard of this issue, and have just received a report back from the company saying that the room is clean and has no bug issue whatsoever.

We're very sorry that you have experienced some bites however from this report it appears that there must have just been a mosquito in the room or something of the like.

Please contact us again should you have any further concerns you would like to discuss with us. However, we would like to take this opportunity to advise you and all future guests that no bed bugs were found anywhere in our property after a thorough check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights, picked up room key card ourselves because of late check-in, a bit surprised with the small room size (king room), howerver it was on special discount (with no housekeeping during stay), plus fridge and ensuite, near Kings Cross Station, guest kitchen and laundry quite popular, over all good value for short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
1,770 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
4,085 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 178 in Sydney
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 178 in Sydney
2,811 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
825 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 61 in Sydney
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Lodge

Property: Springfield Lodge
Address: 9 Springfield Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Springfield Lodge, a unique and affordable hotel in the trendy, chic area of Potts Point in Sydney. The lodge is just 1 train stop from major Sydney attractions, including stunning Sydney Harbour. Bondi Beach is easy to get to on public transport as well. With modern facilities such as Free wireless broadband internet access. Springfield Lodge is fast becoming one of Sydney’s favourite, more affordable hotels, rivalled by no other hotel on value and price. A unique designer cafe welcomes you on entry to the hotel lobby, serving delicious breakfast and lunch daily. Walk the trendy alleyways, shop in the boutique clothing stores, or spend the day at the beach. The streets surrounding Springfield Lodge are buzzing with cafes, restaurants, bistros and fabulous night spots. Experience the real Sydney, at Springfield Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Springfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing