We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #24 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nice budget accomodation”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Macleay Lodge was a nice budget stay for the beginning and end of our Australian trip. We stayed four nights total. Rooms are a bit small, but having a sink and basic kitchen items in your room is nice. Bathrooms are at the ends of the halls. Some are bigger than others, so don't be afraid to wander. Everything was always clean, staff was friendly. One of the receptionists made us feel like old friends in welcoming us back the second time. They were accommodating in watching our luggage then moving it to our room when it was ready because we arrived well before check-in time. The rooms are a bit dark with high ceilings. The balcony rooms are nice, but some are quite a hike up creaky stairs. The neighborhood is nice. Lots of little shops and cafes nearby as well as a grocery store, good for getting your own breakfast. Just a few blocks from Kings Cross for seedy entertainment and food. It is a bit further to the harbor area. You could take the train from Kings Cross as well. If you will be out sightseeing most of the time, then this is a fine place. Wifi would be nice, but for what you do get, compared to others closer to downtown, it is a great bargain.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    114
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
21
90
65
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Considering what you get for the price elsewhere, this place is very good. The double rooms are big and clean, with handy facilities like a fridge, sink, microwave, toaster, plates and eating implements. The bathroom on our floor was a little pokey, but you could tell they cleaned it thoroughly every day (some patrons might not be as considerate as others, but you cant blame the hotel for this).
The staff were nice enough and answered all our questions.
Good location, fairly easy walk to CBD, gardens, waterfront, kings cross etc and good transport links to central station without being right in the middle of everything with all the noise and associated busyness.
Only gripes I have were no Wifi and no luggage storage or security.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gimlibambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

It is my 1st time travel Australia with my husband and almost info comes from webpage. What I know about Sydney and hotel info, were comes from internet. We arrive Sydney and meet my friend. I'm inform my friend that I stay at King Cross, suddenly my friend was silence a while and said that place is..... OMG I'm start worry. However, when I walk along after the King Cross train station, I found that the place actually not as bad as what I'm presume. Once we step on the Macleay Lodge hotel, there is clean and tidy. Room is good condition and cheap. It is about 5 minutes away from train station and around with convenience store. Hotel also provide travel info.at lobby, little pantry with mirco wave, header some more. Hotel also provide transport to airport which also gave us much convenience. Thanks your service and nice receptionist.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel reception, staff and the cleaners were just magnificent. They were always so friendly and helpful. This hotel is budget and you get what you pay for. The rooms are well kept and very clean. The same goes for the shared bathrooms. Position wise, the hotel is located well. A very short walk to woolworths shoping, close to the action at Kings Cross, a bus service to the city and Central Station just 20 metres away and about 500 metres to the rail station. The room I stayed in was quiet and my only complaint was the poor lighting in my room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamesy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I stayed on the top floor - I think room 24 in a premium double and it was old but nicely set up. The bathroom was right next door and always available when I needed it - not sure if that would be the case in busy times. I was not in the room for long but it's a great location in Macleay St with cool cafes nearby. Close walk to Kings Cross Station and even better would be to walk down Challis Ave to the steps which take you through Woolloomooloo and Botanic gardens into the city. Great value deal and thanks to Sydney Lodges - I have stayed in 3 of your properties now - and they make inner city Sydney accommodation affordable which is no mean feat.

Room Tip: Felt good to be on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uneeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Clean and comfortable, room quite small but kitchenette and equipment ok, would use again.
both receptionist we dealt with very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDS551706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

we stayed in the double bedroom for 4 nites here. the room and bed are clean. Towels provided. Heater also provided since our room is very cold. The lighting is too dim. Small kitchenette and microwave, toaster, kettle and cups, bowl, plate are a plus. Bathroom is small. Would like to suggest the owner to provide shower accessories for guest to put shampoo and bath gel.

Room Tip: rooms at downstairs are very good.. no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherW0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Maisonette
#7 of 61 in Sydney
469 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#11 of 61 in Sydney
715 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 61 in Sydney
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh Hotel
#13 of 61 in Sydney
433 reviews
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#10 of 61 in Sydney
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Property: Macleay Lodge Sydney
Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing