We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and friendly low cost place without praise or blame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #24 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central and friendly low cost place without praise or blame”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Macleay Lodge is a good solution if you want to spend a few nights in Sydney on a budget without going to a noisy and overcrowded hostel.

The lodge is in a good position, 10 minutes walking to King's Cross underground station and a bit more to the Royal Botanic Gardens. Don't expect too much here: the rooms are not cleaned, the towels not changed and not even the rubbish baskets emptied, but you will always find the shared toilets and showers in good and clean conditions.

Our room was a bit on the old side and didn't have much storage space with no cupboards, no shelves, 5 hangers in total and just a bedside stool. A couple of real bedside tables, more hangers and an extra lampshade would help in storing your stuff and clothes making the room more comfy, but one can survive without them.

For those who like to purchase their own meals out and heat them in the hotel, the room had handy stuff like a microwave, a built-in sink, a little dining table and two chairs. Our window faced a dark but quiet courtyard. The curtains could have been better.

The staff here was nice and friendly with us and there was always someone sitting at the reception ready to help the guests. The Macleay Lodge is an average accommodation which gives you a good place to sleep as long as you don't have too much expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay at Macleay Lodge and found the rooms comfortable, clean and conveniently located in Sydney. Macleay Lodge is one of our more affordable lodges in Potts Point, offering very minimal extras and services to keep the room rates as low as possible for those travelling on a budget. In saying that, we do have other properties such as Springfield Lodge or The Maisonette Hotel nearby that are only a small amount more each night but offer the extras such as more frequent housekeeping and larger rooms with more features.

We thank you for making the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor, guest feedback is very important to us and we have passed your comments and suggestions on to the management team.

Thank you again for staying with Sydney Lodges, we hope to see you again at one of our properties soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    113
    67
    18
    13
See reviews for
21
90
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The fancy name 'Double Premium' does not do justice to its small size. Nonetheless, the room heats up well in winter and has a small round table by the large window looking into the central void of the building - cozy enough for a couple to have a meal.

There's a microwave in the room but I did not use it. First hotel room with a sink built in by the bed in my experience. The shared toilet facility is that of a high end shopping mall. Towels are changeable daily but housekeeping is nonexistent. Reception staff are decently friendly and helpful.

Location is a plus especially for those who like to walk through the 'for adults only' part of town to get to Kings Cross Station - not that this place is actually seedy anyway. On the contrary, things are pretty well kept here and all the 'intriguing' sex related stuff are not obvious to the passer-by.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatWalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges.

We're happy to hear you found Macleay Lodge to be comfortable and convenient. The rooms at Macleay Lodge do have a small kitchenette with a sink in the room so that preparing food is a little easier than in a normal hotel room with no kitchenette. Macleay Lodge is at the more affordable end of the Sydney Lodges scale, so extras like daily housekeeping and 24 hour reception are reduced down at this property so at to keep the room rate as low as possible.

I notice that you have also reviewed The Bayswater Sydney, we're happy you got to experience two of the Sydney Lodges in Kings Cross on your visit.

Thank you again for staying with Sydney Lodges, I do hope you received a 'Guests with Benefits' card on your departure so that you can book direct with us next time to receive some great benefits such as late check-out and free WiFi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warragul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Nice enough hotel, great location, but very noisy inconsiderate fellow hotel patrons! Banging around & loud chatting at midnight! Helpful staff, very near Woolies & other restaurants.. Near Kings Cross.. Easy walk to botanic gardens, will stay again but bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassy6727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor. We're always interested to hear what guests thought of Macleay Lodge, it helps us to continually improve the Macleay Lodge experience for future travellers.

I'm sorry to hear you experienced some disruptive noise from other guests at the time that you stayed with us. We always recommend contacting reception or the night manager if noise levels are ever unacceptable so that we can do all in our power to attempt to reduce or stop it. I do hope this did not disrupt your stay too much.

It's great that you found the location convenient and the rooms comfortable.

Thank you again for leaving your comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I was in Sydney for a few days - alone and with no desire for another hostel experience. I managed to get a single room with sink, microwave, fridge, toaster and tv for $55 a night.

The room was a pretty good size and pretty basic but clean. Carpets are pretty new but building isn't. Shared bathrooms are pretty small but also clean.

If you just want somewhere to sleep and don't care about a view or impressing a girl then Macleay Lodge will do the trick for a few days

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TGMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback and comments on Tripadavisor.

We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to see you found Macleay Lodge good value, one of the Sydney Lodges brand promises.

We hope to see you again someday soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This place is riddled with damp, not very clean and cochcroach invested. Whilst checking in we were asked to pay up front which i find unusual so i asked to see our room before we paid. It was on the ground floor, dark, dingy and smelt of damp covered up with alot of airfreshner. It wasnt very clean either. We asked for an alternative room on the first floor and this was the same. This was our first stop in Australia and was very dissappointing. Ive stayed in hostels that are a fraction of the price with much higher levels of cleanliness. When my husband went to the toilet he found he had the company of a couple large cochcroaches. Thats we decided not to stay. The member of staff on the reception was extremly unhelpful and just shrugged his shoulders when we complainded of the damp and the cochcroaches. What a waste of our first day in sydney!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jocelyndaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for leaving your comments.

We're very concerned to hear that you had such a horrific experience on your first day in Sydney. At Macleay Lodge we don't hold money off your credit card like most hotels do, so we take payment up front instead. Other hotels will secure the payment by holding money from your credit card while you stay, which sometimes takes weeks to return to your card. This system is called a 'pre-auth' system where they pre-authorise your card for the total accommodation amount at check-in. We find this option not ideal because of the time it takes for the money to return to the card if you choose to pay with another card on your departure. I'm sorry if you would have preferred this system to the simple pay on arrival system we have in place.

We take cleanliness and hygiene very seriously at all Sydney Lodges properties. We have very high standards of housekeeping which are managed vigilantly. I'm sorry if we have fallen short on your experience at Macleay Lodge. We would definitely be interested in hearing more detail from you with regards to how you found the room unclean.

With regards to the cockroaches, I apologise immensely for this. Cockroaches in Australia actually don't mean that a property is necessarily unclean, especially if they were larger. Australia has a lot more bugs than other continents and this unfortunately causes some misconceptions when they appear in buildings with guests from overseas (especially if it's been raining which can worsen the problem at times). While it is very unfortunate that you came across a cockroach, which might be something you assimilate with uncleanliness in other countries, the fact is that in Australia they are a fact of life. I'm sorry this disturbed you as much as it did, the building is most certainly not infested on any level.

Thank you again for leaving your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel is bare bones and a little shabby, but it's a good deal if you're on a budget in the most expensive city I've ever been to. The staff were friendly and helpful (especially the lady who works on Tuesday mornings), the bed was fine (ask for extra pillows if you need them), the bathrooms were clean and the in-room mini-kitchen was convenient, especially since there's a full-size grocery store a block south. The Potts Point neighborhood is quiet and cute, although walking through seedy King's Cross to get to the closest train station wasn't always pleasant.

Temperature was our only real complaint. We stayed here in winter, and the bathrooms were quite cold, with unreliable hot water. I haven't been to Sydney in the summer, but I imagine this hotel might get pretty hot in January, since the only apparent cooling mechanism is a ceiling fan.

We got past it over the course of our four nights at the lodge, but we initially considered changing hotels, as our initial impression was that this might be a place you'd wind up in if you were, shall we say, down on your luck. The signs on the back of the room door and in the bathrooms that referred to guests as "tenants" and advised that clean linen would be distributed only upon payment of weekly "rent" were partly responsible for this feeling, and the dim fluorescent lighting and air-shaft window view did little to assuage it. However, the staff treated us as hotel guests and the lobby is full of tourism brochures. I got the feeling the Macleay Lodge was trying to shift its identity from sad-sack SRO to bargain tourist hotel, but it's not all the way there yet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front-- I think only those have a view that isn't depressing. Don't wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerthaNougat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We think it's always best for future guests to hear from previous guests to get the best idea of where they want to stay.

We're happy to hear you found the lodge great value and location convenient. I have passed your comments regarding the hot water on to the maintenance manager to have this looked at, thank you for letting us know. I apologise for this.

The sign on the back of your door is a very old sign that has unfortunately not been removed years ago when Macleay Lodge started operating as a budget hotel. I apologise for this and have passed your comments about this on to the hotel manager to have these signs removed. Thank you for letting us know about this.

Thank you kindly for providing your feedback here on Tripadvisor, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Travelled to Sydney for work and wanted a budget hotel that could provide a "home-like" environment for a week long stay. The hotel was very clean and the bathrooms sparkling, newly refurbished and consistently maintained during my stay. My room was a single and it was basic and undecorated but it contained a fridge and microwave and tv. The only real issue was the noise made late at night by other patrons and it was only on a Saturday night. Excellent for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge. It's great to hear you found the rooms comfortable with all the amenities and facilities you required for your weekend stay.

I apologise for the noise on Saturday night. As you can understand, it's very difficult for us to keep the noise from other guests to a minimum when there is a situation. Had this been an ongoing issue through the night of course you could have contacted the night manager to investigate. I do hope the noise didn't keep you up for long.

Thank you again for leaving your comments. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 179 in Sydney
834 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 59 in Sydney
477 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 59 in Sydney
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Springfield Lodge
#11 of 59 in Sydney
722 reviews
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#13 of 59 in Sydney
439 reviews
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Property: Macleay Lodge Sydney
Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing