We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #18 of 58 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2013

It worth due to the price, the services and location! Looks much more like a hotel! The rooms have nice facities and the neighbouhood around is amazing, just few blocks from the lovely Elizabeth Bay. It is also close to the downtown and few meters away from the tour bus stop.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claudiolysardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge. Thank you for booking directly with us on our own Sydney Lodges website as well!

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the lodge comfortable and conveniently located.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our travel agents booked us in at this hotel/apartment block . We were very happy with it. room was clean and ok . not fantastic luxury but everthing you needed including the very handy sink and fridge so that if you wanted to bring a takeaway back or even cook on the little hob you could do. We didnt but did make teas coffees etc and bought fresh milk.
The view from the window of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge was wonderful.
BUT the staff were the best thing - they were so helpful and polite and friendly. Couldn't do enough to help and thats the best thing and made the short two night stay before we joined a cruise ship really special - well done guys, It was a great place to get over jet lag after flying 26 hours non stop and it was a great base to explore Sydney from.
Kings Cross station just a few hundred yards walk .

The room had air con - there was a lift - and an ensuite bathroom - bed was really comfortable sheets and towels clean and fresh. Plenty of tourism booklets and free wi fi down in the lobby. It was a great base to explore from. Loads of places to eat or drink right on the doorstep- a small supermarket just opposite. Great Deli just up the road did superb quiches which we took to the Blue Mountains with us on the train. Great steak at the bar opposite the waterfall in the square at potts point but sorry can't remember the name.

Room Tip: ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge.

It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After looking high and low for affordable accommodation in Sydney, we finally settled for Macleay Lodge.

It looked fine from photos but I was a little apprehensive about how good it would really be. Turns out I neednt have worried - it was a lovely budget hotel.

The receptionist was very friendly, checked us in promptly and was helpful with our questions about how to get to certain places.

It was a bit of a walk to our room - the building is old and maze like but I don't mind that. The building doesn't feel shabby at all.

The room was compact but cosy, with sink, fridge, microwave, TV and wardrobe. Bed was comfy, TV was handy and the sink and fridge allowed us to have a simple breakfast in the room to save money. Only thing I'd say is the fridge feels slightly precarious on the small stool...though it stayed put!

Bathroom was always very clean and obviously attended to throughout the day. From experiancing shared bathrooms in hostels, waiting is usually the main problem but with one bathroom between 4 rooms, I can honestly say I never had to wait once.

WiFi was a welcome bonus, not too expensive for Australia, though I do hope one day hotels in general will embrace free wifi - it's not a luxury item anymore.

Location was good, very near a supermarket and 5 minutes walk from KIngs Cross station, and the walk in the other direction to Circular Quay via the botanic gardens was a very scenic one.

Would highly recommend Macleay Lodge for a budget option in Sydney. They seem to know how to make pleasent budget rooms without too much compromise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghughes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge.

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed at the Macleay Lodge for 3 nights in a single room and it's a great price for what you get. It's certainly better than staying at a dirty hostel. Overall the place was pretty quiet, I didn't feel like I was bumping into guests constantly going in and out. As an ex Sydneysider, I don't come back for the luxuries of a full service room - so this was just fine. The shared bathrooms are not an issue (well maintained) and you just simply walk up a floor or two to use another if yours is occupied.

I'm pretty warm blooded, and despite a fast ceiling fan, it can be a little uncomfortable for me especially in the humid weather - it's something I expected, so not a big deal but if you're too precious and need AC then don't be an idiot and book at Macleay lodge later to complain. I'll definitely be booking the lodge again for my trips in cooler months. Though speaking just personally, in the hotter parts of summer I'd just pay more elsewhere (or one of the other lodges) for AC.

The reception staff were efficient and helpful. I only thing I noticed when I was checking in was there was a sign listing a rule that stated 'no visitors' - I was not aware of this before I booked, not that it was an issue for me - I'm just not aware how heavily this is policed. I interpret that it's to deter any disruptive guests?

Overall, a clean well priced lodge that had a relaxed vibe about it - but in the thick of the action in Potts Point. I've rated it 'average' on Tripadvisor because it's no-frills and meets those expectations exactly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieThunderThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge.

Thank you for leaving such a detailed account of your stay. We're always very appreciative of guests taking the time to leave their comments, it is extremely helpful to the hotel as well as future travellers, so indeed, thank you.

You're absolutely right, if no air-con is not for you, I would definitely recommend booking nearby at Springfield Lodge. However, for guests after the lowest possible rates, Macleay Lodge is a fantastic option.

Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is located right near public transport and is right near woolworths and a bunch of cafes.
Although there is no 'comforts' in this hotel - aka air conditioning, private bathroom or lift - the care and service provided by the staff makes up for the lack of these luxuries.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge and thanks for booking directly with us through our Sydney Lodges website, by far the easiest way to book.

We're so pleased you experienced our outstanding customer service that you'll always find throughout the Sydney Lodges. Being a smaller group of lodges, what sets us apart from bigger hotels is the opportunity to really look after each and every guest on a person level. It's great to hear you enjoyed this.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

No AC, no breakfast, no private bathroom. On normal weather conditions the ceiling fan is just OK. There are many cheap places to grab a bite along Kings Cross. Fridge and microwave oven in the room come in handy as you can buy your food at a supermarket nearby. I shared bathroom with 3 other rooms and never had to wait. Overall great location, 5 minute walk to train station, a few steps to bus to Circular Quay and 30 minutes walk to Opera House.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank veritosito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge, and we're thankful you booked direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Macleay Lodge is certainly one of the most affordable lodges in the Sydney Lodges group, so to keep the rates as low as possible, we keep the overheads as low as possible so at this specific lodge there is no air-conditioning or cable television. There are so many great places for breakfast around that we don't feel that we could compete with the talented pastry chefs of Potts Point ;)

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Guest feedback is so important to us and future travellers, we appreciate you making the effort to leave your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Set just a couple of streets from the backpackers district of Potts Point, Macleay Lodge is a step up in quality, meaning it's cleaner and quieter than you find in an average hostel. It's obviously a shabby old building that the owners have tried to spruce up with newer furniture and artwork, so the rooms are a little tired but actually pretty roomy and neat for the price you're paying.
The bathrooms are tiny but clean and modern, and always seemed to be vacant. In our case a bathroom was two metres from our room, so 'sharing' really wasn't a bother at all.
The mini kitcheonette was very much appreciated. As was the location - you're metres from a Woolworths, and a short pleasant walk to the Botanical Gardens. Potts Point itself is very charming and the perfect suburb to stay in whilst in Sydney, although I'd advice visitors to be more cautious when walking through Kings Cross at night (which we found absolutely horrendous whilst passing through on a Saturday night. Avoid! Avoid!).

The only real negative was that our room was very very dark, and also very humid, even in the cooler weather. We couldnt open our window as the occupants of the room facing ours were very noisy, and the ceiling fan didn't help much. Would hate to have stayed here on a hot night.

All in all, Macleay Lodge isn't glamorous, but then we had no complaints either, and will probably stay here again due to the price and location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0llybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at Macleay Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website!

We're glad to hear you found Macleay Lodge comfortable and conveniently located. We have only 27 rooms and many shared bathrooms throughout, so you'll always find that you're never far from a shared bathroom, unlike the bigger hostels around the corner.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Guest feedback is so important to us and future travellers, we appreciate you making the effort to leave your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 181 in Sydney
891 reviews
Hotel Challis
#55 of 181 in Sydney
791 reviews
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Springfield Lodge
#9 of 58 in Sydney
745 reviews
The Maisonette
#4 of 58 in Sydney
536 reviews
Surry Hills
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#22 of 58 in Sydney
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £55 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing