We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #22 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We chose this hotel because it was such a good deal in Sydney. After our first night stay we booked another night for later in our trip. The room and shared bathroom were both clean. We rarely saw anyone else who was staying there and never had to wait to use the shared bathroom. There was a grocer only a block or so away where we were able to get food to cook in the small kitchenette.

The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. They took care of getting us a shuttle to the airport for our departure. (A word of advice... it was not much more for a taxi which is much less stressful given that you never know how many more people the shuttle needs to pick up.)

On arrival we took the train to King's Cross and walked the short distance to the property. That area is full of bars and other adult entertainment, but I did not feel unsafe walking there. the neighborhood near the actual property was a bit classier with small shops, restaurants and coffee houses.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Macleay Lodge Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Small but nice room with small sink and fridge. Clean shared bathroom.
Location is few minutes walk from Kings Cross subway.
No free internet!
Macleay itself is a nice street and there are restaurants as well as a supermarket nearby; Kings Cross area does not seem to be as nice nor very safe at night...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmopolitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found this hotel was a good deal for the price in Sydney .The room was small but had a kitchenette ( sort of ) and the bed was very comfortable. The linen was clean but the room was a little on the grubby side. The carpet was wet in places where it had been very recently washed and had some nasty stains. The toilets were one per floor and as we were next door to it quite handy. However the traffic to the toilet was heavy and the door seemed to bang all night. The location is great some nice cafes near by and a good supermarket. There is a train station with in a short walk but if you have a car you will need to add about $20 to park per day. You can walk into the city but its a long hike. Would we go back? Probably not. There are some other options very near by and the parking for us would swing it in their favour.

Room Tip: We had a back room which probably reduced the outside noise a little.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judit731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great location, clean, and friendly staff. The was 1 toilet and shower per floor but this was enough. We never had to wait to use it. Great location. 5 mins walk from kings cross train station and 15 mins walk to Sydney opera house. Plenty of restaurants to choose from within 2 mins walk. We will definitely stay here when we're back in Sydney!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We only stayed one night in this hotel since there was a mix up with our RES at the Challis Lodge around the corner. They sent us here for the first night and we got a very small room ( probably their last one ) with a bathroom accessible via the balcony? It was OK though. A kitchenett is also squeezed into the room. It was clean and the staff was VERY helpful and well informed about the whole area and city. You are in the middle of elegant Potts Point and close to the night life of Kings Cross. Nice boutiques, good restaurants but also cheap eats on the Backpacker's street around the corner, a real good location to get everywhere by walking as well as Transportation. Do not miss close by "Elizabeth House", a period home with garden and views of the Sea............We did move in the end drawn to the Voctorian House of Challis Lodge but next time we will come back here.

Room Tip: rooms to the back are quieter, no lift for higher floors
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1aprilfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for three nights and regardind that it's a Lodge (meaning: shared bathroom/toilet and no daily cleaning) it was worth the price, prices in Sydney are crazy! Area is good, felt safe walking in the dark but avoided to walk through King's Cross, walked through the Botanical Gardnes during the night and never felt unsafe, at the end you have to climb several stairs (where there's always people jogging any time of the day). The couple who run the place (we only met her in person) is really nice, she was very helpful with everything and always friendly. Our room had a great patio but was a bit noisy during the night as on the main street. The area is called Potts Point.

Room Tip: rooms on street have nice patio but are a little bit noisy though
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psymaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Nice place to rest. Rooms were okay. Shared toilets were clean. Provided adequate necessities such as blankets for the night. However, as you would imagine on a cold winter night in Sydney, there isn't any heater in the room, my gf was pretty much freezing. Had to put on extra clothing on top of the blanket. Well if you come from the UK, its probably another summer day so it wouldn't bother you that much. But if you are from somewhere warmer, it's indeed cold.

Location wise, can't be any more fantastic. Woolsworth is just 2 mins walk away. Lots of nice restaurants and cafes and you will be spoilt for choice. Near to the King's Cross station and its a safe neighbourhood.

Overall, value for money for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darius J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 178 in Sydney
1,036 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#124 of 178 in Sydney
103 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#9 of 57 in Sydney
731 reviews
The Maisonette
#4 of 57 in Sydney
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £52 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing