We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Ranked #23 of 59 Sydney B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and easy”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a budget friendly hotel. The rooms are small, you share bathroom with the rest of the floor and the wifi is not included. The rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis.

However, the price is reasonable and the location is great. You walk to the opera house in 20 minutes, and the only time we had to take the bus was when we went to Bondi beach. The receptionist, Benoit, was very friendly and answered all our questions with a huge amount of patience.

Our room was only 20 centimetres away from the bathroom and we never met anyone or had to stand in line. It really did not feel very different from having our own.

We would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise123333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    114
    68
    18
    13
See reviews for
22
90
65
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location, pleasant walk across botanic gardens to Harbour & tourist attractions. Bus stop and supermarket opposite, train station nearby.
Clean & comfortable budget hotel with kitchenette for self catering.
Absolutely the best thing about this hotel is the super helpful staff who were always ready and happy to give advice, directions, money saving tips etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It is located in Potts Point, about 5-7 minutes of walking to King Cross station. During weekend nights, this place is a bit noisy because there are many bikers and other people hanging around there. We stayed in a room with shared toilet. The first few days, the toilet was clean, but there was one night (I think it was St. Patrick's day), the people in the next door were youngsters, and they didn't use the toilet properly. The toilet bowl was left dirty with faeces, soaps were everywhere, and I smelt urine in it. Urgh. Other than that, this lodge is near to a mini market, easy to buy food and drinks. There are a few halal restaurants near the lodge, easy for Muslims to find food. The receptionist was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norlysoleha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review us.

We're sorry to hear about the disturbances and annoyance that came from other guests. We always recommend contacting reception if you ever have problems with people in the hotel so that we can try and rectify the problem as quick as possible.

We hope to see you again in the near future at this, or any other Sydney Lodges property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The room (#25) did not have enough light (with electric lights on) to read when the Sun was in full blast outside. You can't breath properly and sweat profusely with two fans are on when outside temperature was merely around 25 degree centigrade. There is no service at all. One toilet was to be shared in the whole floor - 6-7 rooms - more than 15 people. I would like to take the blame on myself as I allowed myself to get fooled by the website Hotelclub.com. I failed to detect all the deficiencies white booking.

Room Tip: Please find any other place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at Macleay Lodge Sydney, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

Oh dear, it sounds like we did not meet your expectations at all. We're terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to be very honest and open about Macleay Lodge being a budget accommodation lodge with facilities like shared bathrooms to keep our rates as low as possible. Sorry this did not sit well with what you were expecting.

We hope you will give another of Sydney Lodges a go some time, that may be more suitable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a good place to stay, location is perfect for getting around while on holiday. A nice walk through the Botanical Gardens right to the Opera House. There are good restaurants and cafes in the area. its clean and the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Great for the money.

Room Tip: Helpful Hint: Make sure you get a room with a queen size bed, the single bed is a little tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PreSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

we stayed in room 14, we had a balcony and our own toilet/shower. room had a tv, sink, microwave, fridge freezer, kettle, double bed, wardrobe, balcony table and toiletries provided including towels. room needs a lick of paint and maybe a little upgrading but overall we were very happy with the room and the bed was very comfortable. location wise it's about a 5 minute walk to kings cross station (change at town hall for a train to circular quay where the bridge and opera house are)

the woman on the reception was very helpful. the hotel also has plenty of guides/some discount vouchers available.

30 second walk to the supermarket.

would stay here again

Room Tip: room 14 has it's own toilet/shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_lad_1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I enjoyed enjoyed my stay here. We had a private room which was very well equipped, we had a fridge, sink, microwave, tv etc. Its in a great location, you can walk everywhere from here. The area of kings cross itself can be a bit rough, but the hostel itself was away from the dodgy area. It was definitely worth the money we paid. The staff were really helpful and kind, which is always appreciated! The only reasons we haven't given this full marks is that the room was boiling hot at night and the ceiling fan just wasn't enough to cool it down to a sleepable temperature. Also the bathrooms are in short supply and could do with a more regular cleaning and topping up with paper etc. but apart from that, a great stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rezholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Maisonette
#5 of 59 in Sydney
486 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 59 in Sydney
682 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#11 of 59 in Sydney
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#13 of 59 in Sydney
449 reviews
City West
Dunkirk Hotel
Dunkirk Hotel
#30 of 59 in Sydney
55 reviews
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Lodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Lodge Sydney

Property: Macleay Lodge Sydney
Address: 71 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Macleay Lodge Sydney 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macleay Lodge is a clean and comfortable guest house in Potts Point, Sydney. The property is well known for its clean and comfortable rooms for great value rates. Macleay Lodge is located on Macleay Street in cosmopolitan Potts Point it is the perfect budget hotel from which to enjoy the exciting and vibrant city of Sydney. With cafes, restaurants and boutique stores filling the sidewalk, there could not be a more exciting and unique place to spend your time while visiting Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macleay Lodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Lodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Macleay Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing