We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macleay Lodge Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeVere Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gazebo Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kingsview(Sydney)
View Hotel
Highfield Private Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
35
117
70
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
117
70
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroompotts pointkings crossno liftmacleay stgreat locationtrain stationquiet at nightbondi beachopera houseshort walkwould stay againmicrowavesinksupermarkettvbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2011

quite a distance to walk from the train station, no lift, shared bathroom with poor ceiling fan, but is close to supermarket, service was friendly and rooms were clean

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason504286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Initially we were taken aback by how tiny the room was and were hoping there were a little more kitchen/cooking facilities. But after a few days we began to love the cosyness. The shared bathroom was very clean and always unoccupied when needed. The room was good, the bed was extremely comfy. We were deeper inside and hence didnt experience any problems with street noise and slept like babies every night. The location is fantastic. Macleay street is lovely, full of nice little shops, cafes and restaurants. a 5-10 walk around the area lead to a beautiful marina. The room has a nice little Tv, toaster and electric kettle. The room was quite clean when we got there. A laundromat was next door and a grocery store just down the road. The only negative point was walking through the kings cross red light area on the way to and from the station. Overall, for the price and the period of stay (new years) i think it was worthwhile.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanechoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

My husband and I were in Sydney for 5 days because we got tickets to the Oprah show on short notice and needed a hotel for less than $100 a night. I was not apprehensive about the shared bathroom because we've done it before, I just wanted the hotel to be nice and convenient. The hotel is in a upscale neighborhood very convenient to getting around Sydney. We had a balcony room that had a double bed and a twin bed. Having a kitchenette was great with microwave, small frig , sink, coffee-maker, toaster, dishes and silverware. There is also a dining table with 2 chairs. The balcony was nice with a table and 2 chairs so you can sit outside and relax. The ceiling fan was adequate and there is a nice HD tv with cable. The shared bathroom was right outside our door. I took sanitary wipes to wipe the toilet and faucets down but basically the bathroom was always clean. The staff, especially Tracy, was friendly and very helpful. There is no daily room service but if you ask for towels, you get new ones. There is a very good grocery store half a block away as well as a laundry mat and internet service 2 doors down with reasonable rates and a convenience store on the corner. My husband and I were very pleased with everything except for the 3 story walk up the stairs (no elevator) and all balcony rooms are on that floor. The metro is a 5 minute walk away and the bus picks up 3 doors down. There is also airport shuttle service for $12 a person.
Getting there: If you come by train, you come out at the Kings Cross station which used to be the "red light" district. It is extremely diverse now with some "red light" stuff still there but mostly more shops, restaurants, discos, and small businesses. Go 2 blocks and turn the corner and the neighborhood changes drastically so that by the time you get to the hotel it is very quiet and genteel. The bus stops are also on that block. Lots of restaurants to choose from within walking distance but the restaurants are expensive (at least for us!) so having the kitchenette and grocery store so close was great! Prices in the grocery store for most things were the same as in the US. There are lots of restaurants, coffee shops and fast food places in Potts Point where the hotel is located. We only ate out once at a Thai restaurant 4 blocks away near the fountain on Darlinghurst Rd. Really good, fresh food. We found a food court in a shopping mall downtown and also another food court in the Darling Harbor mall where the food choices were very varied and prices were not so expensive. Sydney has a weekly bus, train and ferry pass that is $41 a person and we used that to get everywhere. The ferry goes to many attractions and we rode almost every line just to see where they went...very fun! If you like to walk, you can walk in about 20 minutes from the hotel to the Botanical gardens and then next door is the Sydney Opera house which then puts you at Circular Quay where the ferries, buses and trains all meet up and next to that is The Rocks neighborhood and also downtown with all its attractions. We took the bus to Bondi beach, which was really easy because the bus stop is across the street. It’s not hard to save money in Sydney if you pay attention, ask questions and be adventurous. There is another hotel in the lodge chain that has ensuite bathrooms that we might try next time but if that one is booked again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The rooms are not cleaned during the stay. When I removed some furniture I saw a lot of dirt. Not so clean.

Also very noisy. People are walking around which makes a lot of noise. I therefore slept with earplugs.

if you just need a place for less money its a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delta909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This place offers confort beetween a backpacker and an average hotel ....
You have a fridge and a microwave .
You share the bathroom ...
Worth the price .
Not far from the city : you can walk through a shortcut .
Important thing to know : no staff after 8 p.m

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews