We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SPECTACULAR ‼️”

Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Book In Advance
More Info
US$225.48*
and up
Sydney Opera House and Sydney Symphony Orchestra Dinner Package
Ranked #187 of 470 things to do in Sydney
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR ‼️”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We went to see "The Sydney Symphony" the performance was combined with the screening of "Gladiator" the movie staring Russell Crowe.
The movie was screening while the Symphony played the score.

WOW absolutely beautiful, emotional , incredible.
Do yourself a favour and get to see an event like this.
They have been doing this for 4 years now.
The previous 3 yrs they screened the "Lord if the Rings" trilogy.
I will not be missing next years.
Well done Sydney Symphony love your work ‼️‼️‼️‼️

Helpful?
Thank MeeshellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best orchestra in Australia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Just rated as the best orchestra in Australia. I have been listening for many years and have watched the standard steadily improve. At their best they are very good indeed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluemountaingrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
782 reviews
376 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Great Accompaniment to Natalie Cole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Visited to see Natalie Cole who was great but the Sydney Symphony were excellent as well. Date was Feb 2012

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always a nice night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Listening to the SSO at the Opera House is always a pleasure. They perform a wide range of pieces, have lovely guests and provide a relaxing atmosphere to enjoy music in

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChemNerd92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Big love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I took my kids to the matinee performance of Pixar in Concert at the Concert Hall Sydney Opera House. It was a very emotional and wonderful experience. I'd go again in a heartbeat.

We sat in a Platform Box D overlooking the Orchestra. The kids could see each of the musicians playing which was ideal, although it might have been a little loud at times for young tender ears. My 6 year old was grasping her ears during some pieces. It was great way to introduce kids to the music of an orchestra. Familiar tunes and visuals to keep them engrossed, with some commentary by the conductor.

It was hard not to be mesmerised by the speed and rhythmicity of Gordon Rytmeister on the drums. What a master! But of course all of the musicians in the Sydney Symphony are world class and the overall performance is so much more than the sum of the parts. I was totally absorbed in the films and the music.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenrock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Symphony Orchestra also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing