We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly tatty charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wynyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wynyard Hotel
Ranked #144 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slightly tatty charm”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed over the weekend on the recommendation of a friend, who suggested it as a cheap and basic hotel - from his description I was expecting it to be far grimmer than it was. Actually loved it; the hotel had personality and charm, a refreshing change after ticky-tacky (and expensive) four star hotels or the grimness of a backpackers. OK, it's a little battered, but the linen was clean, the staff were helpful (I was given three free drinks and an upgrade for my next stay) and the communal bathrooms (on the second floor at least) had privacy -- all you had to do was close the door. Also, the water pressure was excellent. The problems were due to inconsiderate fellow guests, primarily the man who was more disruptive telling fellow guests to SHUT UP than the guests he was objecting to. If you want central cheap accommodation that's better than a backpackers, go for it. The staff could not be more helpful - I've never had my bag carried up by a manager before. Also, they do very nice G&Ts. :D

Room Tip: Room 28 is an inside one with a A/C unit, good for darkness and relative quiet (and space!), but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlw062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    20
    8
    22
See reviews for
13
13
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Unless you are Bear Grylls on some sort of urban survival adventure, or someone who habitually wears a biological isolation suit, then beware, this is a grim place.

Barely redeeming feature was a beer 'on the house' whilst checking in (at the bar) from a presumably embarrassed manager, sympathetic to what I was about to endure.

Very poorly maintained. Not cleaned. Shared bathroom facilities appalling. Room not serviced. Holes in the wall. Intense traffic noise, not helped by lack of double glazing. Do not remove foorwear, even in bed, for risk of infections from the rank carpeting.

Room Tip: Simply avoid this place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This place is fab. My room mate and I arrived after just upping and leaving from another place (because it was so awful) without having another place to stay. We rolled up on their doorstep before they were even open to see if they had rooms spare. Straight away we were given a place to put our massive suitcases and offered drinks despite them being officially closed.

This hotel is set on three floors. We had a twin room on the top floor - it was basic, but very clean and wonderful compared to our previous place. The walls are white, there's a fridge and a TV, limited hanging space and some storage by our beds - again it is small, but I think other people's reviews are harsh...show me a room that doesn't need a lick of paint now and again! Yes there's some noise, but come on, you're in the middle of the city, of course it's going to be noisy!! However the noise we experienced was city noise - traffic and people, and nothing from the pub down below.

The owner Steve is fantastic and went out of his way so many times to help us, helping us sort out our month loing stay, whilst his team including Sam the caretaker (fab and only a phone call away) and Elliot, the very kind bar person that also helped us out.

This place really is wonderful & I would recommend it to everyone. It's in the perfect location - you can see the tube station from the window and several bus stops are nearby - and the team that run it are fab.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NUR25a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Be prepared to rough it at the Wynyard. My room was so noisy from the traffic that I had to stick my earplugs so far down my ear canal that I almost pushed them right into my brain. The whole place reeks of mould and garbage.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotelsmotels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Good price, five minutes walk from the train and bus. Shared kitchen and bathrooms. Rooms are basic with an overhead fan a tv, mini fridge, bed and clothes rack. Situated about a bar.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rendezvousnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Ok well we stayed in 2 room's at this hotel, which were both clean and tidy. Beds were good and i didnt hear a thing at night. The hotel is in a great location with shops close by and train just a few minutes walk...we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m0nza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here on July 31st. The room was little but clean. Above the bed was a bad repair job, and to the right was a hole in the wall covered with tape. The website is misleading - it says "All rooms have cable tv". They don't. We had 3 channels, and only 1 was cable, and the picture wasn't great. The remote didn't work. The sign outside advertises food specials on the weekends, but the kitchen was closed on Saturday night. The free breakfast was stale wheat bread and cereal. You're better off bringing your own food. Our biggest issue was that the bar is closed on Sunday. We had no idea where to check out - we knocked on the locked bar door, an employee (I hope!) said just to give the keys to him without asking our name or room number. The only reasons we would come back are the price (90.00), the comfy bed, and the location.

Room Tip: Booking on their website is cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aprilandjulien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 174 in Sydney
1,687 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#70 of 174 in Sydney
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 174 in Sydney
639 reviews
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#124 of 174 in Sydney
135 reviews
Glasgow Arms Hotel
#120 of 174 in Sydney
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynyard Hotel

Property: Wynyard Hotel
Address: Corner Clarence and Erskine Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wynyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1873 and oozing old world charm with an easy authenticity, The Wynyard sits comfortably on the corner of Clarence and Erskine streets. Take a short stroll to some of the city's best attractions, or stay put and enjoy a beer and great food in an honest-to-goodness traditional Sydney pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wynyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynyard Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing