We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Meriton Kent street in a studio apartment. Like so many other serviced apartments the Meriton is quite o.k., with reasonable facilities and adequate rooms. The studio room was spacious enough, with a kitchenette, standard bathroom, TV (with Foxtel) and was clean and tidy.

The indoor pool was nice however the gym is looking a little tired and needs a revamp.

The location is good and surrounded by a number of pub's, bars and restaurants, and is close to Darling Harbour and Chinatown.

My biggest criticism would be the level of street noise that invades the room all night long. I have stayed here of a few occasions now as my company has a preferred rate, and on each occasion have been woken by alarms, sirens and even people shouting in the street below. I don't know if it is the sound proofing of the hotel, or simply that the area is typically noisy.

The hotel itself is generally o.k.

Room Tip: Try for the higher floors to reduce the street noise.....
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,579)
There are newer reviews for Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,939 - 4,945 of 5,579 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

What a brilliant location...I have just returned from staying 7nights here, booked a studio and requested a high floor with a view...Firstly location..Brilliant in the heart of everything, I walked all over the place, and enjoyed the closeness to China Town, Darling Harbor as well as the City in general..The Studio..perfect for one or two...please note there is not a sofa bed or lounge where you could add another adult, although spacious enough I guess they could add a rollaway for a child but donot book a studio if you have more than 2 without asking for extra bed..The kitchen looked functional, although to be honest I only made coffee the whole time I stayed...the washing machine took forever but I was extremely grateful for it as I had been travelling for some time and needed to do a wash! ...I prepaid my internet at sydney airport so I did not use the apartments internet which was expensive, as was phone calls..so best be self sufficient here..I loved the view from my room on 46th floor over darling harbor..the staff were lovely and cheery and I LOVE that about sydney...the taxi rank is directly outside the building...no problem getting a taxi to the airport at 5am!! This is wonderful value for money...so keep in mind on the weekends (especially saturday night) there seems alot of noise and the building sort of changes from a great business apartment to a more roudy place...but hey that was OK 1 night of noise as apposed to 6nts of quiet...and the fireworks display from Darling Harbor was brilliant!!

Room Tip: I requested a room on a high floor (the lifts were super fast!!) and I was lucky to have a room on 4...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

we were 2 couples looking for a self catering apartment in the city of sydney for 4 nights and Meriton Kent st fit the bill perfectly. This apartment had a massive balcony with views of Darling Harbour. The modern kitchen had everything required, including the dishwasher tablets and dishwashing liquid. A fully equipped laundry including dryer was an added bonus. Check in was very fast and the duty manager very friendly. The hotel is very centrally located , just a quick two min walk to Town Hall Station. There is a great coffee shop downstairs, and an AMAZING Vietnamese restaurant called PHO next door. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixiedior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This was perfect for business due to good cost for the CBD, nice room and facilities. The quality of room, space and kitchen was ideal for me. I had never used a serviced apt before but it served me perfectly. Town Hall metro was 1.5 blocks away; shopping is everywhere, cafes/ restaurants are non-stop, and my car rental AVIS was 2 blocks away; (hotel parking is $35, ouch). I would use Meriton again when I return. Other hotel/ apt are near also: Fraser, Medina, and other Meritons.
The room was a studio and quite a good size; 28th floor views to Darling Harbor; good bed. TV was a bit snowy for some channels but never did complain about it. Aussie channels fine. Cleaning was superficial but if you need anything special, just ask Housekeeping spvsr. The bath sink was not cleaned well but only wiped down. Sheets changed on Sunday only. The kitchen was great for my store bought breakfast items. Coles/ Woolies are both near. Or a café just 20 ft from the front door.
Reception is efficient and professional. I did not find any warmth in the lobby as it works more like apartments there with only 2 black couches; not a place to linger or read in a soft light. Lobby has free wifi for only 30 min total time. Room internet is cable and fee based.
Food: restaurants just everywhere in the neighborhood. On Kent St. next door there is Vietnamese, Chinese, Spanish, and anything you want. Also a dry cleaner for my shirts, and 3 blocks away is a wash/dry place. I used both as this was a 6 night stay.
Really, this is a good option to a $300 hotel with big lobbies/ restaurants. Actually, it is more fun to be around the 'neighborhood' at the weekend than the CBD hotels that empty out completely and is so boring. When alone on business, it is more fun to be where people really live and where the shopping is than empty office bldgs of CBD. Of course, walking to Circular Quay is 15-20 min versus the big hotels closer by.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JES006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I have stayed at the Kent St Meriton before in a one bedroom apartment and thought it was decent, but wasn't overly impressed. The two bedroom apartments seem to be on higher floors and have balconies and a good amount of space, which raises their impression.

Service was quick and friendly and the facilities are decent. The location is of course excellent, though bathrooms could stand a little more attention when being cleaned.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripVisorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stayed for three nights at Meriton Kent Street during a city trip to Sydney. My stay was overall a very good experience. Meriton is situated in the heart of the CBD only a few steps away from the main shopping street George Street, the Queen Victoria Building and town hall. The Airport shuttle train stops at a 3 min walk (exit Town Hall) and the bus to Bondi Beach can be caught near Hyde Park, only 5 min. away. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay and the Opera House are a 10 to 15 min walk but are not far either. As the apartments are virtually on the route of the free shuttle bus service, even that can be shortened considerably.
The building seems to be new and on arrival awaits a friendly and helpful staff for check-in and general info about the city.
I had a studio but it was surprisingly large with a large bed, well equipped kitchen, nice and rather spacious bathroom and sitting corner.
All amenities were there. Rooms are spot clean and wel taken care off.
As I left and my plane was late in the afternoon they allowed me to use my room an hour longer although they had a full house that same evening. There is a small bathroom I could use to freshen up downstairs later in the afternoon.
One downpoint though : the internet charges are over the top. Unbelievable that in a city like Sydney, where obviously business people are a large part of the clientèle, these prices are charged. On top of it it is stil cabled and not WiFi. Meriton needs to do something about it. 5 AU$ / hour is just not done ....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We just keep coming back to Meriton and we are never dfisappointed. This is a top value for money apartment hotel. One of our musts for all but the most polluted places in the wirld is to have a balcony. We stayed on two sepeate nights over a long weekend - both rooms were roomy and comfortable - great place to sit back and relax and enjoy views of the city. Definitely staying next time we visit Sydney.

Room Tip: Better views are looking west over Darling Harbour - some rooms have full laundry if you need to do...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSAKentStreet, Manager at Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 178 in Sydney
1,070 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney

Address: 528 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#14 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £95 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you step through our lobby doors is the moment your Sydney experience becomes unforgettable. Be treated to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance as you breathe in the refreshing signature scent of our sophisticated, marble lobby and be impressed by our exceptional Guest Services team, who will go above and beyond to deliver the five star memorable services in our promise to provide a stay of utmost pleasure. For those early arrivals, our guests are able to freshen up in the newly designed luxury Arrival Lounge, fitted with expansive living spaces with lounges, flat screen TVs, a large walk-in kitchen supplied with complimentary tea and coffee refreshments as well as an oversized outdoor terrace, where one can lounge in the beautiful Sydney weather. Immerse yourself in superior comfort with modern contemporary furnishings, a fully-equipped kitchen, internal laundry and luxury bathroom amenities that feature in all 430 suites. Towering at an impressive 56 storeys high, guests can enjoy captivating and uninterrupted views to remember forever from our Altitude Suites, witness glistening night lights over Darling Harbour from our Darling Suites or experience the ultimate luxury stay from our Penthouse Collection suites. Make the most of our onsite recreational facilities, all for exclusive use by our guests. Choose to relax and unwind to the hot bubbles of our large spa, sit in the hot steam of our sauna or give your muscles a workout in our state of the art fitness centre and heated lap pool. Share your holiday with those back home, reply to work emails or browse the net with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, accessible from all areas of our hotel including the comfort of your own suite. Situated in the centre of Sydney's vibrant city, Meriton Suites Kent Street promises the perfect mix of attractions, shopping, entertainment, dining and culture. Only moments away are the popular sights of Sydney. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Royal Botanical Gardens are all within walking distance of our front door, ensuring your stay with us is a seamless one. Adventures to Sydney's surrounding areas has never been easier with public transport only minutes away. Services to the iconic Bondi Beach, the scenic Blue Mountains and ferry rides to the prestigious North Shore are all within a short grasp. Nearby are both Chinatown and the Spanish Quarter, while some of the city's best dining, bars and cafes are found at Cockle Bay and King Street Wharf, both only moments away. In our prime location, we truly are encompassed by a range of culinary treats and cuisines, guaranteeing somewhere to tickle all taste buds. Treat yourself to a shopping splurge at World Square Shopping Centre, located directly across the road from us or venture towards the numerous boutique retail shops along the historic Queen Victoria Building and experience the buzz at Pitt Street Mall, home to Westfield Sydney and an abundance of other quality retailers. Position yourself in the hive of all activity as you choose to stay with us at Meriton Suites Kent Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing