We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, quiet and fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brickfield Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brickfield Hill
Ranked #17 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for 8 days while visiting Sydney. Our room was beautifully decorated to period, comfortable, clean and super quiet. B&B is a short walk to central railway station, cafes and entertainment. Price was fantastic for location. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The lavender room is my favourite. Great view and comfortable cast iron bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellergirl1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
16
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weipa, Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Really enjoyed our stay in this lovely B&B in the heart of Surry Hills. We stayed in the ensuite room which was beautifully decorated and featured a large sparkling bathroom with a small private balcony. The balcony was lovely on a sunny morning and also to watch the sun go down over the city scape.The owners were helpful and friendly and we knew we could call on them for anything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Our room was serviced daily with clean fresh towels provided. The guests also have free use of the very charming lounge and dining areas. The house is very quiet,and the noise from other guests minimal. In fact we were surprized that there were other people in the house as we did not hear them.
The house is in a great location with the Crown Street cafes and funky shops just a short stroll away. A 5 minute walk down the hill to Central takes you to the free bus (555) on which you can hop on and off around the city.
A lovely place to stay especially if you would like to avoid the souless hotel room and stay in a place with real old world charm. Many thanks to our hosts, we hope that we will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msfayvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

I am sitting in my room (the 'Green Room') at Brickfield Hill high up in Surrey Hills looking out over a Victorian landscape. One of the owners has just brought me a pot of (leaf) tea in what is a dreamy Victorian home. If it wasn't for the WiFi connecting my Mac to the world, and allowing me to write to you, I could swear I had been transported back to 1880 Sydney, complete with the stillness of the era.
This is a tremendous find and had been recommended by a friend who travels frequently to Sydney.
Breakfast an hour ago (which indeed must be ordered, as this is much more a pensione than a B&B) was endless, was in the dining room with the two others guests here today. What is refreshing about staying somewhere like this is that you get to know the other guests (or not, as you please).
The house is in the middle of Surrey Hills, which itself is an amazing place. It's quiet with wonderful cafes, restaurants and boutiques and I would say, no more than 5 minutes by taxicab to the city centre.
This place has got everything. It's got the charm, the right price (and cheap at that...) and a very non-stated service, and from what I've noticed over the past 3 days, the owners have got the right attitude: friendly, but not friends; they are helpful to a fault 'Professional' I think is the correct description. I have felt very welcomed here indeed and it has changed my view of Sydney forever.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greattravelfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

After booking at this location that advertises as a B&B, we were advised that there would be and additional charge for breakfast! Quite confusing. Being small business owners ourselves in the service industry, we were quite shocked at the cold response we were given each time we came and went. We imagined all sorts of things, but stayed at this location because of convenience. We're all for supporting gay business, and are very dissappointed in our treatment. Even a FORCED smile of congeniality would have been nice. We now jokingly refer to Surrey Hills as Surly Hills. Sorry, can't recommend. Bryan and Edward, California

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hugbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickfieldHill, Owners at Brickfield Hill, responded to this review, 4 February 2010
We were saddened and confused by this very secretive guest's review. Our staff only saw him and his partner once on arrival and once more on departure. On both occasions we were polite and helpful. Breakfast was served to the other guests every day of their stay, and they mentioned this on departure when we discussed the laughter coming from the dining room every morning. We have a very loyal following. A great many of our repeat guests are in hospitality. None of them would recognize this uneven description of Brickfield Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

Was referred here by a nearby B&B (Govenors on Fitzroy) which was sold out. I was warmly greeted and allowed to wander on my own (my preference) or ask for assistance at any time. Got great directions and recommendations. Close to everything, walked everywhere. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougClemensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

With frequent travel to Sydney for business and a growing dislike for the blandness of hotels, I was grateful when a friend recommended I get off the corporate hotel circuit and try something a bit different.

Brickfield Hill is in a fantastic location just outside the Sydney CBD, meaning I could walk in to the city each morning in less than 20 minutes. It is also conveniently located to the airport.

The ambience and service are first class, however, the great thing about staying at Brickfield Hill is that you feel like you are at home: with real bedrooms and hospitable owners, but without the droning 24 hour a day air conditioning or the glaring neon lights, you feel like you have stayed with a good friend, rather than at a souless hotel.

It is worth noting that Brickfield Hill is a small B&B and it does not, therefore, come with all the trappings of a large hotel. Whilst I thought I may miss some of these elements, this was not actually the case.

B&B's may not be for everyone, but I would encourage anyone to give it a go - because you may end up being as surprised as I was. I have since recommend like-minded business travellers to give it a go - and they are now converts.

  • Liked — Great location, sanctuary in the middle of the action!
  • Disliked — Nothing of note
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank js1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

We stayed at Brickfields for New Year 2007/08, and I'm sure some of our view is tinged by the doubling of price for New Year. This B&B would be good value outside of the New Year/XMAS period, but you feel a bit stung when you are paying twice the price - but its Sydney and New Year so its par of the course.

We stayed in the Lavendar Room.

Pro's
Beautiful house which has been amazingly restored with a lot of care and attention.
Lavendar room was light and airy with plenty of space.
Nice towels and gowns for the hop to the shared bathroom.
Quiet location, and surrounding neighbourhood is great for eating and particularly breakfast/brunch etc, very safe if a bit funky and random in places.
Good transport connections walking distance from a metro station straight to the centre of syndey - not bad as well for a 45 min stroll to the harbour which we did to enjoy the sights on our first afternoon.

Cons
No breakfast served - its extra on top and restricted to a tight time window if you do order. This isn't so big a deal as there are amazing places to eat for breakfast within walking distance, and it means you get up and go more everyday. The negative is you would like to be able to make yourself a tea/coffee in your room, and a fridge would not go a miss for drinks when it is so hot.

Shared bathroom - not a massive problem although I was conscious of not taking too long, but agree with comments previously about towel rails and somewhere to put your toiletries would be helpful.

Cockroaches in the room and on street outside property - accept that this is Australia and this is not that the hotel is unclean (not at all) more that there are bugs everywhere. But the cockroaches are big and everynight my husband was chasing them out the room - its an old building with gaps in the floors so you can see how they get in, but does freak you out!

Also had issues with payment on departure (went through twice and they did not spot it). It was refunded promptly when asked. Also had a damaged top from the washing, but again they were very apologetic - caused by drying clothes outside in the sun, so as the sun is so bright it bleached the colouring on a dark top. Just be careful before handing any clothes in which may be dark/susceptible to sun damage.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cockroaches
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 25to30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickfieldHill, owner at Brickfield Hill, responded to this review, 1 November 2008
We wish to thank 20 to30 for their thorough report, which is only to be expected from an auditor couple! Unfortunately, their view of Sydney is “tinged by the doubling of price for New Year”. Regrettably this is the case everywhere in Sydney at New Year, when seasoned travellers know it is almost impossible to find a room six to twelve months out. Nevertheless, we agree with their comments that Brickfield Hill is “good value”. Given the location and quality of accommodation, we believe Brickfield Hill represents excellent value for money. The great majority of our guests agree with us.

In a quiet location in the city surrounded by some of Sydney’s finest internationally acclaimed restaurants (eg ‘Longrain’ and ‘Tetsuyas’), inspiring mid-range restaurants like ‘Billy Kwong’ and local favourites like ‘Pizza e Birra’, as well as a multitude of cheap eateries and fantastic cafes, it is clear that good food is high on the mind of Sydneysiders.

It is not surprising therefore that a small guesthouse located in an area like this, would have a one-hour window in which you can turn up for breakfast.

Many older Australians suffer from skin cancer. The topic forms part of everyday conversation. All Australians are aware that the Sun, which is the greatest attraction for most tourists who come to Australia, can be fatal. That is why we tell all our guests to wear sun block…and that we line-dry all our laundry. Of course when 20to30’s complained that a heavy cotton top was faded on one side of a central back seam (which indicates a flaw in the fabric dye), demanding not to pay for any of the laundry, we obliged. It was more important for us that the guest has satisfaction and it was only a matter of $10. We have line-dried all our linen and other washing for environmental reasons since we started operations more than ten years ago. Brickfield Hill has been green longer than the green revolution!

We achieve this in other ways too. When the heritage-listed building was restored in the early 1990’s, conscious decisions were made not to include air-conditioning, which is now seen as environmentally unfriendly means of cooling. Where international hotels have windows that cannot be opened, Victorian and Georgian buildings were built in a way that allowed cool air to rise up through a system of stacks, open windows and doors; they became in effect a giant air conditioner. The downside is that insects can fly in through windows (not through the floor boards); As much as we would like to please 20to30’s wishes, we cannot control insects in Sydney’s streets. If they had told us that they found an insect in their room, we would have dealt with it. Our guests’ comfort is paramount.

We were surprised and saddened by some of the comments 20to30 made in this forum. We only wish they had taken a moment to tell us personally what was troubling them during their week-long stay so that we could have made them more comfortable; the several issues they raised had simple solutions.

A word of advice for anyone staying in a hotel: when you think something’s not right, tell the management. They want it to be right for you. We all agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 174 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,917 reviews
Inner South
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickfield Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickfield Hill

Property: Brickfield Hill
Address: 403 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and elegant Victorian terrace house in a quiet street in the middle of vibrant Surry Hills, just minutes to the city centre by bus, underground or cab. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing