We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lido Suites”
Review of Lido Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lido Suites
Ranked #46 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our stay at the Lido Suites was good reception was very helpful. We arrived the day of the Navy Centenary celebrations and the long week end. we were not prepared for the
Sunday night celebrations, which went on to Monday morning.
The Hotel is currently under going renovations, so every thing is needing a bit of tlc, I'm sure once completed and everything is done this would be a very pleasant hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Lido Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

On our last visit we choose the Lido Suites and were very surprised by the great location, room facilities and excellent friendly helpful staff who could not do enough for you. The free internet in our rooms was an added bonus. There is a lift which is a big aged but works well. We had reports that there was a nightclub down below us but if there was we heard absolutely nothing. The bed was extremely comfortable. The kitchenette was equipped with everything you would need if you wanted to eat in. It is always great to be able to make a cup of tea in your room. We will definitely be staying there again. Transport is within walking distance and the area is very safe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet street just off the main street through Kings Cross and it is only two or three minutes easy walk from the station.
The rooms are surprisingly spacious, with a clean and reasonable sized bathroom and kitchen annex.
Staff were friendly.
The only downside to this hotel is the extraordinary amount of noise late at night, into the early morning, coming from the club down a side lane beside the hotel; ear plugs are mandatory!

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room on the far side of the hotel away from the club where all the noise comes...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

From outside, when we arrived we were slightly worried, but the rooms were actually not bad, and they allowed us to check in early which was really nice (though 10am checkout is quite early and they didn't budge on this one). There's a fridge and the TV even has a built in DVD player with a great selection of DVD's at reception to choose from absolutely free of charge. I was a bit put off when I realised they only come to clean the rooms and refresh amenities a couple times a week, so don't leave your towels on the floor if you want them to be refreshed unless you know they are for sure coming that day! Although they sorted us out with new towels when we came down to explain the confusion. Perhaps they should communicate this at checkin to avoid this issue?

The staff are all quite nice and the location is great for King's Cross (which is the red light district in case you aren't aware), and about 15-20 minutes walk from Oxford Street/Darlinghurst (gay area). We actually walked everywhere, even into the CBD (Central Business District/shopping) and Darling Harbour which were about 25-30 minutes, but not a bad walk when the weather is nice.

There were a couple issues.. VERY, very loud! We were in room 310 and this overlooks the entrance of the building which is right on the street and directly above the entrance to the club next door. We slept with the windows closed and air conditioning on (nice they had air con), but we could still hear everything. It literally sounded like they were in our room. And the people weren't the worst bit, as the hotel is on a narrow one way street, it seems every car has the desire to honk and not just once, but twice or 3 times. And then there are the sirens. It was endless, and we were suffering from jetlag so just a bad combination. One night I was up until 6am tossing and turning. The other night we stayed out late so it didn't really matter and another night I slept with my airplane kit: eyemask on and headphones in and I was fine.

It's definitely do-able if you can get a good deal and it does have its good points. If you're going to be in town only a night or two or out a lot then you should be absolutely fine. If you're a couple who wants to go out a night or two and have a quiet night in a night or two, perhaps keep looking.

Room Tip: room 310 noisy
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePointPMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in July 2013 for a conference and were really pleased with our room. It had everything we wanted and needed, it was large with a modern bathroom, digital TV, medium-size working fridge, own iron etc. and the bed was comfortable with quality linen. Staff were great. Price was also great compared to everything else in it's category (averaged out at $112 per night). Only problem was the White Rabbit night club over the road pumping out ground shaking music until 4am, followed by groups of loud, super drunk people coming home for the next hour or so. Tried noise-cancelling headphones but even they didn't work! Drunk people are really loud!! We'd been warned by other reviews of the noise problem, so we can't complain. Just be warned, if you're not planning on drinking and passing out, don't plan on getting a great sleep... Depends why you're staying there I guess! Overall, we were really pleased with our room and if the hotel was relocated 2 blocks away we would've given it 5 stars

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluefly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Was SO close to the train station which was superb!
Close to many little restaurants making it easy for breakfast, lunch & dinner!
Room was good size! Big double bed, kitchen with microwave, fridge, sink!
Ironing board and iron, big cupboard, big TV, good sized bathroom!
New towels & bed made each day! FREE internet & movies.
(and we only got the cheapest room to!)

Reading other reviews I was worried about noise so requested a quieter room, but didnt really hear anything except the occasional cheer from outside. So noise was not a problem at all! Dont know what everyone was going on about!! (and we went during a football match time when everyone was going crazy!) View wasnt great from our hotel room but didnt bother us too much.

The man at the front reception was nice, gave us some bottled water as well (good to see he made an effort).

When we checked in our room was ready at 10am! Meaning we didnt have to wait till 2pm which is what usually happens which was awesome! Checkout was 10am but we got to leave our bags at reception while we spent a day in sydney.

Very accommodating, would recommend for a holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Location is superb. the opera house, darling harbour, hyde park is all within walking distance.

The noise from the club below? Didn't bother us cause we're too tired by the time we get back to the hotel. There's a fantastic kebab shop about 3 mins walk away.

Room is clean upon check in, so is the bathroom, very important! The bed is awesome. Room size is enough for the 3 of us. Overall, would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sahidablueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#99 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Hotel Challis
#48 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 178 in Sydney
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 178 in Sydney
1,036 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 178 in Sydney
537 reviews
Springfield Lodge
#9 of 57 in Sydney
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Suites

Address: 2 Roslyn Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Leisure Inn Suites Kings Cross)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: £58 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lido Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing