We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh come on - it's not THAT bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valentine On George
Ranked #109 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Oh come on - it's not THAT bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was booked into this hotel by a friend and, after I read the reviews on Tripadvisor, I honestly thought that I'd be walking into some modern day version of Fawlty Towers! Yes the room was basic, there was no carpet on the floors, the television looked like it had been home made, and the chandelier looked like it had been hung up without being taken out of its packing tube! But the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom quite spacious. And the location is awesome - just a few steps away from Central Station, Paddy's Markets and a short walk to the centre of town. I can understand why this hotel doesn't get glowing reviews from everyone, but if you want a room in this location for this price then you have to be prepared to make a few compromises.

Room Tip: If the Central Station location isn't important to you, keep an eye out on specials from The Men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodJohnButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    62
    35
    9
    18
See reviews for
11
72
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

When to this hotel in February 2012 for a week stay. Booked on wotif, only to find horrible reviews after we paid so was kind of worried, but everything turned out pretty good!

Check-in was fast and easy, room was pleasant. The only quirk I have is that the bed if not a real Queen sided bed. It was just two super singles pushed together and covered with a Queen fitted sheets. Bathroom was nice, but there is no tub.

No other facilities available. Food wise there are a lot of nicer choices around, so don't bother eating downstairs. Overall, good if you are just going back to the room to sleep at night, and if you don't want to share bathrooms in a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiyuki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Booked a night on Wotif . Self rated as 4.5 stars- 3 more appropriate. Booked by partner - without checking Trip Advisor !
Looks like it was renovated 12 years ago - funky wood paneled minimalist lobby is spoiled by clumsily hung painting of prior building - and beat up Eames Wood Lounge Chairs - the architect would hang his head in shame. Room was sloghty run down - however wood paneling around ceiling - bathroom v cool. Tge painted concrete floor is too stark - carpet would be a big inprovement . Bathroom groovy & well designed - but long black hairs in & around towel area a turn off - staff helpful & pleasant - but v causally dressed ? Not sure why. Needs a coat if paint and some spac filler to fix damaged walls. Suggest current owners didn't build it , bought it cheap & have no idea of what it could be.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Wost Hotel I have ever been too, I actually left this hotel feeling sick, The staff were rude and the room was dirty. When we first arrived for a 2 o'clock check in we were advised we would have to come back later we returned back at 4 o'clock and had to wait for somebody to arrive at reception, the bed sheets were stained and the staff ignored the do not disturb sign. On arrival we were only given one key to the room after returning back to Melbourne I received a call from a rude gentleman explaining he has charged my credit card $100 for a lost key, I explained we only received one key, he then stated if i have a problem to email them and hung up the phone, I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. Beware

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

venice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This valentine on george is by far the most DISGUSTING hotel i have EVER been to.
Filthy bedding, Filthy towels, Filthy floor, Filthy white seats that had been stained black from however many bums have sat there. This place is absolutely DISGUSTING.
I will be speaking very badly about this hotel (hell hole) for a long time to come to family, friends, strangers and other hotel operators.

And to mention quickly the restaurant downstairs is sh** and the hotel staff including the owners are rubbish at running a hotel.

Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atypesec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The staff were very helpful during our stay and the location is perfect and also relatively quiet for central Sydney however....

There were holes in the towels and the room had not been cleaned properly (there were reciepts from previous guest under the bed). The fridge did not work and the TV was haunted (kept switching to DVD for no reason while were were watching).

The lift broke down as I was trying to get down to check out and although staff were very friendly and helped with my bags a quick note on the doors to inform guests of malfunction and appologise for the inconvinence would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBoi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The location of this hotel was good as we like being around this area for our three day stay. The terrace suite was ok but cleanliness of the room leaves a lot to be desired, towels are well worn, fridge did not operate, staff on arrival were very good but went down as staff changes occurred.

Room Tip: If you chose to stay then the best is the terraces Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaiOra_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#96 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#80 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentine On George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentine On George

Property: Valentine On George
Address: 21 Valentine Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentine On George 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valentine On George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine On George Sydney
Valentine On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing