We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valentine On George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valentine On George
Ranked #112 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is just perfect if you're arriving by train (5 min walk from Central Station). It's clean, kind of quirky, a little bit odd and fairly no-frills. We also got turfed out at 2am due to a false fire alarm, but even that was kind of fun. The price is really good for the location. The television isn't the best, but you get a pretty good (if a bit old) Bose sound system. There are lots of restaurants, cafes and bars close by and it feels like a safe location (even at 2 in the morning!). If you want a fancy hotel with room service and matching bed side lamps then this isn't the hotel for you. But if you don't mind something a little bit different that is close to everything without being noisy, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodJohnButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    61
    34
    9
    18
See reviews for
11
70
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights as we needed an affordable hotel close to the entertainment centre. The room was a very decent size with a comfortable bed and a small lounge area. We loved the location, just a few minutes walk to central station and the entertainment centre. The staff was friendly. It was good value if you need a hotel near the CBD and you are not planning to spend a lot of time in your hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reina1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night to get an early train from Central. It was a quick walk to the station, 10 minutes at the most. It was close to Chinatown so there were plenty of options for dinner. The staff were very polite and helpful. The highlight for me was the design of the room. Impressive decor, well set out, the room was classy and did a lot with limited space. My king suite was on the top floor and had a great view of Central. The only downside was that the hotel was a little difficult to find as the signage was limited. Otherwise it was a great stay in a very secure building.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imogenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here as a solo female traveller and the hotel was perfect. The room was modern and quirky with very comfy beds and modern decor. It was easy to get everywhere from the hotel and the reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly (especially Azlam who is an absolute gem and went above and beyond to help me).
Being a solo traveller I was consicence of security and a safe location and this hotel was extremely safety conscience with only guests being admitted or if not a guest you had to buzz the reception staff to be let in. I had read other reviews about it being hard to find but I am not sure what they are talking about as I found it incredibly easy to locate being just off George St on Valentine St (plus it does have the name about the reception door!)
The hotel is located just near the markets and around the corner from Darling Harbour. A short bus trip takes you to Circular Quay down George Street but if you are prepared to walk most of Sydney's attractions are within an easy 1/2 hour walk.
Do yourself a favour and stay there as you won't get better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dadunn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed on Australia Day weekend for one night and it was a short and sweet stay!

Clean, neat and tidy with a decent size room. Very modern furniture (Bang&Olufsen) and huge comfy beds. Rotating TV, modern shower and bath area.

Perfect little stay if catching a show or festivities in Sydney CBD area.

Great Staff and great location - close to Central Station, a short stroll to
Chinatown and Darling Harbour, 10 mins to Pitt St mall and 15 min walk to Circular Quay - or take the free shuttle (555) up and down George st!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adziza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

For $130 per night, I think you would struggle to find anything that’s better value in Sydney. I am surprised that it has some terrible reviews, as I have found it to be good each time. I have stayed at this hotel twice now. Once around 2008, and once in March/April 2014.

I think there are three rooms per floor. The first time we had one of the longer rooms on the corner of the building that overlooks George Street, and the second time we had a smaller (and when I say smaller, it was larger than most hotel rooms I’ve stayed in) room over-looking Valentine Street. It was a standard room with a king bed each time. There does seem to be double-glazing of the windows as the street noise is minimised. You can't open the windows, but we've never had any issues with the air-conditioning.

Each time we’ve stayed the staff have been friendly, efficient and helpful. The rooms have been clean. The king beds were comfortable, and the pillows are great too. On the most recent trip, the TV reception wasn’t great, but we didn’t ask them to do anything about it as we were out and about most of the time.

This hotel is in an excellent location if you are in Sydney without a car:
1. Meals - Being in the Haymarket/Chinatown area, there are lots of Asian restaurants where you can get quick, relatively healthy meals.
2. Tourist stuff – Valentine on George is about a 400m walk to central station, which is great for the airport train and also for locations such as Circular Quay, Bondi Beach (with the link ticket on the bus from Bondi Junction), Kings Cross etc
3. Tourist stuff – it’s about a 10-15 minute walk to the Sydney Entertainment Centre and Darling Harbour
4. Supermarket - Market City is less than 400m away (http://www.marketcity.com.au/map-level-1) and has an IGA where you can pick up some groceries (not that Valentine on George has kitchenette facilities though).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonOzTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

After an unpleasant experience with a taxi driver who had never heard of this hotel or this street - despite 25 years in the business! - we were feeling quite apprehensive when we walked into the rather cramped, uninteresting foyer. Our spirits picked up a little with the friendly check-in service we received only to be deflated again when four of us squeezed out of the lift on the third floor with our cases and met up with someone else trying to get into the lift in a corridor that we could barely all fit!
When we opened the door to our room we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a corner position and once we opened all the blinds (yes, they were a challenge) we had an expansive, wrap around view. The décor was rather odd to say the least - 60's low slung chairs and tables, cubist glass shelving, a cubist TV enclosed in glass, stainless steel desk & tabletop, hidden handles everywhere and a very odd mismatch of lighting ... but somehow, in its oddness, it kind of worked! The facilities were great, the king bed was very comfortable with wonderful, large, down pillows and the bathroom was spacious and smartly appointed. We had a very comfortable 2 night stay and loved the convenience of this hotel's position - We'll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: A corner room is great for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#88 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#96 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentine On George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentine On George

Property: Valentine On George
Address: 21 Valentine Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentine On George 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Valentine On George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine On George Sydney
Valentine On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing