We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valentine On George
Ranked #109 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good value for money for a clean, modern, comfortable hotel in an excellent, central location.
The room was well furnished and clean, the bathroom was nice and the bed was big and comfortable. By no means luxury accommodation, but very good value for money and an acceptable price. Well equipped with towels and extra blankets, as well as an iron. Wouldn't have minded a bathrobe, but all and all well equipped.

Only complaint: the default volume on the T.V was too loud.

Room Tip: We chose the most basic king-bed rooms, which was a little dark, but far cheaper. If you're look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    65
    35
    9
    18
See reviews for
11
74
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A really lovely room that met our requirements for a few nice quiet nights and was well situated for our needs. Close to shopping good pub meals and markets..Would return if and when we go back to Sydney...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in a standard king suite at Valentine on George. We had a corner room which was great for natural light and a view. The layout of the room was very practical, bathroom at one end, tv in the centre and bed at the other end. The bathroom was clean and very spacious. The desk, iron, bar fridge and cupboard space was conveninent. The tv was quite small however it made the room feel like a boutique hotel. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were helpful as we had to leave our luggage at the hotel on check out as we were not flying out of Sydney until later that day. The room was very clean and all appliances etc worked well. We did not order room service and there was no kitchen for breakfast however this wasn't a problem for us as we were so close to Chinatown and had a lot of options for food elsewhere. We were quite impressed with this hotel and consider it good value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room was sunny and had a good layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mads P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just did an overnight at this property. Great location for all things Surry Hills / Newtwon based but also super centrally located for railway, light rail and bus public transport system. Really well priced, modern rooms. Super quiet for its location - as others have stated church bells sound from 8am but that's still not a bad way to be woken. Can't fault. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KI6871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed at the Valentine a couple of times now, and I am a fan. Tucked away near Haymarket, it has a brilliant inner city location (especially handy if you're using trains, as it's very close to Central Station). Modern room (I had the same one both times), great shower, comfortable bed, small hotel. Some carpet on the standard room floors wouldn't go astray, but that's my only negative. Otherwise it's decent sized, clean (although not spotless) and affordable. It's also a bit quirky, which is a nice change from stock standard boring hotel rooms. I have never found it too loud there, but if you do find it noisy at night, guess what, you're in the centre of Sydney (don't like it, may I suggest Dubbo). I've used it for business, and found it great as the standard rooms have a little table area that was useful for work (I did use my own Wi-Fi, so I can't tell you what theirs is like) and for personal, and it was great for both. Staff were friendly and helpful on both visits. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed in many hotels around this location and found the Valentine on George to be excellent value for money and in a great location for access to city and rail. Modern room with very comfortable bed! The staff were friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Conveniently located in the Haymarket area of Sydney, close to the railway station and other public transport. Clean, room serviced daily. Comfortable for short term stays, good shower point and bathroom. Alas, no WI-FI for computer junkies.

Room Tip: Most rooms are close to the elevator, so there is no trouble getting in and out of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney53727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#96 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#64 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#65 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentine On George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentine On George

Property: Valentine On George
Address: 21 Valentine Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentine On George 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Valentine On George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine On George Sydney
Valentine On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing