We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't come back.”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #132 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't come back.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night as we were seeing a show. We booked very last minute and booked through last minute.com where is claimed to be 4 star.
We had to wait 15 minutes to be checked in and was offered a complimentary drink.

The staff were lovely and let us print our tickets in reception.

The room was ok however bad a terrible smell to it so we went and bought a candle.
At about 1am an Alarm went off in the building for about 10 minutes.
There was a lot of street noise and the shower would randomly start dripping.
The location is good but I wouldn't stay here again, mainly because of the smell. We paid $280 for 1 night and definitely don't think it is worth the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank megsymoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
16
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra Hills
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. The staff were great, super friendly and helpful. Yes its an old pub and smells a little funky . The rooms were clean and decorated beautifully. The air con was in need of cleaning, and the room was a little musty. A block out curtain would have been helpful and the pillows were a little too big for us. It wasn't noisy but we stayed on a monday night. Even the traffic wasn't noisy. Walking distance to the bourse st bakery and moore park, fox studios etc. But all in all we enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently stayed at the crown hotel for a short stay while in Sydney area for work - images on the website display a luxury boutique hotel, however this it is not. The interior seems to be unfinished/under construction with patch jobs on ceilings in corridors. Small aesthetic details aside the most unacceptable aspect was the lack of any hot water 2 days in a row.

Front desk staff were friendly but will not be staying here again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coleary26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotelSurryHills, Front Office Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi,

Happy to hear about our staff, hopefully they helped make your stay more pleasant! I'm sorry to hear that there were issues with your stay. Renovations are now complete and the hot water issue was resolved. We'd love to have you back, if you ever have any questions about the status of accommodation, feel free to give us a call! We're always happy to help.

Thanks,
Crown Hotel Surry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

2nd floor reception desk void of staff and telephoning reception resulted in unanswered calls. But ground floor bar staff were friendly and obliging when we required room assistance.

Bed sheets and towels were clean, but blinds and window sills were not. The room did not contain tea, coffee or milk, although there was a kettle and cups.

No hot water for a shower at 7:00AM on Sunday morning. The continental breakfast consisted of (help yourself) limited selection of cereal, fruit, yoghurt and only full cream milk. A toaster was sitting on the bench, but there was no sign of bread, pastries or juice.

Again, reception was unattended. Very disappointing.... we will never revisit.
Paul and Gabby.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_Gabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Crown Hotel is located right on the corner of Crown and Cleveland Streets, Surry Hills. In terms of location, you can't beat it. But I didn't realise when I booked that the accommodation is actually above a (very busy) pub. If you are a light sleeper, or forgot your earplugs, then this isn't the place for you. The rooms are big and recently renovated, and a light breakfast was included in my rate. But reception isn't staffed outside office hours, which can be difficult if you're travelling for work and need a quick response early in the morning or late at night. I had no hot water the first night and couldn't get it resolved because the reception staff were missing in action. Still, with those caveats, it's good, clean accommodation in a great location.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any less noisy rooms - just pack your ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This is above the Crown Hotel pub at Surry Hills. For us it was perfect as we were seeing the baseball at SCC at Moore Park and it's a close easy walk. The staff were friendly and the room was very clean and tidy. The aircon worked well, as did everything else. The blind on the window doesn't block out all the light but the bed was really comfy so we slept well anyway. I would stay here again if need be.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou88009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very impressed with this little boutique hotel. Spent a lovely evening at the Jazz night downstairs and had a great sleep in our room which was quirkily decorated and comfortable. Staff were friendly and location is great, right in the middle of the action of Surry Hills. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 179 in Sydney
1,650 reviews
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#76 of 179 in Sydney
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#95 of 179 in Sydney
362 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,151 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#46 of 179 in Sydney
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 589 Crown St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crown hotel is located on the corner of Crown and Cleveland Streets, in the centre of the hustle and bustle of Surry Hills. This multi-story venue has a something for everybody including a dedicated sports bar and another bar and lounge area to enjoy a drink with friends or watch live sport, private function areas and boutique accommodation. Crown Hotel offers boutique and stylish hotel accommodation. There are 8 Superior Rooms on the second floor which all include a queen bed and ensuite bathrooms. All Rooms include complimentary WIFI, 42 inch plasma TV's with cable channels, Egyptian cotton linen and towels as well as free toiletries. There is also a breakfast room with a nespresso machine and an outdoor dining area available for guests to enjoy their complimentary continental breakfast. Whether guests are looking for accommodation, a bite to eat, catching up with mates or celebrating an important milestone, the Crown Hotel is the perfect destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing