We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find - Close to sydney & What a breakfast!!”
Review of Verona Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verona Guest House
Ranked #13 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant find - Close to sydney & What a breakfast!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days, gorgeous rooms and building itself. Very modern, clean and friendly family run b and b.

5 minutes to Sydney city centre, located in the quiet area of glebe.

Our favourite part of our stay here however amongst all this was the fabulous breakfast available - each day the spread was amazing, really set us up for the day and saved us from buying any dinner!

Recommended for long or short stay, ideal Sydney hotel at a great price!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
38
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this guesthouse. It was very clean and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. The aircon worked well, the bathroom was spotless and the breakfast supplied was made up of a great selection. The guesthouse is in a safe location with public transport. I would stay again without a second thought. My one and only suggestion would be for the owner to get larger televisions in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiedarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Needed to stay two nights in Sydney where we could park and not feel too violated at the cost. Still found the stay too be a little overpriced but it is a lovely b&b with a well set out continental brekky. The rooms are a little varied and our stay out the back outside seemed a bit cold and the room a little strange but the rooms in the house looked nicer. On the Saturday we enjoyed a lovely stroll around glebe and a quick visit to the markets.

We would definitely think about staying here again as an alternative to staying in the CBD but would still like it to be a tad more affordable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Everything is easy at the the Verona & I was made to feel so welcome. Owner went out of her way to sort my shuttle when it didn't arrive, hailed a taxi and gave the taxi driver instructions. Walk to Sydney Uni was easy and pleasant (30 mins fast paced).Well priced for what is on offer and the location. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I discovered as I ate brekkey, just like at home, that everyone at that everyone at the table had stayed at The Verona before. You are welcome at the table even if you are wearing slippers and haven't quite done your hair or put on your makeup. We were all quite engaged with interesting jobs or education or projects, had an interesting day planned, liked breakfast 'just like at home' and loved a clean, quiet, secure and very lovely place to stay close to ( but not in) the CBD.
So with some trepidation I make this trip advisory... because they only have limited space! And I want to be able to book in with only a few days notice next time I have to do business in the CBD, close to Central Station, lovely eateries, the light rail and bus stop at the door.
If you have forgotten a book... they have all the daily newspapers, interesting books, maps, local travel brochures, an array of travel books, and walking tour ideas.
I will never every have to stay in an expensive, horrible, impersonal highrise plastic hotel every again in Sydney city. Thank you Verona for being there.

Room Tip: Down stairs... easy access to kitchen and family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

As much as we enjoyed our stay here, I feel that $195.00 a night (including breakfast) for a guest house is stretching it a bit. Having said that, the kitchen is stocked with all you need for breakfast and available at whatever time you need it! The room is more than large enough - 1 double and one twin bed - comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bathroom though old was clean and serviceable. A great area to stay in, lots of interesting shops, cafes and lovely old houses to look at. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Verona Guest House, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We are sorry that you found our guesthouse overpriced. Obviously $195 was for a Saturday night (one night only) and we price ourselves according to similar properties in Sydney. The guesthouse was completely renovated in 2000 as a conversion of our family home, so all facilities including the bathroom are only ten years old.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

As planned, we were back in Sydney and at Verona in August. Once again it exceeded our expectations. The immaculate kitchen is very abundantly stocked, even with an espresso machine for the diehard like me. Our room was clean. comfortable and quiet. The street has many little restaurants which are very affordable. There is a nice supermarket in a mall just a short walk away. The buses at the door take you right downtown.All in all this is about the best 1-location, 2- good value- 3 friendliest place you will find in Sydney. It is now officially our home when we are in town.
Thank you Ben and Juliane.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#122 of 176 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Challis
#6 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
The Maisonette
#7 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona Guest House

Property: Verona Guest House
Address: 224 Glebe Point Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verona Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verona Guest House is one of six identical villas known as the Doctors' Houses in Glebe's prestigious Toxteth Estate. Just 10 minutes to the CBD via light rail or bus, it is the ideal location for those wishing to explore the city yet remain in a village atmosphere. There are 8 boutique rooms with private ensuites, aircon, TV/DVD player, bar fridge and free wifi connection. A daily continental breakfast is provided between 7am-10am. There is free 2 hour free parking on Glebe Point Road MON-FRI 8am-6pm (unrestricted evenings and weekends). Glebe's Blackwattle Bay is a five minute walk to the Tramsheds at Harold Park, the Boat House Restaurant then further through to Sydney's historic fish markets. Sydney University, UTS, RPA and Broadway shopping centre are a 10 minute walk away. Be sure to visit Gleebooks and the Saturday markets located in Glebe's Public school. We are pleased to announce that Esca cafe provides 10% off all meals to guests staying at Verona GuestHouse. Please note that our checkin hours are 2pm-8pm daily. We regret that we cannot provide early checkin or late checkout after 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Verona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Guesthouse Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing