We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carrington Apartments
Ranked #72 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My Husband, 2 year old and I stayed here for 3 nights. Its affordable, and the location is perfect!!! Coles and woollies around the corner, a 15 minute walk to circular quay, and 10 minute walk to shopping areas in CBD (QVB, Australia Square etc). The rooms are quite dated, and it could really do with a good spring clean. The curtains were vey dusty and the bathroom needed a scrub. In saying that though, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and if you are just after a place to sleep, this is good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Carrington Apartments in Sydney. We found the manager on duty very pleasant and obliging and the location of the property to public transport and Darling Harbour, The Rocks great for the holiday stay.
The room we stayed in was a two bedroom apartment located on level 4. Sadly it is very much in need of a makeover. The rooms were poorly lit and the walls all need a pick me up with paint job The shower was great for water pressure but the curtain was disgusting and covered in mould. The drawers when opened in the bathroom vanity had hairs laying inside and the taps in the bathrooom and kitchen leaked around the base when switched on. Beds were hard and the pillows very much in need of replacement lumpy and flat.
Sorry we found it dissapointing and we are not likely to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Great Location, easy walk to CBD shops, Circular Quay/Rocks, Darling Harbour, China Town/Market. We stayed at the peak time over New Year so were only able to get room at back with no outlook and need to have light on all the time. Manager was very pleasant and helpful, apartment is spacious enough and has full kitchen and full laundry. We understand that it is marketed as a budget apartment but it could be so much better with just a bit of TLC. The mould in the bathroom tiles, the "roll together" double bed, cracked basin, no curtain in lounge (other than net - Needed as workers from adjacent office block look straight in) and ill fitting kitchen cupboard doors. The Hotel is very noisy in the early morning with rubbish and delivery trucks in the adjacent alley but this is similar to other inner city places we have stayed.
We would stay again particularly for the location but would only if could get front facing room.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front road. Back rooms are dark (May be better up higher)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philandducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Affordable fully self contained apartments right in the heart of the city centre. The apartment we has was a one bedroom but was bigger than a lot of two bedrooms we've stayed in. It had everything we need, fully equipped kitchen full laundry in the apartment, a queen bed and a single bed. The staff were very knowledgable and helpful.
But the best thing of all is the location. It is walking distance to anywhere in the city centre; Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, The Rocks, Shopping (of course!) There is a Coles supermarket a block away which was very handy for supplies, it really is a home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Great location...but the apartment was not much at all. Old furniture, stained, leaking taps, discussing bath,we got housekeeping to clean it (we were scared to put my grandson in it)& moldy shower curtain, which we washed ourselves, bathroom smelt old & moldy. My single bed was like a board no comfort at all, my daughter & partner had a double bed which had a dip in the middle so they kept rolling in. We were there for 5 nights, that's alot of crapy sleep. Our apartment was at the back facing an ally and another building, so no view & the noise just echoed up we were on the 9th floor. It was generally in poor condistion...Spend some money & refurbish & it would be good. We would not stay there again & would not recommened it to my friends!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarringtonSydney, General Manager at Carrington Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Previously we stated that I avoid responding to reviews either positive or negative preferring to allow all guests to judge our apartments for themselves. At the same time the content of every review is investigated both by the owners and staff to ensure the best possible standard of service is provided at our family oriented facility. Judging by the continued display of the ‘full house sign’, mainly as a result of repeat guests the Manager, Trevor and his staff are doing an excellent job.

As General Manager I encourage all potential guests of the Carrington, or any other Hotel listed on Trip Advisor to consider the level of experience offered by the reviewer prior to making a positive or negative comment. I have a lifetime of experience in the Hotel industry but at the same time I am first one to say life is a never ending learning curve.

This web site states the reviewer is located in a semi Rural area visited one City and submitted 1 review to Trip Advisor.

On a technical side renovations to all apartments on level 9 were completed 15 August 11 some six weeks prior to the period under review. These renovations included complete painting of all walls, ceilings and doors including the separate fully self contained kitchen and full bathroom. This 'make over' also included complete re-carpeting of all rooms and re-surfacing of the baths.

The Carrington Apartments is not a furniture showroom and we do not wish to take up this role. However the fixtures within all apartments are maintained at regular intervals.

I encourage any intending guest (or their Sydney based friends) to inspect level 9 or any other unit prior to making a booking to ensure this family styled accommodation is in line with their requirements. These inspections are more than welcome by Trevor.

Our housekeeping records do indicate a request in early October for the housekeeper to clean a bath on level 9 two days after a guest had check-in. However, only 'fresh' (still wet) liquid shampoo (or other unknown substance) could be located in the bath also on the floor and walls. The guest was unable to assist the housekeeper to locate any further previously claimed 'stains".

On the same morning an incident took place between level 8 & 9 resulting in damage being caused to property outside the premises and owned by a third party unrelated to the Carrington Apartments Motel. NSW Police attended and spoke to various parties in connection with the damage. NSW Police incident number is E48152384.

We were not involved in this incident however our staff assisted in the clean-up process following the Police investigation. Around the time of this incident our management approached a guest staying on level 9 wherein a one bedroom apartment contained three adults and one child. Paid accommodation was for 1 adult only. This is now in the hands of our legal representatives.

The single bed contained within all apartments is not prepared prior to any apartment being made available to a guest unless a small fee ($A22.00 per night) is paid at time of booking or at check-in. This fee not only covers the laundry costs for the added bed linen but also additional towels and consumables.

In the case of the single bed not being booked and the small fee paid the bed base is covered to provide extra seating or a storage space for luggage but is not designed to provide facilities for sleeping.

No additional single bedding was booked on level 9 during the period under review.

Bruce Morgan
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Went to Sydney for a girls weekend away, wanted to spend more on shopping than the hotel so we booked a budget room at the Carrington City Centre apartments. We were a little weary at first, rocking up in our taxi at 9pm and it looked like a cheap motel however as soon as we reached reception (on the 10th floor) the management were very welcoming and lovely.
We had our room on the 6th floor facing the city, not much of a view and the air conditioner/heater didnt work but the room was perfect. Old fashioned but we were only looking for a place to sleep at night as our days were jam packed.
It was lovely and silent in the hallways despite the noticeboards saying they were booked out and it was an overall great place to stay.
if you would like some photographs of the room please email me, kaysee@live.com.au and i will send you some!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Great location, large apartment, Budget Price. Very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
517 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 181 in Sydney
4,637 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#36 of 181 in Sydney
6,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Apartments

Address: 57 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Wynyard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £178 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carrington Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing