We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value......felt like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carrington Apartments
Ranked #67 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value......felt like home.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I and my 3 adult children stayed here in December for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. After reading some previous reviews I didn't have high expectations. When I opened the door, all my worries disappeared. Obviously it's not 5 star, but for the cheap price it was wonderful. A huge apartment. 2 toilets/bathrooms. The all important bath. Big balcony overlooking all the action of York Street....great for watching the peak hour bus traffic.
It is the perfect location....easy walking distance to Circular Quay, The rocks, Darling Harbour, Pitt Street Mall, Martin Place.
Trevor was very friendly and helpful.
After very busy days doing the tourist thing, it was like a home away from home. We loved it so much, we are going back later this year!

Room Tip: Rooms facing York Street have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    26
    12
    8
    14
See reviews for
28
13
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Positive note:
1. Location is Great.
2. Trevor who is of great assistance at the Front desk.
Negative note:
1. I stayed on the 1st Floor (Suite 1). You can hear the traffic very clearly during the nite esp the Buses, Motorcycles and people shouting/talking loudly as they walk home after parties. The only day we did not had the issue is on Sun.
2. Bedsheets were not replaced everyday. No cleaning of the apt during our 1 week stay. Had mosquitoes bites everynight.
3. Renovation work on the unit upstairs was heard at times 11pm. Trevor resolved this though.
4. Sofa has stains on the arm rest. Needs to be replaced or dry clean!
5. Shower water output is not powerful. Takes some time to get washed up.

For the price I paid, I would rather pay an additional $20 and stay at Park Royal or Four Points by Sheration 1-2 blocks down the street. Will not return to this apt again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BryanC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarringtonSydney, General Manager at Carrington Apartments, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
I am pleased this review clearly states they stayed in apartment 1 on level 1 which enabled my to identify their concerns.

All guests booked at the advertised rate as stated on all web sites are guaranteed a one bedroom apartment on level 4 (five stories above road level) or above.

Apartment 1 is rented solely via one internet booking agency group and is clearly marked:

‘Apartment 1 level 1 with street frontage’ under a separate room listing named 'Ridiculous Rate" Due to its location a discount rate of around 25% is offered for this apartment.

This apartment is attractive to groups traveling on a budget but still requiring all the benefits of 'the perfect location' in the heart of Sydney's CBD..

All the remaining one bedroom apartments on level 1, 2 & 3 are permanently occupied by either long term tenants or the owners.

I hope this overcomes any future concerns.

Bruce Morgan
Group General Manager
National Capital Motels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

You really will not beat this hotel for the location. Well worth it if you are on a budget and there are a few of you, the apartment has everything that you will need in your stay in sydney so you can save even more money and cook for yourself! Obviously because of the price you can not walk into your room expecting it to be like walking into buckingham palace. Everything in my room worked perfectly, microwave, fridge, freezer, oven, washing machine, dryer. Could not have asked for better value for money and also the bloke on the reception is very friendly and will help you out in anyway that you need. The best value accomodation unless money is not an issue.

Room Tip: The higher you go the less noise from busy york street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

You can't beat this location in the very centre of the city. 5 mins to Circular Quay OR Darling Harbour. The apartments are huge and well equipped with everything you could need, really are self contained. And were in the middle of refurbishment when my parents stayed last week. Staff are lovely and very friendly. Was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The Carrington is slap bang in the middle of Sydney. We stayed in room 35 which is at the back of the building so no view but is very quiet and away from the noise of York St. The apartment is very spacious and has all the mod cons including digital flat screen TV in the lounge room. The decor is a bit tired but it is clean and well looked after. At the price we paid from Wotif, I would strongly recommend this one!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

First impressions arnt good as you walk in the front doors.
But as per usual I wasnt there to holiday.
I had things to do and places to go wich is why i go back there.
There is the Menzies across the road if you need something more up market.
The room i normaly get is a bit like a 70s style unit.
Laminex rules the kitchen which comes with sink, fridge, stove and microwave.
There is a washing machine and dryer in laundry and a bathtub shower set up in bathroom.
The loungeroom was spacious and yes the place is a little tired but the price is good for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Make no mistake, this is a dump. But if you want something cheap in central Sydney that's what you get. Trevor, who runs it, is lovely. Bring slippers as the floors are filthy (in the shower as well). I also felt bitten all night, but there weren't any bed bugs. Not a place to spend time in, but very handy to everything.

Room Tip: Have low expectations and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cullen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Apartments

Property: Carrington Apartments
Address: 57 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Wynyard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carrington Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing