We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs refurbish” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrington Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carrington Apartments
Ranked #66 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Needs refurbish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about these apartments is the great central location. They are overpriced for the condition they are in and are smelly and in need of a complete refurbish . The on site manager told us that this was due to take place soon. Would only stay again when the refurbish was complete if the price was ok.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    26
    12
    8
    14
See reviews for
28
13
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I don't know whether I was more afraid of the poorly locking windows, the pre-cold war Russian decor or the abundance of scary wildlife.

I am going to sleep with a can of mortein and a steak knife fully clothed tonight!

Suggest only those with a strong constitution should venture here.

In my shower is a jagged broken soap dish wrapped in gaffer tape!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Went to Sydney with 2 friends (a married couple) and wanted a two bedroom apartment rather than two hotel rooms. We wanted to spend more on seeing the sites, eating out and shopping than the hotel so we booked a budget 2 room apartment at the Carrington Apartments. We arrived just after 9.00am and were able to leave our suitcases with Trevor at reception.
Our apartment, on the 1st floor facing the city, was a little dated but we didn't expect a palace with what we paid. We were only looking for a place to sleep at night as our days were jam packed. We had clean towels every day. We all slept well at night despite being on very busy York Street.
The apartment was spacious. We especially liked having two toilets. There were full kitchen and washing facilities if needed.
Although it looked a little tired, it was an overall great place to stay - so close to the harbour, Darling Harbour and the shops. Trevor was very helpful and friendly. Thank you. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

location could hardly be improved on. i'm fussy so was very happy with cleanliness, 2 bed apartment. outlook very good. manager very helpful and knowledgeable. Perfect for family or business unless you think your to good for ordinary people. yes it was a little dated but we spent all but sleeping time on the town. big kitchen / living area if you need it. (yes for breakfast).
will definitely try to get in again.Albert.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I chose Carrington because, despite some mixed reviews I could see that location and price must have some bearing on choice. I am glad I did because this place ended up being a wee gem.

Granted the apartments are a wee bit dated (think average Kiwi motel) but they are clean and come with EVERYTHING! For a business motel this includes; washing machibe, dryer, full kitchen, big fridge freezer, 2 TVs, a balcony...its very complete.

I wouldnt hesitate to recomnend this location to other business travellers or young families.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JavaJiveHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Our apartment was very run down,couches very worn & unclean looking,kitchen crockery were all a mismatch,oven&extractor fan did work,bathroom cabinets rotting away, bath rusted,tap knob fell off,we left this lying in the bath,no effort to refit during our stay despite cleaners coming in.
Obviously the Manager could not have inspected this apartment for a long time

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

These units are perfectly located to access and enjoy Sydney. Trains, buses and ferries are within easy walking distance as are Darling Harbour, The Rocks and many other attractions. Our one bedroom apartment was clean, spacious and had everything we needed including a washer and dryer and a full size fridge. The Manager Trevor was the added bonus with his happy and friendly attitude and great advice on where to go,where to eat and how to get to places. We will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Higher floors get less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderersAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Apartments

Property: Carrington Apartments
Address: 57 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Wynyard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Carrington Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Apartments Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing