We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Store full of Opals

We have been searching for black opals and liked this store the minute we walked inside. High... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 4 days ago
ChristineSoCal
,
La Jolla, California
Excellent service

It was a pleasure visiting and buying from the shop - great service - everybody was very helpful... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 5 days ago
vibekesehested
,
Eastbirk, Denmark
Read all 118 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sydney
from US$72.30
More Info
from US$91.30
More Info
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
105
9
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
9
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boulder opal black opal great store customs agent short presentation opal shop for sale on display earrings stone purchase mining australia jewellers souvenir video educating
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017

The granddaughter of the original owner gives a talk and short presentation on the history of opal mining and about opals themselves. The selection is amazing, very high end and incredible quality. The service is excellent as is the atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank canada777-1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_Altmann, General Manager at Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your review, we highly value the feedback of our customers. We try to provide a unique and personalised experience for every individual who visits our store

Regards

Fiona Altmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

On a visit to AUS you find opal jewelry for sale at establishments ranging from airport shops to high-end jewelers. Altmann Cherny is definitely in the second category. They do have a nice selection of smaller pieces in the less than $500AUS range. But, most of their pieces are above $2000 with some stunning pieces being well more than 10 times that amount. All pieces are well designed and the settings very well made. Matthew M was very help in helping us select a well-matched pair of bolder opal earrings that fell within the price range we are comfortable with when travelling internationally.

The store made no claims about customs-free status when entering the US. My reading of the AUS-US free-trade agreement is that only loose opals are currently exempt. Jewelry is not currently exempt but may be in a couple of years. At LAX we declared purchases in excess of the $800 personal exemption. The first customs agent simply asked in the earrings had been made in AUS and waived us on. A second agent seemed to scold us slightly for the excess and seemed to hint that our declarations should be lower in the future. No customs fee was assessed.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_Altmann, General Manager at Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you Robert for your review, we ensure that our range of quality Australian opals are accessible for all price points. Thank you for informing us about US customs procedures, we were not aware of specifics as every country is different and can change. We're thrilled to hear you are happy with the purchase of your unique boulder opal earrings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

As part of an Australian tour, interested people stopped at this family owned opal shop near our hotel. The granddaughter (and designer) of the original owner gave a talk on the family's connection to opals and then talked to us about what to look for when choosing an opal and showed us different types of opals.
I chose a nice, reasonably priced necklace with six small opals in an oval silver grid-like setting. The sales person completed the VAT paperwork and let me know how to collect the VAT.

The staff was very professional and helpful. It was an entirely stress free experience and I felt completely confident in my purchase.

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Adela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_Altmann, General Manager at Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your shopping experience with us, we always aim to be helpful and professional.
Kind Regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The sales associate spent a lot of time looking in their inventory for just the right unmounted black opal.

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GateOneTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_Altmann, General Manager at Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm so glad we were able to help you find the perfect opal.
Kind regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

This store was wonderful. Knowledgeable and friendly staff and a huge inventory of opals beautifully displayed. My favorite souvenir from Australia!

Date of experience: April 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_Altmann, General Manager at Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review Jane. Lovely to hear that your opal is your favorite souvenir from Australia!
Kind regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews