We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Galileo Restaurant - CLOSED

Galileo Restaurant
Cuisines: French, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had the degustation menu here which was quite superb, with great flavours and exquisite presentation. The waiting staff were most attentive and the chef coped with one of the party being vegetarian and one having an allergy to garlic. Because there was a mix up with the main dish containing garlic, the chef sent three tasting plates of dessert in addition to the main menu. It's these extra gestures which ensure that we'd plan to go back again. In all, a great evening with some of the best food we have tasted in a long time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FJHH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hands Down Best Restaurant In A Long Long Time”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Ate at Galileo a la carte restaurant at The Langham Hotel and was blown away by the food! Absolutely phenomenal degustation menu. Fine dining -each course was perfect. After eating out so often in Sydney and around the world this is a restaurant to do Sydney proud. The chef is exceptionally talented, so many beautiful delicacies and elements in each course. We felt very spoilt eating here and were not disappointed.
The only tragic news was that they are closing for refurbishment from July-Dec 2014 and re opening a buffet dining restaurant. Horrid. Get in now before they no longer have this gorgeous experience.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyBaldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We ate here for the first time this week. No problem booking only 2 weeks previously which is not our usual experience in Sydney. Had the 5 course degustation menu which was very well presented and tasty and ample amount. The service was good and courses were well spaced.The wine list is good but no option for wine matching with courses. The only problem with the service, one we have had elsewhere, was one waitress who described the food very quickly and quietly so we had to ask her to repeat it every time (we are not deaf)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walkergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our last visit to this restaurant was in 2007 and things have changed since then. The European classical ambience was still there, but the furniture and curtains look a bit tired and in need of some touch ups. In fact, the Langham hotel lobby also gave the same impression.

Waiters and waitresses all tried their best to be helpful, even though they did not seem as thoroughly trained as some years ago. The head-waitress (or supervisor - we are not sure) tried to make small talk but seemed to have no idea how to go about this.

We decided to order a la carte. The portions were all quite small compared to the past; bread and butter were not offered again until we asked for it. We ended up ordering an extra 2 side dishes. The food quality was good so that made up for some things.

Service was really rather slow; we thought that maybe there were not enough staff in the kitchen as we can see that other tables also waited for a long time for their courses.

It was a rather average experience even though I would not write this venue off. I think I may return just with my partner, instead of a number of friends, and enjoy the food and wine, on an evening when we do not feel very hungry and have lots of time to spare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummo!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Amazing (!!!) food, service a little slow (which they compensated for by providing dessert unasked), sensational wine, lovely atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galileo Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing