We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great breakfast venue”
Review of Hyde Park Barracks Cafe - CLOSED

Hyde Park Barracks Cafe
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bakehouse is situated within World Heritage listed Hyde Park Barracks, it offers quiet and privacy in the middle of the city, where you can enjoy a damper burger or tasty pot pie in the sun drenched courtyard, whilst admiring the spectacular Sydney skyline view. Inside dinning has long shared tables, rustic features and a toasty fire place, a perfect venue for rounding up friends and family for a weekend long lunch, or quick mid week bite with colleagues.
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
788 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“A great breakfast venue”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Waiting for the museum to open we had breakfast here and were pleasantly surprised at the choice and quality of the dishes. My partner had a "lawyers breakfast" whilst I opted for the "convict's! And we both enjoyed them, typically Australian in size and not too expensive, especially when compared to breakfasts in our hotel. We returned for coffee and cake after viewing the galleries and again were warmly welcomed. I do not know what lunch was like, but I cannot recommend the breakfasts too highly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    34
    21
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was here for a friend's wedding reception. All the staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient. The food was great and the ambience was just perfect for an intimate wedding reception

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HopelessWanderer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We went here on the reviews. There weren't any people in the cafe until we sat down and the service was very bad. Had to wait along time to be served and then a long wait for a coffee and a juice. Had "the judge breakfast" which was very nice a lot of food for $21. In all nice food but poor service and quiet rude.

Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyGuerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historical facade with modern interior setting”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Interesting cafe in a historical building which has been renovated but still retains the original high dome ceiling.
It offers a wide choice of menu and is a popular venue for weddings and special occasions.
Attended a wedding for around 100 guests - nice modern setting and well catered in a relaxing ambience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank May Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Was this just an exception....?”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just a warning..lunched at Hyde Park Barracks Cafe on Australia Day and waited for over an hour for food. Customers were complaining left, right and centre about the delay. Wait staff were composed but there must have been chaos in the kitchen. An adjoining diner left after a long wait as he had a train to catch. We just had the single dish, the Daily Special - a simple lamb rump with salad - thought that would be quick, sadly not. No explanation to waiting customers, no warning to incoming customers. It was Australia Day and the cafe was full so i'm sure this could not be normal. So just a warning...in case you're in a hurry. The meal was fine, not great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob130147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hyde Park Barracks Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing