We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lengthy expensive meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marque

Marque
Ranked #2,684 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: US$38 - US$127
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lengthy expensive meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had dinner for 4 on a Saturday night. The restaurant is modern with nicely dimmed lighting & comfortable seating. They don't give you the menu till the end of the meal so if you want to know what's being served in your degustation have a look at the menu online or it'll be a surprise. They also charge $5 per person for water wether it's still or sparkling to cover the whole meal (they use an environmentally friendly carbonated water system).
The food was a bit strange, there were some really good dishes such as the 'Smoked Eel with Parmesan Gnocchi & Pumpkin' & the 'Darling Downs Wagyu with Fermented Cabbage & Gherkins'. I didn't enjoy 2 of the dishes the 'Yamba Prawn & Cucumber' the prawn was like an omelet- flattened out & a bit crispy & the 'Nightingale Persimmon with Liquorice & Peppers' I didn't like the flavour of this dish.
None of us had the matching wine option. The bottle of wine & few 'by the glass' wines that we ordered were all good.
There was a long delay between each dish being served, our starter dish was served around 8:30pm & we didn't leave till 12:15am. We even opted out of a cheese plate & tea & coffee to get out quicker.
An expensive meal that didn't blow me away- unfortunately I don't think I'll be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    71
    44
    42
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Been there on the second week of autum... The Menu was tasty and well decoratet... Service exellent with good vine suggestion!

Helpful?
Thank hintereggerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No wow factor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I have just recently gone for dinner. I thought after losing a hat they would be doing everything to get it back, but it seems they are not. Service was good but in my eyes not 3 hat standard and food was a big let down. None of the courses of food blew me away and none were memorable. I'm from Melbourne and expected more from such a reputable restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 10293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“$45 Friday lunch is like Marque but cheaper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We went for the Friday lunch last week ($45), which is a three course lunch. It gives you a pretty good idea of what Marque is like - interesting flavours, nice presentation, great service - but at a more affordable price. The dessert was a bit disappointed as it was kind of just like plated fruit. The bonus is the complimentary bread and finger food starter. They also charge $5 for water (no free tap option), which is a bit odd and makes the lunch actually $50 pp.

Our full review with photos is here:
http://afoodfable.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/marque-surry-hills/

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Some good part but not complete”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Some interesting ideas around some of the dishes but some also falling quite flat. Wine matching was quite strange in many cases.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marque also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Surrey Hills, Boroondara
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Marque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing