We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 positives...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chili Blue Backpackers
Ranked #100 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 16 April 2012

- Number 1: the location.
- Number 2: checking out.

Vile place. Some people had been there weeks so was lucky to catch a glimpse of a floor in the dorm. Common room areas were smelly, vile, dirty and outdated.

Mattresses are paper thin - you wake up with spring marks down the entire of your body.

I felt insulted that I was actually paying to be in such an environment.

I would NEVER stay again.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank baldwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Rude owner and boss of the hostel. We asked him about the cancellation rules and he freaked out. We said ok we missunderstodd but he asked us to leave! He thru us out on the street! Even though we had booked for 3 weeks. He is mental and made us cry like crazy because we felt so mistreated! Never go here! He should go to a psycologist for his agression and rudness!
/ Caroline

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robin1447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The showers are ok, 3 cubicles, not so well suited for woman.
Toilets are fine too, they seem to be reasonably clean but often you get yobs making a mess of the toilets, by urinating over the floors and seats, someone spewed all over the walls and left it like that. The locks often get broken on the toilets, I had to fix it myself twice as it wasn't getting done and we were down to one toilet.
The courtyard is rubbish and small.

The wifi didn't work, had to use library wifi near city

The rooms are really hot and stuffy with no air con, their a fan in the room but it dries your eyes and throat and makes you feel terrible, we're going to have to check out now because we just can't get any sleep with the extreme heat.

The kitchen area is small and we never bother ever using it.

This hostel boasts how good it is but really it's quite horrible and noisy and full of noisy drunk people the whole time.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Chili Blue is cheap and that's about it. Our room was right by the stairs and the bathrooms hence very noisy. We had to walk through the communal areas and via an outside courtyard to reach the room. After 10pm quiet rule was ignored. No staff at hostel overnight. Communal areas overcrowded and outdated. Cockroaches in rooms and corridor. Breakfast was adequate.

Most guests were gap year students - some long term.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

the rooms,toilets,showers were fine,but the bedrooms were cold at night, the staff were rude several times and not helpful

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Oke, it's cheap. That's it really. And it makes you doing A LOT of things outdoors, as you never want to return to this dirty hostel.
When we walked in the owner didn't even bother to get his finger out of his nose. We could hardly walk into the room, as the stuff of our 'roommates' was literally everywhere, except in the closets. My bottom sheet had some spots I'd rather not know where or whom they came from, and somebody was friendly enough to leave his chewing gum on the wall where my pillow was. Oh, and that pillow, yeah... that was covered whit blood stains. Enjoy your stay people, we're off to their neighbours!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We spent 5 nights in Chilli Blue in June 2011. We decided to go with them since they were offering the cheapest accommodation in the city. The place turn to be disgusting due to very poor quality of the staff. They seem to assume that if they are cheaper than their competition they do not have to care. That still would not be so bad if they were not extremely rude in personal contacts. I discourage everybody to stay there - better pay 2 - 3 bucks more and have polite guys in the reception desk!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Zing Backpackers
#37 of 150 in Sydney
136 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#14 of 150 in Sydney
122 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#20 of 150 in Sydney
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village Surry Hills
#93 of 150 in Sydney
146 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#21 of 150 in Sydney
761 reviews
Kings Cross
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chili Blue Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chili Blue Backpackers

Address: 144 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 150 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: £12 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chili Blue Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THAT WE HAVE NEW MANAGEMENT AND RENOVATIONS HAVE BEEN UNDERGOING SINCE MAY 2014 Comfortable, clean & central. What you are looking for? Welcome to ChilliBlue - the perfect place to base yourself in Sydney. Whether you are coming for a night or two or staying for months you will find that Chilli Blue will provide the warm friendly, clean and comfortable home away from home that you have been looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chili Blue Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chili Blue Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing