We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something a bit different.”

Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #468 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Something a bit different.”
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Quite pricey. But nice as a once off. Some dishes failed although nice overall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael_mrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    76
    19
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must try!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Wow what amazing food! Everything we ordered was delicious, the chorizo was well worth the wait & I'm so pleased we decided to stick around for dessert, the carrot cheesecake was the best dessert I've had in a very long time. Well done guys!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Tapas outside of Spain!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great service, food and wine. Lots of both were had! Carrot Cheesecake is to die for. You will not go wrong with this place. Did not have to wait long for meals even on a busy Friday night. Can't wait to go again and eat more!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair_Unicomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“nice vibe, a bit cramped”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We walked into this place on Valentine's Day without a reservation. The host was very sympathetic and realistic and invited us back the next evening. We took him up on his offer and returned the next evening and he remembered us and we were immediately show to our table. The place is small and a bit cramped, but the staff is amazingly friendly and attentive. The wine list was stellar, but the food was 50/50. We really enjoyed half the dishes we ordered but thought the other half was only average, but that's not a bad average. The music was a bit loud for my taste, but overall the experience was a good one. I'd call this an average tapas restaurant with great service, a good wine list, and an energetic vibe and we will certainly visit again on our next trip to Sydney.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCaseNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hip, casual and full of flavour.”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Wandered over for a quick meal on a rainy night without a reservation. Received a warm welcome, with my umbrella promptly taken care off, a comfortable table and a prompt arrival of a wine list. The place was buzzing with hip crowd sitting at the bar and communal table. The service was friendly, professional and not pushy. The menu offers a series of tapas and larger plates, the selection of wines by the glass is decent focussed mostly on Spanish and Argentinian. The food was very well prepared and presented and people watching was a treat. But they have no churros on the menu ..

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing