We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lively and tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar

Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #456 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lively and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Really good food served here, in a lively setting. There was a queue before it opened, which is always a good sign.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    75
    18
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved everything about this place. So glad we found it. It really is one of those restaurant discoveries you love telling your friends about. Can't wait to be back in Sydney to try more off that awesome tapas menu & relax with amazing service that doesn't over do the formalities. Well done the team at bodega. Faultless.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JasperCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a 40th birthday with 12 people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed the whole atmosphere. The staff were brilliant and enthusiastic.
Food was served quickly and was yummy.
Music perfect not too loud so we could talk.All a delight!!!
Thank you team.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good fun and great service. Perhaps not quite living up to the hype.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A lot of hype accompanies this place, and it doesn't quite live up to it, but we still enjoyed it.

We love Porteno so had to try this Bodega. It's cool. The music is great and, for us, perfectly loud. No, it is not a library, but that's its appeal. The staff are fun and clearly enjoy working there. Nothing was too much trouble, the meal was well paced, and the recommendations sound. They obviously have a loyal following as every other guest who arrived were treated like long lost friends. The decor is vibrant and the seating comfortable.

They don't do reservations for groups of less than five so you have to take your chances. We arrived at 1800 and there were plenty of tables to choose from, but it was also pretty busy (despite six being their start time for dinner).

Food was pretty good, but servings are a little small to truly represent value for money. Some of the dishes were better than others. The arepas with fresh cheese and salsa were very good, but also very small, and so was the pork sausage (my personal favourite dish). Spicy sausage, served with a spicier chilli sauce and on a lettuce leaf The duck and scallops were good, but the duck a little fatty. The lamb neck was very fatty and not to our taste.

Desserts were nice, but nothing to write home about. I had the donuts and they were a little heavy, but the accompanying ice cream and sauces were excellent.

The menu is designed to share so, like 4Fourteen, this place is perhaps better enjoyed with groups.

Not a bad wine list, with Mendoza predominating. I just had glasses, but they got the final glass wrong and gave me a second glass of my first wine rather than the second. A very obvious difference in taste. I didn't mention it as it was nice enough.

So a cool and fun place, with very good service, and pretty good food. Not the best value, in our opinion, and some of the dishes were too fatty, but we certainly enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank craigodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great service, expensive for the size”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I wouldn't call the food at Bodega Spanish as others have noted. I would say that the food is presented well and is quite tasty. We had a banquet, and for the price I would have expected a bit more. The service was fantastic and the wine list is impressive, ambiance was pretty much spot on in our section. A nice night out, but I do think the food is quite cost prohibitive to wanting to return when there is so much fantastic competition in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bodega Tapas Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing