We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selah - CLOSED

Selah
Price range: US$40 - US$40
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,908 reviews
2,760 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,795 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Good quality and value - enjoyed the wagyu pie. Limited options for those with allergies so stuck with mains only. Quality bistro style food.
Great location in CBD, near trains and ferries.
Service friendly and professional - only negative was computerised bill overstated wine price but Nick fixed it easily.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent date dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I found this restaurant based on its TripAdvisor score and was happy I did. Being Belgian, I consider myself spoiled regarding food in general and desserts in particular (Belgian chocolate, remember!). However, the trio of date desserts I had in Selah was one of the best desserts I have ever tasted. Being a foreigner, I didn't now the English word "date" as a fruit, but the waitress was very helpful in explaining me. I tried googling "date", but that wasn't very helpful...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KoenVanHerck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Cosy Restaurant close to Circular Quay With Great Dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The restaurant is close to Circular Quay. Nicely decorated in a cozy pub style; relatively few tables - this is not a big restaurant. Service was friendly and prompt. The lamb dinner and the beef filet were excellent - cooked just right. Nice wine list. Definitely worth stopping in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoustonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning place a stone's throw from Circular Quay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Wow !! We had a wonderful meal at Selah last night and will most definitely be back! It is well positioned a few short streets from the harbour at Circular Quay. All our main dishes were divine - the lamb, the fish, but most especially the pork! Very beautifully presented and delicious. The deserts were excellent - we had the date pudding which came with a wicked caramel sauce. The service was fantastic - attentive but not over the top. The atmosphere was open and relaxed with generous distances between tables and although it wasn't full on a Thursday night I can imagine that even if all the tables were occupied you would still be able to converse.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank putmeontheplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treasure Chest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

All the ingredients of a great dining experience. Friendly and uncomplicated service. Cosy welcoming restaurant and the open plan kitchen adds to the warm ambience of it all - watching the chefs in the background bringing everything together. You can't miss the Scallops with black pudding and apple salad.... Until the next time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HospitalityExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Selah also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing