We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monday Motown ..... Magic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #2,499 of 5,832 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Monday Motown ..... Magic!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Fabulous Fabiano! Funky Motown. Great Monday night steak special. Excellent venue for aspiring and talented young musicians to show their talents.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tres awful”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

White horse has now gone french, had the mussels and my wife had a chicken provencal. Literally about 8 small mussels (spelt muscles on the menu which about sums up there ability to cook them) and a tiny drop of the saltyish cream sauce possible with a few burnt pieces of toast. Appalling, when i complained they explained the specials were much smaller versions of normal meals! I always thought specials were just good value for money on particular days - not a half sized portion for 25% less price. And i was complaining about the quality not the size but hey....where do you start! My wifes chicken was 2 pieces of tough chicken in some tomato paste. Not good value for money for 10$ let alone 22$ and as a very good cook she was not impressed. Restaurant pretty empty most of the time and this recent change wont do anything to fix that. Wont be back as there are plenty of other places better food less cost in the area. Still a not bad pub though just cant get its food right.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JC2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George,NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Had a wonderful dinner here. It was a recommendation from our tour guide and it was just what we were looking for. Can see why it is popular with locals. Great food, service and atmosphere. It was a perfect way to spend our last night in this amazing city.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LakeGeorge_NYHappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food - expensive beer”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I've been here a number of times now and am still happy to go back as the chef obviously knows what she/he's doing. Some might say portions are small but I can't fault them at all. I;ve tried several things and would suggest you choose from the Grazing or Tasting plates and then sit back and enjoy!

My last visit was tainted only by the fact that they seem to have stopped table service. Not a big problem but they didn't tell us when we walked in so we waited a bit longer than necessary before discovering we had to go up to the bar. Hint: tell customers when you give them the menu!

And finally, I might be getting old but $8 for a beer? Seriously, it makes me think about joining some of locals out on the street with their brown paper bags.

As the title says though - great food!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Droftim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza, great staff!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had an excellent lunch at the White Horse. We took the pizza option and were not disappointed! Excellent range of toppings, lovely bases, came out hot and crispy. Drinks were $4 before 7pm, which is pretty good value in my book. Rest of the menu looked very tempting indeed with a good range of sharing plates to choose from.
Staff were excellent and attentive and the place was clean and comfy.
Definitely worth the visit!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterDM_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing