We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such Authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice I Am

Spice I Am
Ranked #266 of 5,832 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Surry Hills
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Such Authentic Thai food”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This restaurant located a few minutes walk from the Hyde Park should be declared a 'national treasure' for it's diligent fostering of authentic Thai food in Sydney. The menu is supurb.For curries, try the roast duck and the massamam as an alternative to the green and red varieties.The Pad Prikh King of bork belly is a dream of complex tangy flavours. Take your own alcohol which the staff will be happy to serve. Don't expect starched linen and crystal, just savor the delicious food on offer. Return to Hyde Park after and sit on the benches and watch the passing parade of office workers and fitness addicts.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    140
    36
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most authentic Thai food in Sydney”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I went here when my parents visited - just after they had been in Thailand for ten days. They said it was just as good as any of the meals they had there - I challenge anyone to find a more authentic Thai restaurant in Sydney! Go for any of the specialties they have marked on their menu, and be sure to get there early, ready for a long wait. We had to wait around 40 minutes even and didn't get seated until after 9 PM but it was well worth the wait. As a plus, it's BYO and there's a bottle shop just across the street. The food is all extremely spicy, so you'll want plenty of beer. The Nam Khao Tod, Basil Crispy Pork Belly, and Green Curry were all big hits.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for great thai food, authentically spicy.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Love this restaurant although the wait for a table can put you off. The food is consistently good and it is definitely great value for money. Try the eggplant - it is a fave. They have a couple of new branches now, but haven't tried them yet - this one is the original cheap and cheerful. Spicy here means spicy, unlike so many thai restaurants. For value it is the best thai in sydney.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joleema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crispy pork belly”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

As someone who lives in NYC and has traveled to Thailand, this place was a bit on the pricey side. They charged $3 for rice, which is a bit ridiculous. Your money definitely goes to the ambiance. With that said, the Curry my partner ordered was just standard. So why, you may ask, the "very good" rating? It's all in the title. The Crispy Pork Belly was AMAZING. I would go back for just this dish. Yes, the $40 price tag was a bit to swallow but yes, it was that good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmbx21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food & decent service plus bonus byo”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Really good quality Thai, and very good service. The place is too small to book but they gave us a phone call when a table came free which was a nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londonimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice I Am also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Spice I Am? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing