We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, cheap, massive servings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dondon

Dondon
Ranked #1,343 of 5,835 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Darlinghurst
Marrickville, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious, cheap, massive servings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Can't get a sit down dinner this delicious anywhere cheaper! Food and is great, and served quickly. Their katsus are huge, I uad a vegie tofu teriyaki dish which was super yum and could not finish it all! I had been here before so I knew I wouldnt be needing an entre, although they're delicious too, a tapas of entres is also a good idea. The only bad thing is that it's super popular so there was probably a 20 minute wait at about 7pm on a friday night. If you get in early enough there is no waiting.

Helpful?
Thank FelicityandMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“bargain authentic japanese - $10 main”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Dondon is an oxford st institution and I've been coming here since I moved to the city 18 years ago. A tiny space hosts a surprising number of people thanks to teeny tiny chairs and tables and a window bench from which lone diners can view the passing parade. in recent years they have broadened the menu, but my favourite is still the teryaki beef in udon noodle soup, just fantastic, the best hangover cure and only $9.50. Th eel is also good. This is genuine Japanese food made by genuine Japanese people. Cannot receommend them highly enough. Go Go Go !!! Note - it's so popular you may occasionally have to queue outside until a table becomes free, but to get this quality at these prices, it's worth being a little patient for once

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, just like at home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

...only that they don't cook the same stuff. Really nice little place and very very reasonably priced. The Sushi was also delicious. We loved it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chr_nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious, and outstanding value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

A utilitarian outlook, filled with people there to grab some tasty food and move on to whatever else they had planned that night. Not a destination in itself, but a very wrothwhile waypoint. Don't let me get started on fine dining and snobbery.

A good selection of noodles and soups topped with meat, vegetables and tofu. A couple of sashimi options, but really, you should go for the udon or ramen. It is hearty everyday japanese fare that will fill you up but not make you feel bloated, and definitely not empty your wallet.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zedscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Service, Best Value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is one of my favorite Japanese Restaurant in Sydney. It's small. It's atmosphere is just a place to eat. But there food never let me down and the price is so cheap. My most favorite dish is Beef Sukiyaki Don, beef & veg stewed, served with rice. I have never found any sukiyaki that so tasty like this in Sydney. There sushi roll and teriyaki dish are yummie as well. Everytime I went, every dish I had, never let me down.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SYDBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dondon also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Dondon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing