We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shiki Japanese Restaurant

Shiki Japanese Restaurant
Reserve with
Shiki Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #660 of 5,815 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$73 - US$84
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: The Rocks
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Was lucky to be accepted as the last order of the night. Ordered the Wagyu Beef set for 2 persons, and also asked for a hot soba noodle that was not on the menu, which was obliged. Food was very nice, and the pink rock salt was novel. Staff helpful and responsive. Happy to tip the staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Discerning78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The first thing we noticed was the filthy carpet. Secondly the air conditioning was not turned on making the restaurant uncomfortably hot. When the edamame beans arrived some were warm, some were cold and some had only one bean instead of two inside the shell - had these been recycled? We persevered and enjoyed two fairly nice dishes but then the signature dish of wagyu beef cooked at the table on a slab of pink rock salt arrived. The beef was frozen, like an ice cube. The staff took it away and must have tried to defrost it somehow but when it was returned after ten minutes it was still frozen. We persevered no more. They did the right thing and made no charge for the beef dish but we were very disappointed. The icing on the cake was finding a dead cockroach in the ladies bathroom. Staff were, however, very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
640 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Decent without being exceptional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Had dinner while on a business meeting and found the wagyu beef pleasant but a small portion. Felt that being told that the kitchen was closing at 9 pm was disappointing as I could have eaten more. Great view of the antics of the local ladies falling off their high heels outside and mooning from limos was by far the highlight of the evening . Enjoyed the various sakes .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hot pot is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed across the road at the Harbour Rocks Hotel for a long weekend away and were sent here by the staff. We both love Japanese food and were not disappointed by Shiki. It could e a little hard to see if you didn't know it was there as it is one floor up from the street. Once we got in there was a nice young man who greeted us. Inside is very nice with stepping stones and running water over a pond. We were seated and upon looking at the menu we both chose the wagu hot pot. We had never had it before but we both wanted to try it. They brought over a square pot that they plug in and put in some sauces. They then left us all the food on a plate for us to cook in the pot and dip in an egg and eat. It was one of the best meals ever. We will definitely be back and we know what we'll be ordering.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best Japanese in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Shiki was recommended by a friend. We had seen the restaurant several times before however I assumed it was there for the tourists rather than being somewhere we would want to try. I'm so glad we did. This is just the best sashimi and the sushi rolls are to die for...try the spicy tuna and the geisha rolls. We've been back several times and I haven't stopped recommending it. Excellent food and great service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiki Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Shiki Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing